We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We recently stayed in the Sandman Signature as we were staying in Newcastle to see Family.

We had a Junior Suite, which was very small, but it was fine.

A couple of small criticisms include the fact that in this small space there were 3 TV's (complete overkill considering the size of the room - which was very small) and extremely limited lighting (there was 1 light in the main bedroom, which was the bedside lamp, and then a lamp with a US plug in the small area by the small sofa - ).

Good points: Very good location; Quiet room; good freeview channels; good bathroom and mini kitchen area.

We'd go back.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is small...beware.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hi Barrie M,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
There are newer reviews for Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Staying here two nights for New Year and Birthday celebrations at this lovely hotel. I have stayed here four times now and cannot fault it. The rooms and decor are nice and the staff so helpful and friendly. Only had breakfast and drinks in the Shark Bar but the food looked good. Would definitely recommend this Hotel to friends and family.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hi LisaS_7,

Thank you for your great review regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations and can’t wait to see you for a 5th visit!

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed here with friends recently and I must say the hotel is really lovely. Great location, lovely staff, not too impressed by the bar to be honest, no where to sit for a quiet catch up drink with friends but other than that couldn't fault it...... Breakfasts expensive to be fair but I would definitely stay there again.. xx

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essexdeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hi Essexdeb1,

Thank you for giving us your ‘lovely’ feedback about your recent stay with us. Please come back again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here on business, good hotel that is in a great location for the city centre. Avoid the hotel bar, waitresses are quite rude and I felt pressured into leaving a tip for poor service. Think her name was Jennifer.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halls1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hi Halls1978,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn that you felt the service in the bar was not as you expected, please don’t let this put you off any future stays with us as we would all love to see you stay with us again. I will be raising your issue with our food and beverage manager to avoid any future issues of a similar manner.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Beautiful hotel, caring staff and clean rooms. Bang in the city centre, 5 minutes walk from the night life yet not noisy at all! Eldon Sqaure is around 10 minutes walk. Shark Gastro Bar underneath-superb!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natashaaaaaaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hi natashaaaaaaaat,

Thank you very much for your amazingly positive review regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. Please come back and see us again soon!

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Don't get me wrong, there is nothing really wrong with this hotel. The staff are very well trained and helpful and the central location is fine. But...I couldn't help but feel there was a bit too much style going on rather than concentrating on the longer term success of the hotel. That said it is across the road from St James's (Newcastle United's ground) so assured of a regular clientele.
We had a king suite. The room was fine but... the fittings looked good but weren't. The heating/air con was in the bedroom approx 10" from the bed so the bedroom was either boiling or cold and the seating area the opposite. A redeeming feature, however, was that the windows opened so you could get some fresh air.
Breakfast was the usual corporate buffet style - though they ran out of eggs and plates.
All that said, it is quite reasonably priced.
Fine if you're not as fussy as me!

Room Tip: Don't bother with the balcony option as the view isn't worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hi Paul F,

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. All feedback is very important to us and we certainly take it seriously, we will discuss your comments in our team meetings and use this to better the service we provide at our hotel.

Thanks again,

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Staff goes above and beyond to fill your needs. Great location for seeing everything in Newcastle. The restaurant inside hotel is decent food. Hotel is modern and filled kind charming employees. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ireland1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hi ireland1227,

Thank you very much for your amazing comments regarding your recent stay with us at Sandman Signature Newcastle.

The whole team love reading feedback like this so we cannot thank you enough, please come back and see us again soon.

Thanks again,

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £70 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing