We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for St James's Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great spot for St James's Park”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, staff friendly and very helpful, Room very comfortable. Great location, easy walk into central areas.

The shark bar gets rammed on match days, and there aren't enough staff to deal with demand. disappointingly residents aren't able to reserve tables. But that is a minor gripe, will definatley stay again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Bigf42,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    438
    219
    66
    26
See reviews for
161
519
33
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed her on Friday 15 August, a group of 4 friends. We arrived at 1pm and Katie checked to see if rooms were available but they weren't so we left our bags and checked in later. We parked across the road in a car park that the hotel uses and Katie provided us with the parking permit required which costs £8. The hotel is in a great location. Liam gave us some info on places to at night which was very helpful. We were on the second floor and the rooms although small were of a modern décor and well equipped. The mattress and pillows on the bed was fantastic and we had a great nights sleep. When we came in from a late night out Ashleigh and Matt were very welcoming and friendly we enjoyed talking to them and they are a great asset to the hotel. Brilliant staff make a big difference in a hotel. Breakfast was ok, there was plenty to choose from but it wasn't very warm. In all we had a great stay and would defo stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellow1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Yellow1Scotland,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed in the Sandman for one night during a visit to Newcastle. On arrival the reception staff were incredible helpful, asking us whether we had visited Newcastle before and recommending where to go during our stay. The room is not the biggest but perfect for a few nights stay as the bed was very comfy and the shower facilities were excellent. All very clean!
Breakfast selection was very nice with good quality food.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Lauren C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel and great service. Misunderstanding with the room, but more than made up for it with complimentary champagne and excellent service. We were upgraded to the best suite in the hotel for our wait, we had our own floor and balcony. Would recommend to anybody.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Maria W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Was in Newcastle for work and stayed one night and was impressed with the hotel. Welcoming staff, modern feel and the room was great. Had all the little luxuries for a comfortable night. Had a really quiet nights sleep. Nice breakfast selection. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Floor nine , great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear AdamPage,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We felt the hotel fell short of its 4 stars. The rooms are small and lack the comforts you expect of a 4 star hotel. I would agree with other reviews stating the rooms are starting to look a bit tired. As the hotel is still fairly new I dread to think what they will be like in a year or two. On the plus side the hotel was clean, well situated and the staff were friendly and efficient. It is ok at the right price but certainly not what you expect from a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room [less noise]
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear David R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My boyfriend brought me here for a weekend break. Stayed here in a nice room in June. Good location practically on the doorstep of St. James Park. The welcome in reception was the best I've ever received in a hotel and staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel was clean, modern, and overall the facilities were great. The room was nice and quiet even though it was a busy weekend. The bed was comfortable, we had a great nights sleep. The bathroom was lovely.
Really good value for money.I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear JoannaPhil,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It’s great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Liam Redshaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Address: Gallowgate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (All this within 5 minutes walking radius) In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing