We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect location and service”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the sandman on a Friday and Saturday night whilst taking in the match,.greeted warmly on arrival and even though three hours early for check in we're found a room immediately which saved lugging bags around,.room was immaculate and had a great view over st james park,.had lunch and drinks in the adjoining bar even if the food was not fine dining the service and welcome more than made up for it,.cant fault the hotel at all,.only slight niggle was a bit of noise on the Saturday night from returning guests but what do u expect if you stay on a match day,.cant wait to return and will always stay at the sandman when in newcastle

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hi Shaun T,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. The whole team were very proud to read your review and we cannot wait to have you stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray

Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    429
    212
    65
    25
See reviews for
156
506
33
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The check in and out we're really quick, with warm and efficient service from staff. My room was comfortable and stylishly decorated, but the room size was compact. A novel touch of class was the free drink machine in reception - really convenient for grabbing a tasty drink before going to your room.

Unfortunately breakfast was a shambles. Located in a bar the buffet wasn't what you'd expect from a hotel positioning itself near the top end of the market. The quality of ingredients was average, and the poached eggs I requested arrived long after I'd eaten my breakfast. Service was slow to the point where the empty orange juice dispenser wasn't refilled. This could have been a much better experience.

No intention to revisit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hi Adrian A,

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to learn of the issues you have mentioned regarding your breakfast experience, however I feel this is not a true reflection of the high service we usually provide to our guests.

I would love for you to come back and give us another chance so we can show you why we are amongst the top 10 hotels in the city, please feel free to e-mail us or check out our website for our great offers.
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Amazing hotel, rooms lovely,clean,and modern. hotel staff extremely helpful. We had breakfast also which was very good. Very close to all amenities in Newcastle. Would most certainly re visit and recommend to anyone. 5* all the way.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle100780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hi Michelle100780,

WOW! Thank you so much for providing such a great review following your stay with us at Sandman Signature Newcastle. Please come back soon!
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault the check in. Especially given that I was upgraded! Staff very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and modern (caught out by very powerful shower!). Breakfast was good value by usual hotel standards. Would happily stay again if in Newcastle.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NJEDB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hi NJEDB10,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. We would love to see your next review have five stars, please come and see us again soon! Why not check out our website to see what offers are most tempting for you?
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray

Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed in a junior suite for two nights in November 2013.

The suite was clean and comfortable, albeit one of the smallest suites I've ever stayed in at a hotel; probably about the same size overall as an executive room at the Gateshead Hilton.

Very friendly and helpful at check-in, in the compact but nice reception area. Quite like the contactless room key cards which means I don't have to remove the key from the holder.

Tidy room but very small - the television is about 1 metre away from the sofa, high up on the wall. Looks very well decorated, but on closer inspection there's quite a few areas where finishing or repairs have been a bit bodged; i.e. hole in wall where toilet lock used to be.

Kitchen came in very handy and is stocked with cutlery, plates and utensils.

The air con bugged me - very noisy so I just turned it off for the night, leaving the room to get very cold overnight. Hammering from the building site next door woke me up at 7am on a Saturday morning, but looks like the building is approaching completion so shouldn't be a problem for too long.

No instructions or guides to the room contained within the folder in the room so a few switches and stuff in the room that I didn't understand. There is an aircon panel on the wall which didn't seem to do anything as the main unit by the window is controlled separately. The buttons by the door with a picture of a maid were a bit unclear too.

All in all, I'd probably stay here again if I need to be at this end of the city, but will most likely go back to the Hilton as my company is located Quayside.

Room Tip: Suites are small so double rooms must be tiny. Upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hi Will D,

Thank you very much for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that you would not choose our hotel as your destination when staying in Newcastle. We do have various room types and sizes to suite all of our guests and I believe you will be very pleased with the size that some of our rooms have to offer. Please feel free to e-mail us with any questions regarding future bookings or special requests and we will do our utmost to deliver a better experience to you on your next stay.
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray

Front office Manager
Res_newcastle@sandmanhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2nd time (at reduced rate) due to disappointing visit in August.
Must acknowledge much better this time. Service great,bedroom clean and breakfast much better.

However still feel that wouldn't pay full price to stay here. Whilst it is nice to have kitchen area if you are staying some time on business it isn't really necessary for short term stays and i would prefer larger bedroom area and a mirror near a plug socket so that I could dry my hair and see what I am doing in a mirror.


Excellent location for the city centre for shopping trip.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hi Elaine B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am concerned that you would still not choose our hotel as your place to stay in Newcastle, however I do understand the valid points you have raised and will discuss your feedback with our Management team.

I do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duram
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

A great hotel. Good attention to detail. Very very clean. Good location could see St James Park from our window. Lovely decor.Comfy bed. Waterfall shower was a pleasure.Quiet room even though we were on the first floor and near a main road. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinney911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hi hinney911,

Thank you very much for your great review about your recent stay with us at Sandman Signature Newcastle! I am very happy to learn that you thought your stay was flawless and we would love to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing