We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,865)
Filter reviews
1,865 results
Traveller rating
789
573
318
126
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
573
318
126
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st james park shark club sharks bar fridge and microwave football ground football stadium king room kitchen area wet room air con city centre rain shower lovely hotel bathroom floor bar downstairs car park eldon square
Filter
Updating list...
1,441 - 1,446 of 1,865 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here for a friends 40th birthday recently whilst visiting Newcastle, arrived earlier than anticipated was greeted by a very helpful receptionist – she said our room was ready which was great as after a 2 hour drive I didn’t fancy dragging our bags around for another hour. Another plus point she was more than happy to allocate myself and all my friends on same floors as we just arrived when she was doing the room allocation, which was very kind of her. We parked at the drop off point at the back where we were told we were ok for approx. 20 mins to allow to unpack bags and time to check in and then we were directed by the concierge to a car park which was over the road (although round the one way system) where the hotel had allotted spaces at an additional £8.

The reception area, very modern and lovely décor, complimentary drinks machine which was great.

Rooms themselves very nice and modern although not very big especially for the nightly rate and no proper place to hang clothes – just a 4 pegs on the wall which as I do not travel very light was unimpressed by.

We enjoyed a visit to the Sharks Bar in the afternoon and had quite a few drinks there – average prices. Great atmosphere.

In our group total booking 7 rooms and paying £119 each most of which included breakfast with the exception of my friend who for some reason didn’t book it on and paid separately – this was charged at £15.95 per person and didn’t even include a drink which I thought was quite extortionate as the breakfast was pretty mediocre.

All in all and enjoyable stay but I have stayed in nicer hotels in other cities for same or less money and found them better value for money particularly size of the rooms.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gummybear81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very friendly and professional staff. The rooms are small but clean and offer all comfort. I personally found the room not enough soundproof against the noise coming from the street and the hallway. The breakfast buffet is offering a variety of choice. The signal of the free wifi in the room is weak.

Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Masuyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Me and my husband stayed for our wedding anniversary and his birthday we are now excited to be going back everything was perfect the room had an amazing view of st james park which is perfect for a newcastle supporter

Date of stay: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, friendly & helpful staff. Parking is poor - had to park in a city multi-storey, but not too expensive.
Great location if you're visiting St James Park.
I stayed in a suite - not spacious but very well equipped with 3 TVs, small kitchen and a lovely bathroom & shower.
I'd stay again.

Date of stay: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexFromTheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the sandman on a Friday and Saturday night whilst taking in the match,.greeted warmly on arrival and even though three hours early for check in we're found a room immediately which saved lugging bags around,.room was immaculate and had a great view over st james park,.had lunch and drinks in the adjoining bar even if the food was not fine dining the service and welcome more than made up for it,.cant fault the hotel at all,.only slight niggle was a bit of noise on the Saturday night from returning guests but what do u expect if you stay on a match day,.cant wait to return and will always stay at the sandman when in newcastle

Date of stay: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hi Shaun T,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. The whole team were very proud to read your review and we cannot wait to have you stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,

Kelly Murray

Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews