We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent early dinner in Newcastle”
Review of Da Mimmo's - CLOSED

Da Mimmo's
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent early dinner in Newcastle”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Visited A Bari on Saturday night. Warm welcome from excellent staff. A good range of choices on the menu and good sized portions. Staff worked very hard to keep all the customers happy with friendly service. Good value for money and looking forward to return again soon. Many thanks to all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    57
    35
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“As ever great food, great service and great deal.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Went for the fabulous Groupon Deal: 3 courses 2 people £11.
On arriving we were given a warm welcome and accompanied to our table. Fresh Focaccia arrived which was delicious and a nice touch especially as we were getting a great value meal.
Starters really impressive, mains: tasty Italian and an ice cream for dessert. The place is really comfortable and the staff are great.
Finally we were given some delicious chocolates at the end of the meal.
I always enjoy my trips to Da Mimmos or Abari as it is also called and what a bargain. Don't forget you can have a more expensive dessert but it will cost a little extra. My Tiramisu was out of this world.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahnJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take A Way Menu”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just to say I don't think alot of people know that A Bari has an excellent take a way menu and is fantastic value at £3.95 . Great value when you have been shopping and don't want to cook when you get home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Fabulous service!!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We went to A Bari for a meal after our daughters graduation. I can honestly say it was a lovely exprerience from entering to leaving. The owner was really friendly and chatted to us while ordering our food and was very funny without being offensive. The food was great we all really enjoyed every course. At the end of the meal we were given chocolates on the table to enjoy while paying the bill. As we were leaving the owner wished my daughter good luck for her future and give her a big box of chocolates. I would just like to say thankyou to him and his staff for a perfect end to a lovely meal. We will definately be returning and can highly recommend A Bari to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We got a voucher and requested that we be shown the desert menu that was available to us and they added £12 onto our bill at the end saying it's the difference for the desert which was supposed to be free, conning little men. Stater was basic, main meal ok, really dislike con artists though...:(

Gaz

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GazMcCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Mimmo's also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing