We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover”

Moulin Rouge Cafe and Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We have Traditional Persian food also do all day English breakfasts We do meals with flat bread and also serve with rice. We now do delivery through Deliveroo
South Shields
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This corner cafe is mid-way up Westgate Road in the middle of all the motor bike shops. It was a bank holiday when I visited so parking wasn't a problem. I don't know what it would be like during the week.

It appears to be open when everywhere else is closed.

This is not fine dining but a small unprepossessing cafe which does the standard English fare but with a daily Persian dish also available.

The staff all spoke, were friendly, explained things and I found the whole experience (and the cross range of fellow punters) enjoyable and would recommend to anyone who isn't fazed by eating in a cafe.

It makes you wonder why they don't change the emphasis at night by having a few window blinds and candles on the tables as they would definitely attract a separate evening trade by concentrating on the Persian dishes.

Different in a pleasant way and I bet they don't even realise how well they are rated on TA.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ColumbusDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    71
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

A friend of mine booked a table and I had herd great things have to agree with everyone else it's: Wonderful Food, Ambiance, Food is cooked to perfection, service was fantastic, can't wait to go again very soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GILESB594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Tenderest lamb”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Found this place on TA and when visiting the area and had to give it a try.
We had a mixed plate of starters,mixed salad, kobedeh and the lamb special.
The dishes served with really nice flat breads.
The special lamb was a particular hit, extremely tender and served with the most deliciously flavored rice.
Great value and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinnergong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

we ate here on a saturday and although it was busy the food was delicious and the service very good.My chicken was cooked to perfection and very tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty and Filling”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

First time eating in Moulin Rouge, and first impressions always count. Value for money, and the food was very Tasty. I also liked the fact that you had a wide variety of salad items, and that you were offered a choice.
I Will be eating there again as the staff were very attentive. Big Thumbs Up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moulin Rouge Cafe and Grill also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Moulin Rouge Cafe and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing