We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed here overnight on a business trip, the hotel is modern and clean. Rooms were lovely and the views were great. The downside was that the hotel bar on a Wednesday night is so busy you have to basically fight for a seat. When you have done a 3 hour drive you just want to sit and relax so luckily there are bars and restaurants 5minutes down the road. I would stay there again business or city break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSimondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hi MrSimondo,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It’s great that you really enjoyed your stay with us, I’m sorry to hear that the popularity of our Shark Club gastro bar did not work to your advantage though I am glad you took advantage of the hotels great location within the city.

Please do come and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    424
    204
    61
    25
See reviews for
152
489
32
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Our family stayed at this hotel beginning of February. We got our Junior Suite early, which was great since traveling with kids. The room was very nice and modern but really cold. Heaters were really noisy, we had to turn them off for the night. Location was really good, just short walk from the city centre. Otherwise great hotel, but that heating problem turned my rating from very good to poor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tepasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hi Tepasto,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Without your feedback we would never know how to improve our hotel, I am sorry you had an issue with the air conditioning unit in your room being too loud. I will pass your comments on to our maintenance department so they can look into this. I am very pleased to learn that other than this issue you thought the hotel was great, we would love to see you back again soon and if you let us know on check in about your experience we will make sure your next stay is more memorable for the right reasons.

Thanks again,

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel Saturday 15th and a little Valentines treat for us both and when we got there the hotel was lovely very stylish. The reception staff were very welcoming and we were given a room on the 5th floor, when we got into the room it was as pictured on the website however I thought for what we paid and the star rating the rooms were very small, however it was adequate for what we wanted. Upon dropping our bags in the room we decided to go to the bar where to both of our discomfort the female bar staff were skimpily dressed. This not only made me feel uncomfortable but also my partner as well. They were dressed all in black very short skirts (just covering one of the bar staff's bums) and low cut vest tops. I asked the girl who was serving on our area and she said she was told that she had to dress like this as it was her uniform. I think that if you are there in a couple it isn't the best way to start a night off as like I said it made us both feel very uncomfortable. There were numerous couples who walked out after just arriving to the bar as they said the same it wasn't comfortable. I think this bar in the hotel is aimed at gathering men in there becuase of the way they make the females dress. The male bar staff were presented well in suits and ties. It is very degrading to womeen and maybe they need to rethink the uniforms.
On a whole the hotel was nice and the food in there was lovely too, however I dont think I would stay here again as for the same money (if not cheaper) we could of stayed in a more respectful establishment such as the Vermont. I would definitely say this hotel isn't for COUPLES!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hi Clare M,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you didn’t find the Shark Club Gastro bar to your liking. The Shark club is part of a chain of Gastro bars that originates in Canada and is part of our hotel to compliment the excellent location in the heart of the city adjacent to the world famous St. James’ park football stadium. The uniforms you mentioned are in fact a brand standard and most of our guests do feel this fits well with the atmosphere they aim to provide, however I will bring your feelings about the uniform to the attention of the Shark club management.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed taking advantage of the mouth-watering menu that the Shark club has to offer and that you thought our hotel was lovely too, we do hope to see you again so why not check out our website for our very tempting offers?

Kind regards

Liam Redshaw
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed on Saturday 15th February, the room we had was on the tenth floor which had great views over looking the city. The room had a fridge which was handy as we picked some food and drink up during the day so it kept them chilled, coffees and teas were also supplied. The decor of the room was very tasteful and we found the bed to be very comfortable which provided a good night sleep. The reception area is also very nicely designed, highly recommended stay!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMO_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi JMO_83,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel. We would love to see you again, why not check out our website for our tempting offers and treat yourself to another night on the 'Toon'?

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed with work whilst running an event at st. James park, location is great, reception staff were very welcoming and organised, rooms were also good, not to big but very stylish, dinner in the shark bar was also quality, good food and cold beer served with a smile. Overall a great experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Neil H,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel. We are simply delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on business. Room was small but had everything I needed. Biggest issue was the lack of sleep due to the noise. First night disturbed in the early hours by drunk revellers in the hotel corridor, second night by the noise of the traffic outside, which I appreciate the hotel can do little about.
All the ladies on reception were lovely, friendly and helpful. Did not eat so cannot comment on the food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank redharvey64_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi redharvey64_10,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear about the noise issues you had, I know a lot of guests may feel like they don’t want to make a fuss by calling reception regarding an issue during their stay , however we really do appreciate all feedback from our guests here. I am sure if you had let us know of the noise from other guests during your stay then our night team would have certainly investigated that for you. I do hope this does not put you off any future stays with us.

Thanks again,

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Guest services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Great location for the city centre and china town. Rooms quite small but very nicely furnished. But we did go for the cheapest standard room so if space is an issue they do have larger rooms. Comfortable bed and very powerful shower everything you need even things like a microwave which not sure why you would need a microwave. Staff very good and friendly.
I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gillandmikesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam R, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi Gillandmikesmith,

Thank you for your great feedback, we couldn't put it better ourselves! Why not check out our website for our great offers for your next stay?

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Guest services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing