We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy bedrooms - would not return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Filthy bedrooms - would not return”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I checked into the hotel after work on New Year's Eve with my boyfriend. Upon check in the staff on reception were absolutely fantastic and extremely polite so I can not complain at all about the service. When we went into our room the room felt small cold and dark. I unpacked my bags and went to the bathroom to shower to find urine all over the loo seat, half used toiletries from pervious guests, hairs in the shower and a dirty floor. I called down to reception to ask if we could move rooms, again the reception team were fantastic and came to our room with a key card for the new room. When we walked into the second room it was even smaller, I was told it was a partially accessible room. Instead of wardrobes there were hooks on the wall and the room lacked comfort. There were stains on the walls, the carpet was a good inch too short for the floor so we could see the concrete floor, the tea and coffee making facilities has old food on the spoon. Not wanting to waste any more time as I was now running late to meet friends I decided to just get on with it. I had a sower which was cold!!!! When I got out the shower I was very upset by this point so called down to reception again. As I complained to the lady on reception I noticed a blob of dried food on the phone and at this point I knew I had to check out. I advised the lady that I would be in reception in 15 minutes to check out. When we did check out we were refunded out full room payment of £185. The rooms are I impressive and filthy but the service was great. I would not recommend this hotel to any friends and colleagues as I think there are much nicer hotels in newcastle!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ILoveFood917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hi ILoveFood917,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is through genuine feedback like this that helps us succeed in our mission to deliver an outstanding service to our guests, I am very sorry to learn of the issues you have raised however I do feel that every attempt to rectify your issue had been made while you were in our hotel and I can only apologise again that our resolution was still not to your satisfaction.

I am sorry to learn that you would not stay with us again as I do feel that you did not receive a true reflection of the service we provide to the majority of our guests. I would be very grateful for you to give us another try and would like assist you personally on your next stay should you choose to stay with us again. Please e-mail me directly and let me know the date of any future bookings you wish to make.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
gsm_newcastle@sandmanhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    445
    221
    66
    26
See reviews for
164
526
33
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We recently stayed in the Sandman Signature as we were staying in Newcastle to see Family.

We had a Junior Suite, which was very small, but it was fine.

A couple of small criticisms include the fact that in this small space there were 3 TV's (complete overkill considering the size of the room - which was very small) and extremely limited lighting (there was 1 light in the main bedroom, which was the bedside lamp, and then a lamp with a US plug in the small area by the small sofa - ).

Good points: Very good location; Quiet room; good freeview channels; good bathroom and mini kitchen area.

We'd go back.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is small...beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi Barrie M,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Staying here two nights for New Year and Birthday celebrations at this lovely hotel. I have stayed here four times now and cannot fault it. The rooms and decor are nice and the staff so helpful and friendly. Only had breakfast and drinks in the Shark Bar but the food looked good. Would definitely recommend this Hotel to friends and family.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi LisaS_7,

Thank you for your great review regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations and can’t wait to see you for a 5th visit!

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed here with friends recently and I must say the hotel is really lovely. Great location, lovely staff, not too impressed by the bar to be honest, no where to sit for a quiet catch up drink with friends but other than that couldn't fault it...... Breakfasts expensive to be fair but I would definitely stay there again.. xx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexdeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi Essexdeb1,

Thank you for giving us your ‘lovely’ feedback about your recent stay with us. Please come back again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here on business, good hotel that is in a great location for the city centre. Avoid the hotel bar, waitresses are quite rude and I felt pressured into leaving a tip for poor service. Think her name was Jennifer.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halls1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi Halls1978,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn that you felt the service in the bar was not as you expected, please don’t let this put you off any future stays with us as we would all love to see you stay with us again. I will be raising your issue with our food and beverage manager to avoid any future issues of a similar manner.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Beautiful hotel, caring staff and clean rooms. Bang in the city centre, 5 minutes walk from the night life yet not noisy at all! Eldon Sqaure is around 10 minutes walk. Shark Gastro Bar underneath-superb!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natashaaaaaaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi natashaaaaaaaat,

Thank you very much for your amazingly positive review regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. Please come back and see us again soon!

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Don't get me wrong, there is nothing really wrong with this hotel. The staff are very well trained and helpful and the central location is fine. But...I couldn't help but feel there was a bit too much style going on rather than concentrating on the longer term success of the hotel. That said it is across the road from St James's (Newcastle United's ground) so assured of a regular clientele.
We had a king suite. The room was fine but... the fittings looked good but weren't. The heating/air con was in the bedroom approx 10" from the bed so the bedroom was either boiling or cold and the seating area the opposite. A redeeming feature, however, was that the windows opened so you could get some fresh air.
Breakfast was the usual corporate buffet style - though they ran out of eggs and plates.
All that said, it is quite reasonably priced.
Fine if you're not as fussy as me!

Room Tip: Don't bother with the balcony option as the view isn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hi Paul F,

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. All feedback is very important to us and we certainly take it seriously, we will discuss your comments in our team meetings and use this to better the service we provide at our hotel.

Thanks again,

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing