We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanfriggintastic!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Came to Newcastle for my birthday. Got checked in easily n early :). Rooms were great only thing I didn't like was after showering there was always a puddle n weren't keen on the bathroom door. Never ate here but the sharks bar looked great. Staff were so friendly helpful n welcoming. And especially on sat night when the lifts had broke they let us usr the staff lift as we were on top floor so thanks to the bar man. Late night chef n the night shift guy kyle on reception. Will defo stay again n recommend to anyone easy to find n in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Michelle W,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle, we view all feedback critical to enhancing our customer service it’s great to hear that the team looked after you managing to get you checked in early Kyle is extremely pleased for such kind comments. Please accept my apologies in relation to the bathroom floor and for the technical issue with the lifts, we are currently rectifying this issue to prevent this happening again in the future.

Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,189 - 1,195 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed 10th aug after booking on secret escapes website. Good job we got discount as if I had to pay full price I would have refused to pay.
When we checked in reception staff very friendly and helpful. However went downhill from there. One of the 2 lifts was broken so only 1 remaining lift for 10 floors of rooms - however that one then broke overnight so no customer lift at all. Because I am blue badge holder they let us use service lift but who knows what all the other guests had to do.
When we got to room it was obvious it had only had quick clean as carpets still had bits all over. Rubbish left in kitchenette drawers, chewing gum packet by the bed. Spoke to reception who said would get housekeeping manager up but still not arrived 3/4 hour later I had to ring again. She offered to get cleaner in to clean round us but I insisted on change if room. They found one on 8th floor and she went to check and said she would be straight back but it took her over 1/2 hour to get back to us - so presumably they were cleaning that up too. At least this one was clean.
Next morning after having to use very grubby service lift and going through dirty staff area we went for breakfast which was well below par for a 5* hotel. Cheap fruit juice. Eggs like rubber. Toast machine that either under cooks or burns no in between
Definitely not what I would expect for the rates they charge. Don't stay here pick somewhere else

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for one night to show my husband's stepson the town before he goes to uni in Newcastle. The rooms were fantastic (we booked 2 junior suites) and had every gadget you could ever need. They were stylish and clean. The staff were fantastically welcoming - we arrived 3 hours before checkin and they bent over backwards to help us. We didn't eat there but had a couple of drinks in the sports bar which were good value and again, served by very friendly bar staff. The location is a very quick 3 mins from the main city centre and overlooks St James' Park but was surprisingly quiet for such a central location - absolutely no disturbance in the night despite plenty of hen and stag dos around! Couldn't fault it - definitely worth staying.

Room Tip: Go high up as the views are really good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The rooms are very small but clean. The shower runs all over the bathroom floor, so you have to block the water flow with towels, whch is quite annoying. There is a microwave in the bedrooms which is useful and the room service is good, which is a positive because the restaurant/bar is a sports bar and not great for women dining alone. It's also not a great atmsophere having breakfast in a room that was open as a bar the night before. Small gym was quiet and clean. The hotel is very busy when Newcastle United FC are playing at home. Some noisy fans ate the remainder of my room service outside my door at 3.00am but didn't cause any trouble! Taxis aren't allowed to stop outside the front of the hotel, so ensure they know the way round the back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingMum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Booked one night through a special offer website so not too expensive. An excellent experience over all. Reception was friendly and efficient and we managed to get one of the parking spaces across the road. Our room was very nice and the air conditioning was a welcome bonus in the warm weather. The apartment style with a separate bedroom, living room and kitchen area is unusual in this country but a nice change. If you were looking to economise, the limited kitchen facilities would allow some basic self catering. The giant walk in shower with rain shower was very luxurious. Breakfast is an all you want buffet and very tasty. The one small problem was with the room safe. There were no instructions and the safe was locked when we arrived. The customer service manager came and unlocked it and gave me some instructions but as soon as she left I managed to lock myself out of it again straight away! I have used hotel room safes dozens of times so I think it's fair to say that these ones are not user friendly. I talked with the customer service manager about it the next morning and she acknowledged that this was a bit of an issue but that she is working on getting some proper instructions posted in the rooms. In the short term if you want to use the safe I would recommend checking it out as soon as you arrive and make sure you are familiar with how to operate it before you are in a hurry. All in all, the safe thing was a very small issue in what was a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank john_ramsey_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very nice staff – helpful with dinner reservations, taxies, suggestions. Was a bit hard to get to by car with construction and lack of signs. Room has a fridge, microwave and tea kettle. Small as is typical. Bathroom was a typical European style (i.e., SMALL) with an open shower that (which also seems to be typical of European bathrooms) sprays water all over.

Room Tip: Book in advance for great deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houston_Eriol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I asked the staff at the hotel, before arriving, to fix any problems with standing water in a walk in shower I had read about . They did .It was fine and they are fixing all in the hotel . We had a junior suite which had luxuries our home did not have . Cleaning service brilliant . I had a problem and needed to get to an internett cafe . But was given free use of one of receptions computers to sort things out . Friendly staff who I felt were naturally friendly . Great location for the centre of town without the noise. Great location for shops , restaurants and buses . Stylishly decorated throughout .

Room Tip: We had a junior suite but for exactly the same price you can upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £65 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing