We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget choice...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newcastle Jesmond Hotel
Brigsteer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good budget choice...”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a good budget choice for a short stay.
The hotel is basic but clean,the rooms small not at all luxurious but quiet and comfortable enough for a one or two night stopover.
The hotel claims to be refurbished but this obviously has not extended to replacing the very old very shabby carpets throughout the hotel or painting the scuffed paintwork on the stairwells - perhaps a work in progress....
The staff were warm,friendly,welcoming and efficient.
The free car park only has space for half a dozen cars - get there early if you want one!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel.
The hotel was refurbished a year and a half ago and is currently being repainted. Which has been agreed with the owner's to be an annual things to keep our standards high. So hopefully if you visit us again you will be able to see the improvements.
In winter, the carpet is an on going battle with a carpet cleaner. As unfortunately mud, oil, leaves and general dirt are walked into the hotel, coupled with general spillages by guests in their rooms. The carpets throughout the hotel are also only around a year & a half old but as you yourself identified, parts look much older. As a result some are being completely replaced as this is not the impression that we want to leave our guests with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    81
    30
    7
    12
See reviews for
24
59
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We needed somewhere to stay for one night for a night out in Newcastle and this fit the bill. Booked the quad room (2 double rooms and shared bathroom) for a reasonable price. The service was good on check in and out and they called cabs for us, etc.

The rooms themselves were ok, but a few cheap furnishings, and plug sockets not screwed on properly, lights not working, etc. took away from the experience. It needs to be cleaned more thoroughly also.

It was ok for one night, but would not like to stay longer really. The main bugbear being the "wet room", which was located in one of the two bedrooms. Luckily we knew our friends well, as we needed to go into their room to go to the toilet! The wet rooms need doing up properly with proper tiling, making it water tight. The shower would have been better being located at the toilet end with a screen. The door and carpet on the other side of the door were all mouldy!

All in all, jesmond itself is lovely, with bars, cafés and shops nearby, and the hotel ok for a one night stay, but needs some improvement.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJWPresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Yourself, along with others who have had a less than positive experience with the rooms in the hotel - have been traced to a couple of rooms. This information has been fed back to the owners and will hopefully be sorted very soon. In the short term we have a new maintenance partner so loose fittings etc are no more. I have reviewed the descriptions on the website also to make this clearer, and we also send out an email to everyone who books this room with a floor plan so that all guests are fully informed.
As always we encourage guests to speak to us directly or leave feedback as this helps us to solve the issue at the time or it may highlight a problem that is not apparent when cleaning the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip. Double room was clean and well worth the room rate. Conveniently placed for Metro and good selection of bars and restaurants on Osborne Road. Upon departure found that my car had flat battery but the hotel staff were fantastic and one of them allowed me to use jump leads from her car to start my engine. Will definitely return on my next visit to Newcastle. Thank You

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garfy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
As always, we are happy to help, even jump starting a car! I have sent your review to Susan and she is thrilled that you are thankful for her efforts to get you home. Look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Newcastle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Modern, clean looking decor. No bar. Comfortable looking hotel. Simple but perfectly adequate breakfast - but, oh the NASTY smelly wetroom. My 'double room for single use' was a box.. (dread to think what the single room is like... ) probably no more than 9 square feet. This was one of those times when you wonder who is laughing all the way to the bank? I should imagine the person who 'sold' this wetroom concept and the totally ridiculous sensor taps - which make it impossible to clean your teeth - unless you have a glass of course, which I didnt... By the time I left I felt sick with the damp, musty, drains smell. I took pictures of the black mould around the door which leached onto the bedroom carpet - not surprising as the shower was right next to the door (why??) and as you had to walk across a wet floor to use the toilet is it surprising there was a dark stain leading into the bedroom ... yuk. Was looking for a regular place in jesmond - I think I will keep looking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Many apologies for the experience that you have had with the wetroom. The design was meant to be modern and although this works in many rooms, there have been a couple where the design is flawed. We are in the process of changing this; replacing carpets, adding lever taps, relaying the wetroom floor and changing the seal. I know I cannot change your experience, but would like you to know that I am thankful for your review as if you don't have a great time, I need to know and what we can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

There was 5 of us girlies down for the weekend, (birthday bash) walking in to the hotel felt like being at home, especially with ANGIE... She's the bestest!... great location as the jesmond strip is right on our door step.. Made feel very welcoming!. Over all experience 100% satisfied... We will be back... :) ❤️

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StickyNicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thanks for your glittering review, I emailed Angie a copy of the review and she is delighted you had such a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Although we live fairly local to Jesmond we decided to stay overnight at this hotel. We were celebrating a special birthday with friends and had decided Jesmond was the place on this occasion! Ideally situated on Osbourne Street, it has a small car park at the rear. We were warmly welcomed by the friendly receptionist. The hotel was modern and clean. Whilst our room was very small it was fine for one night. We were at the back of the hotel and enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was self serve and perfectly adequate.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your review. If you decide to stay with us again, I would love to know how we could make your stay 5/5!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel was good all things considered. My room was very clean and the breakfast buffet was okay. The staff were friendly. My room was on the top floor and they helped me with my luggage - there's no elevator. I could hear everything from the rooms next door, which was a bit uncomfortable. The location was good. West Jesmond metro station is close by and there were lots of restaurants and shops near. Taxi drivers seem to mix this hotel with Jesmond hotel, which is good to know if you're arriving with taxi from the airport / train station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
I'm happy to see that my colleagues helped you with your luggage. The breakfast we offer is continental (cheeses, fruit, bread, crumpets, croissants, teas, coffee and so forth) and we have recently added hot plates of egg & beans to provide guests with a bit more variety outside the traditional offerings of a continental breakfast. I would love to know what we could have added to make it better for you. Similarly I see your sleep was interrupted. Our reception desk is manned 24 hours, so if you visit us again, please call and we can rectify the issue at the time. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#51 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#45 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Jesmond Hotel

Property: Newcastle Jesmond Hotel
Address: 105 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newcastle Jesmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 6 minute ride from Newcastle’s city center (and 5 minute walk from West Jesmond metro station) the Newcastle Jesmond Hotel offers a great city location in a leafy vibrant suburb.Newly refurbished, our little hotel offers stylish rooms at great value and free wifi throughout. All rooms are fitted with a 32inch flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities and an en suite wet room. Our on-site parking is free (first come first served) and nearby street parking available.Breakfast is a traditional continental (Breads, cereals inc porridge, fruit, cheese, crumpets, croissant with unlimited teas, coffee & fruit juices). Recently introduced hot plates for eggs or beans on toast giving a greater variety to get your morning started.Our location means we are close to both universities, 3 major hospitals (inc the Freeman) all of Newcastle’s business parks, and for our weekend travelers Jesmond itself boasts many bars, coffee shops, restaurants, delis & boutique shops. Not to mention the offerings of the city center itself with art galleries, historical sites & architecture, St James’ football ground and more.Whatever you come to Newcastle for, our knowledgeable & helpful staff will be able to advise you before, during & even after your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newcastle Jesmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing