We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel nearby stadium and city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very friendly and professional staff. The rooms are small but clean and offer all comfort. I personally found the room not enough soundproof against the noise coming from the street and the hallway. The breakfast buffet is offering a variety of choice. The signal of the free wifi in the room is weak.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Masuyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,089 - 1,095 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Me and my husband stayed for our wedding anniversary and his birthday we are now excited to be going back everything was perfect the room had an amazing view of st james park which is perfect for a newcastle supporter

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, friendly & helpful staff. Parking is poor - had to park in a city multi-storey, but not too expensive.
Great location if you're visiting St James Park.
I stayed in a suite - not spacious but very well equipped with 3 TVs, small kitchen and a lovely bathroom & shower.
I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexFromTheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the sandman on a Friday and Saturday night whilst taking in the match,.greeted warmly on arrival and even though three hours early for check in we're found a room immediately which saved lugging bags around,.room was immaculate and had a great view over st james park,.had lunch and drinks in the adjoining bar even if the food was not fine dining the service and welcome more than made up for it,.cant fault the hotel at all,.only slight niggle was a bit of noise on the Saturday night from returning guests but what do u expect if you stay on a match day,.cant wait to return and will always stay at the sandman when in newcastle

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hi Shaun T,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. The whole team were very proud to read your review and we cannot wait to have you stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray

Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The check in and out we're really quick, with warm and efficient service from staff. My room was comfortable and stylishly decorated, but the room size was compact. A novel touch of class was the free drink machine in reception - really convenient for grabbing a tasty drink before going to your room.

Unfortunately breakfast was a shambles. Located in a bar the buffet wasn't what you'd expect from a hotel positioning itself near the top end of the market. The quality of ingredients was average, and the poached eggs I requested arrived long after I'd eaten my breakfast. Service was slow to the point where the empty orange juice dispenser wasn't refilled. This could have been a much better experience.

No intention to revisit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hi Adrian A,

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to learn of the issues you have mentioned regarding your breakfast experience, however I feel this is not a true reflection of the high service we usually provide to our guests.

I would love for you to come back and give us another chance so we can show you why we are amongst the top 10 hotels in the city, please feel free to e-mail us or check out our website for our great offers.
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Amazing hotel, rooms lovely,clean,and modern. hotel staff extremely helpful. We had breakfast also which was very good. Very close to all amenities in Newcastle. Would most certainly re visit and recommend to anyone. 5* all the way.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle100780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hi Michelle100780,

WOW! Thank you so much for providing such a great review following your stay with us at Sandman Signature Newcastle. Please come back soon!
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault the check in. Especially given that I was upgraded! Staff very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and modern (caught out by very powerful shower!). Breakfast was good value by usual hotel standards. Would happily stay again if in Newcastle.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank NJEDB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hi NJEDB10,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. We would love to see your next review have five stars, please come and see us again soon! Why not check out our website to see what offers are most tempting for you?
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray

Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £60 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing