We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newcastle Jesmond Hotel
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lovely area and great hotel for the price. Very clean and spec good. Staff very very helpful, nothing too much bother. Breakfast ok for continental, plenty of choice and the time limits weren't too strict. Would visit again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisefhumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Staff helpful before I even arrived sending me a map from the Metro. It is clean, cosy, comfortable - nice room, comfortable bed, wonderful hot shower in wet room. The hotel was quiet, the continental breakfast was more than adequate and the proximity of eating establishments was very convenient. It was my first visit to Newcastle and,apart from the racing which was my reason for visiting, I shall certainly come again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We have been staying quiet frequently in this hotel during the last 12 months and it is a great find! Rooms are clean and tasteful decorated and wifi works which is important for business travelers! Great location with Waitrose and Tesco in walking distance (2 min) if you dont want to go out and bring some food to your room and relax. Most important Donna and Jeremy are super helpful and always so kind and are the main reasons we come back.

Room Tip: Arrive early if you can because the parking lots are limited and difficult to navigate. Parking outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a reasonable hotel on a fairly busy road. The rooms are fine with a good bathroom. There is no lift and they serve only a continental breakfast. The staff are obliging and helpful. We got free breakfasts for grandchildren when they could not resolve a problem with the wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grannybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its fab location - right on the popular Osborne Road. It's a little further along the road though, still a stone's throw from the bars and restaraunts but not so you'll be disturbed if you want an early night.

The hotel is small and the communal areas clean and tidy. It snowed the night we stayed, and the room felt very cosy. We booked a standard double, which is in the eaves on the top floor. The room was tiny but nicely furnished, and warm. The room wasn't too clean, the carpet felt a little sticky and there were smeary hand-marks on the wall/ceiling. There is a wet-room only, so it was disappointing that not only were there no toiletries provided, you needed to bring your own shower-cap too!

The car-park is very small indeed, and if you can get a space in here there is a good chance that you'll be blocked in by others' haphazard parking.

All in all, a decent enough hotel - were we slept like logs after a great night out - without being disturbed by noist guests (as we feared on reading other reviews) - for the £60 we paid. Would go back.

Room Tip: Choose a standard double (small rooms up in the eaves) if you're worried about being disturbed b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wild_gypsy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Booked the hotel for a shopping and nightlife visit over the weekend. The hotel staff were very friendly and couldn't do more for you. The continual breakfast was lovely and a nice change for full English.
The hotel was quiet too, I could recommend this hotel to couples, as well as people going to newcastle purely for the nightlife. Excellent location next to all the bars Osbourne road.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roseannagracebarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I booked a deluxe single room which was a single room but with a double bed. It was lovely. Very clean, modern, pretty, the bathroom was spotless and I didnt move from my room till I went for breakfast and checked out! It is very central Newcastle and was worried it might be noisy but it is in a fabulous location and with one of the most comfortable beds Ive ever slept in it was the best nights sleep Ive had in ages!!! Breakfast was pleasant and very sufficient, just continental which was included in the price. And the staff were very helpful both on check in and check out. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If all the rooms were as good as mine you wont have a problem and I only had a single!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,159 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
537 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
816 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hedgefield House Hotel
Hedgefield House Hotel
#1 of 20 in Newcastle upon Tyne
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Jesmond Hotel

Address: 105, Osborne Road | West Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £47 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newcastle Jesmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 6 minute ride from Newcastle’s city center (and 5 minute walk from West Jesmond metro station), the Newcastle Jesmond Hotel offers a great city location in a leafy vibrant suburb. Newly refurbished, our little hotel offers stylish rooms at great value and free wifi throughout. All rooms are fitted with a 32" flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities and an en suite wet room. Our on-site parking is free (first come first served) and nearby street parking available. Breakfast is a traditional continental (Breads, cereals inc porridge, fruit, cheese, crumpets, croissant with unlimited teas, coffee & fruit juices). Recently introduced hot plates for eggs or beans on toast giving a greater variety to get your morning started. Our location means we are close to both universities, 3 major hospitals (inc the Freeman) all of Newcastle’s business parks, and for our weekend travelers Jesmond itself boasts many bars, coffee shops, restaurants, delis & boutique shops. Not to mention the offerings of the city center itself with art galleries, historical sites & architecture, St James’ football stadium and more. Whatever you come to Newcastle for, our knowledgeable & helpful staff will be able to advise you before, during & even after your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Newcastle Jesmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing