We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible”
Review of Solomons Dhaba

Solomons Dhaba
Ranked #135 of 1,262 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$21
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Solomons Has been established since 1992 and is a family run business providing exceptional Punjabi & Kashmiri Indian Cuisine and quality of service second to none. We would like to welcome you to experience our rich and opulent surroundings with your family and friends Our menu has a great selection of authentic Halal food from the Indian Punjabi and Kashmiri Regions with an excellent choice of vegetarian food. We pride ourselves in using the finest ingredients, cooked to perfection, ensuring a memorable dining experience.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,627 reviews
1,227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 838 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Pound for pound this has to be the best Indian restaurant north of Mumbai. Their indian breads are hand made fresh by the tandoor chef. I'm told they have more pans than a pan shop so nothing tastes the same. GO! amazing!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank thefooddood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    27
    10
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wylam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another great curry.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just a takeaway this time but just as good quality as any sit down meal we have had here or the main Solomon's restaurant. Busy Saturday night so called ahead to order and was ready within 5 min's of time they stated.

I always have the Lamb Tikka Jalfrezi and unlike a lot of Indian's the lamb is always lean, tender and perfectly cooked. Generous portions as well.

Would recommend to anyone - will be back soon!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rubles2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and first class service”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I went here with a couple of friends from work for a midweek bite last week. I was with a couple of curry afficionados so was hoping this restaurant's reputation delivered. Our waiter (Sal) was top drawer and the banter was flowing as he very succesfully recommended house specialities to suit our tastes. The food that came was absolutely tremendous from start to finish and accompanied by superb homemade mango lassi and great service throughout.

Yes, the interior is on the basic side, but who cares? The food is brilliant and the staff are great.

Will be back without doubt.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank phrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“New Year Treat”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just had to say the Indian meal we had at Solomon's Dhaba last night was exceptional. The Lamb Rogan I had was the best I have ever tasted, and the Shahi Machli (cod in spiced batter) starter was superb. Even on such a busy night the staff were absolutely excellent and the service faultless.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food ”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We tried this place after meaning to go for some time, I must say I'm glad we did. To keep it simple without rattling on the starter portions were a good size and reasonably priced. The mains were delicious and again reasonably priced.
Don't be put off by the decor in the place, arguably it could be better but who cares when they serve food as good as they do. Try it you'll love it!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Zuccho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solomons Dhaba also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Solomons Dhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing