We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed with work whilst running an event at st. James park, location is great, reception staff were very welcoming and organised, rooms were also good, not to big but very stylish, dinner in the shark bar was also quality, good food and cold beer served with a smile. Overall a great experience.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi Neil H,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel. We are simply delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed for two nights on business. Room was small but had everything I needed. Biggest issue was the lack of sleep due to the noise. First night disturbed in the early hours by drunk revellers in the hotel corridor, second night by the noise of the traffic outside, which I appreciate the hotel can do little about.
All the ladies on reception were lovely, friendly and helpful. Did not eat so cannot comment on the food.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank redharvey64_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi redharvey64_10,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear about the noise issues you had, I know a lot of guests may feel like they don’t want to make a fuss by calling reception regarding an issue during their stay , however we really do appreciate all feedback from our guests here. I am sure if you had let us know of the noise from other guests during your stay then our night team would have certainly investigated that for you. I do hope this does not put you off any future stays with us.

Thanks again,

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Guest services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Great location for the city centre and china town. Rooms quite small but very nicely furnished. But we did go for the cheapest standard room so if space is an issue they do have larger rooms. Comfortable bed and very powerful shower everything you need even things like a microwave which not sure why you would need a microwave. Staff very good and friendly.
I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gillandmikesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi Gillandmikesmith,

Thank you for your great feedback, we couldn't put it better ourselves! Why not check out our website for our great offers for your next stay?

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Guest services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

there was eight of us stayed here on a Saturday and sunday night for my sisters hen party, and we were totally impressed with this hotel from the minute we stepped through the doors! The staff are brilliant, they are so friendly and cannot do enough to help you....the rooms were class for us, were extremely clean and temperature of rooms were perfect....location is totally perfect right across the road from st james park metro stop, and within walking distance of everything...next time im back in Newcastle il be staying here! Thanks to all the staff at the Sandman for making our trip so enjoyable :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissSheenaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi MissSheenak,

You’re very welcome :) Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel. We are all so happy to learn you and your girls enjoyed your weekend and we would love to have you all back again soon.

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Guest services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

10 minutes walk slightly uphill from the train station, I was met with a polite chatty receptionist who promptly checked me in. Room is a little compact but is nicely decorated, has flat screen TV, comfy bed so I slept well. Heater in my room was situated opposite the end of my bed, so I could warm my feet at night ! Room has a safe and microwave, bathroom is good sized with no bath. Dinner was tasty, each night there are specials in the Shark Gastro Bar and I was met by a very friendly waitress. On Wednesday night I was promised it would be busy and so it was ! There were no seats available. I can understand that the Shark Bar is not to everyone's liking but it makes a pleasant change from the usual. It certainly didn't bother me. The hotel is opposite St James Park so location was perfect and its an easy walk to the city centre from here. There is free wifi and it worked well.

I didn't have breakfast as I felt the charge was too high (14 GBP) if I remember correctly and there was a bit of road noise in my room. The gym is a bit small only a few pieces of equipment so it could get busy very quickly.

All being said, I would stay here again and agree with other contributors that the staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiKing01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi SkiKing01,

Thank you very much for your great feedback! We would love to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Guest services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

shame about the footie result and the car breaking down BUT the hotel and the night out on the 'toon' was great! Reception were super friendly and even helped with the RAC call-out, The Sharkbar was lively and the food was very good. Easy walking distance to city centre with plenty going on there too. Room was fine...it was a twin with me and a pal sharing. Not sure about the need for a full kitchen (!) in the room but I suppose that some would find it useful. Shower/wet room is a great idea but water ended up all over the floor? Parking is £8 and you need to go to the St.James METRO car park as hotel doesn't have one. Beds comfy. No SKY on TV but plenty downstairs in the bar. Free WIFI which is always welcome. Not sure about a gym...didn't see one? All in all a hotel to recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySING73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi AndySING73,

Thank you for your feedback, we do have allocated car park spaces situated just across the road from the hotel. There is also a gym on the 11th floor of the hotel, I do hope you get to take full advantage of this during your next stay with us ;)

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Guest services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The good points: brilliant, friendly staff. When I found my room was opposite a noisy family, they found me another, quieter one within minutes. The location is great, right opposite St James's Park. I slept well. The less good points: the breakfast was mediocre; the rooms are "compact" and a bit too designery for my liking, which meant any noise outside the door was noticeable; the lower floors get a lot of traffic noise. But the biggest (and weirdest) issue I had was that the Shark bar, where you have breakfast, was slightly reminiscent of a lapdancing club. Large posters of the "hottest waitress", and a noticable number of very attractive staff in very short skirts in the evening was not just a bit strange, it was (for me) pretty offensive. I count myself as a red-blooded male, footy fan etc etc, but why would I want this in my hotel? For the wonderful reception staff to have to work alongside this is just a bit embarrassing. No doubt "real men" guests appreciated it, or I'm just missing the irony...

Room Tip: Get as high up as you can, or face traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Hi Duncan M,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Without such feedback we would never know what our guests truly think of our hotel. We do hope your issues with the Shark Club does not put you off staying with us again and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Guest services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £65 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing