We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for one night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here with work for one night. The room was nice, although there were a lot of stains on the carpet, windows and ceiling. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was nice. I had breakfast in my room which average I would say, nothing special but it did the job!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachyA1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Rachel2014286,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    416
    196
    58
    25
See reviews for
148
476
32
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Staff at reception was only one so took a while to book in initially , but very good and couldn't do enough for you .reception areas clean and quite funky .bar so noisy the whole time,I like music but it was blaring all the time. Rooms were small but facing the stadium was so noisy , doubted whether they had double glazing . The air con unit dripped but least it worked, bathroom was lovely although I agree with other reviews, floor flooded . Great location to get into Newcastle, we stayed for 2 nights , this is supposed to be the newest hotel in Newcastle, could do better

Room Tip: Go up to the top floors hopefully not so noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soniasla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Soniasla,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

From booking a twin room to leaving the hotel I found that my mother and I were looked after extremely well. Special attention was given by the receptionist Chantal Mastrocoia who was sensitive to our needs.
The bed room was large and clean with a small kitchen area. The car park is not attached to the hotel but one can purchase a car park permit and the facility is across the road, so not far to walk.
We were not informed on booking that Wednesday night the Sharks bar, where one would eat, attached to the hotel, would be full of students as there is a meal deal, and along with the Football world cup we were not going to hear ourselves think. The general manager, Paul Smith again escorted us out and made us feel comfortable with options and we decided to eat in our room. He dealt with the situation quickly,sensitively and professionally.
The Chicken Spicy noodle salad and Pizza were both tasty and not badly priced at around £10 per dish
I would recommend this hotel on being friendly, accommodating and using their initiative in dealing with what could have been a difficult situation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Heather G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Only a short review as I only stayed in this hotel for one night... Stayed in this hotel with a group of my friends for one night (Sunday night) for a bank holiday night out and I have no complaints.

The hotel is within walking distance of Newcastle train station and is on the door step of St. James Park (Newcastle Football Club).

Shops, bars and restaurants in the main city centre are only a short walk from this hotel.

The rooms were very clean and spacious. Nice modern bathrooms and overall a lovely hotel for the price we paid. Having stayed there I would have expected to pay more.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ilovetravelling24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear ilovetravelling24,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week for 1 night. The checking in process was very easy, staff excellent. The room was small, but saying that it had all the usual furniture in it. Our room had a full view of St. James's Park, great if your a Mag. The metro train station was just over the road too very handy for dotting around Newcastle. The hotel is also situated around the corner from China Town so plenty of Chinese restaurants to choose from. The bathroom was a wet room with 2 types of shower (from the ceiling and the normal version) the ceiling shower was amazing, like standing under a waterfall....though the floor in the bathroom was very wet after! The only downside to the room was it was very warm and with the traffic noise outside we were unable to keep the window open overnight and the air con unit was very noisy too...We had breakfast next morning in the bar downstairs. Food ample ( though no eggs left and it was only 10am - breakfast ran till 11am) and tasty. Either cooked or continental. Overall a very modern hotel with friendly staff and I would defo stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Eloise E,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night pre and post graduation celebrations. Paid £130 for a king room booked online no problems. On arrival the receptionist told us unfortunately there are no king rooms available today but with out stopping for breath quickly told us 'but surprise you have been upgraded'. We got to our room it was a family room not a king or even executive king. The family rooms online are cheaper than a king how is this an upgrade. I paid extra specifically for what I thought was a special room as a surprise for my partner, we would not normally pay this amount for a 1 night stay anywhere. Only one window opened air con fan right outside the window too noisy to leave open air con goes no cooler than 18 degrees boiling is an understatement. We came away feeling that we had just been ripped off. I asked the receptionist the prices for family rooms she could only say they vary on a daily basis but could not give me a price. For a family staying in that room 2 very large bunk beds in the kitchenette then double in the main bedroom is a lovely concept, very modern and tidy. The hotel itself was in a great location 5 minutes from the university. The reception area is stunning. Parking £8.00 for 24 hrs across the road. The bar next door is brilliant and although we did not eat here the chicken wings looked superb everyone was ordering them.

Room Tip: be careful when booking online like us you might pay for a specific type of room then told on arriva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Goldennugget,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Modern, free wifi, big television, friendly helpful staff. Shower water went everywhere and steamed up the mirrors in both rooms. Fridge in the room didn't work, parking was expensive. Restaurant joint onto this hotel has excellent food!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Caitlin d,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing