We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

just got back from 2 nights at this very well run 4 star hotel.and we found the
staff without exeption very friendly.also the bed was as good as they come
the manager must be very proud of this city center hotel,and i would stay
there again if we go back to newcastle.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEALINE-ANTARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hi Sealine-Antara,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel.
You are certainly right, our Manager is very proud of the whole team :)

Please feel free to check out our website to see what we are up to this year, we would love to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Guest services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We regularly travel to the 'Toon' for a weekend away and have tried many hotels there. Then we found the Sandman and would not stay anywhere else ! The service is faultless and the rooms perfect and very clean. We like it so much we went two weekends on the trot ! The standard of food is very good having used room service on several occasions. Beds are incredibly comfy and the only noise you might hear is emergency services going about their business. Love the free coffee machine in the lobby, so quick and easy to get a fresh bean coffee at any time of the day. The location is excellent as well. Right next door to Chinatown and 5 mins to the centre of the city. A few minutes walk down Gallowgate you will find a Sainsbury's Local, which is really handy. Would definitely recommend this hotel and 'thanks all', we will be back, and back, and back, and back !!!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tenspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hi Tenspar,

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your recent stays at Sandman Signature Newcastle. I am so pleased you love staying in the 'Toon!'

See you soon,

Kind regards,
Liam Redshaw
Guest services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Visited for 1 night and as it was my wife's birthday we were upgraded to an executive suite. This was a very pleasant surprise and the staff at the hotel were brilliant, very friendly and helpful. The hotel is nice but it seems like the rooms could do with a really good deep clean, don't get me wrong they are clean but could be better and need a little decorating in some areas. The heating/air con units are in a strange place and are very noisy so can't be on when trying to sleep and take up quite a bit room next to beds. Excellent location right on Chinatown. Overall good hotel and excellent staff, thanks again for the upgrade!

Room Tip: Choose the executive suite or try for an upgrade, as far as I'm aware the other rooms don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGL1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Hi Stephen L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am happy you enjoyed your upgraded room and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A surprisingly quiet hotel as in the heart of the city.
A lovely room with kitchen facilities. Modern and bright.
Staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. would definitely come back.
Great location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Hi Ruth M,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle hotel. I am very happy to learn that you will be visiting us again on your return to the city, and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

stayed for 3 nights for my mates birthday weekend, stylish hotel, close proximity to the city centre which is great for bars, clubs and restaurants etc. the shark club does some yummy food with nice big portions and the drinks are reasonably priced for a hotel. the guy on reception (think his name was andrew) was very friendly and helpful on check in and one of the waitress' in the shark club went out of her way to reccommend the good clubs in the area.

will be back again soon!

Room Tip: higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi Natalia F,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle. I am happy to learn you took full advantage of everything we have to offer in our hotel. We would love to see you again soon, why not check out our website for the fantastic offers we have?

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Fantastically stylish. I don't want to spoil the surprise by listing all the nice little touches of style. It's metal-and-glass ultra cool. I think Sandman is a Canadian hotel chain, which means maple syrup and pancakes for breakfast if you want.

One important fact - it's right next to St James Park, home of Newcastle United football club. Blessing or curse, depending on your attitude but one thing's for sure: on match nights 50 000 people will be converging on the stadium.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnDeWinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi JohnDeWinton,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Sandman Signature Newcastle. I love reading ‘funky’ reviews! Please come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just spent one night whilst visiting my son in University. Took my dog along with me. Chose the hotel for its proximity to my son's accommodation. I had read some adverse reviews, however my room was fairly spacious, had everything you might need and was very clean. The kitchen area with a decent size fridge, hotplate and microwave is a useful addition.
The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, even offering to 'dog sit' for me.
Two criticisms, it took about five minutes to get hot water in the shower and we ate in the Shark Bar, which was a bit like dining in a nightclub. Having said that the food was good quality, reasonably priced and again the staff were great. My son liked the bar so perhaps it is an age thing.
No hesitation in recommending this hotel, will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciabarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi patriciabarton,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are certainly pet lovers here! I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you (and your dog) again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelly Murray
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,978 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £67 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing