We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kebabaliscious!!!”

Moulin Rouge Cafe and Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We have Traditional Persian food also do all day English breakfasts We do meals with flat bread and also serve with rice. We now do delivery through Deliveroo
1 review
“Kebabaliscious!!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lovely food and lovely staff. Very helpful with menu advice.
The place is more if a cafe bistro so not open late. It's small and cosy really good value. If never heard if this place until trip advisor but glad we took a punt. Definitely going back soon. Hidden gem off newcastles beaten track.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    71
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This restaurant is fantastic.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The food is great! To improve we think that if the restaurant had a bit more space to sit, that would be brilliant overall. Thank you Moulin Rouge!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“THE best place to eat in Newcastle (and we're just tourists;-))”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I felt brave to leave our hotel in Fenkle St and walk it to the restaurant, after reading the amazing reviews.. And it was a hike up a hill, complete with baby in arms, BUT it was worth all the effort!! How many ways can you say "Amazing" "WoW" but it deserves all the praise and then some. The staff were lovely and welcoming, the food best I've ever had, portions are HUGE and we took it as a Takeaway with needing to put baby to bed.
The food beats Marco Pierre Whites hands down, and then some - you simply must try it if you're in Newcastle.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank scouser_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's the value!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had no idea why this place was ranked so high in TA, but now I do. It was a small place, pretty cramped in lunch or dinner time when all seats were taken and people got queuing up for take-away. The menu was simple and the food was delicious. Its popularity speaks for it. Great value for money!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Can W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food and host”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went there with a friend of mine and loved it. It's a small place, they do take away but also have tables. The cook and waiter were super friendly, made recommendations, and the food was fab, big portions, freshly prepared.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnFi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moulin Rouge Cafe and Grill also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Moulin Rouge Cafe and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing