We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newcastle Jesmond Hotel
Cumbria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely weekend stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend (23rd-25th May) for a friends wedding in Jesmond. The reception staff were lovely leading up to and on our stay. I had emailed prior to my stay asking for soya milk to be provided and it was arranged no problem and they printed out a map of the area so we could find the church the next morning. The room was clean and tidy with all the essentials needed for a short stay. I had a little trouble with the hot water from the shower but this was resolved quickly. I would definately stay here again next time I visit Jesmond.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larlleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
I'm glad that you found the Church ok - I must thank Google in part for that! If you come to Jesmond/Newcastle again we would love to see you. As always, please leave any requirements in the customer comments and we will do our best to fulfill! Many thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    81
    30
    6
    12
See reviews for
24
58
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here last night and were disappointed.

The bed sheets were covered in hair and had clearly not been changed. We found out at 11am when we went to bed and the duty manager who agreed and changed them.

The room is very small. The bathroom is poor- we didn't have hot water and on ringing reception it turned out the boiler was not working ( a fuse had gone).

The fan in the bathroom did not work and the room smelt of drains.

To be fair we were given a full refund, which we appreciated, but we never stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sandip1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Firstly, please accept my apologies for your overall experience.

This is clearly not the satisfaction level that we aim for.

Secondly, I must also thank you for bringing the water issue to my attention. After you called reception, a quick trip to the boiler room and a flick of the switch meant that the hot water was back up and running in about 2 minutes. Had you not called down we may have had further guest concerns, but as it allowed us to resolve the problem so quickly, you yourself confirmed the water was hot before I'd even got back to the desk to call you back. Again many thanks.

I wish you would have spoken to us regarding the room size, as a note to yourself and any other travelers reading this; although all the rooms have been accurately measured and sizes published. Images retaken to give our customers as much detail as possible, we fully appreciate that this is no substitute to seeing the rooms in person. If on arrival (not departure), a guest speaks to us after examining the room, and feels that it just isn't what they had imagined, we are more than happy to issue a full refund so they can find more suitable accommodation.

After the initial discussion regarding the sheets I suggested that we had reached an impasse. And had I have been in your position, I would have potentially come to the same conclusion as yourself. As I know my team, I know their room standards are impeccable. After your departure I investigated regardless. The key logs show that the cleaner was in the room you stayed in for around 25mins before the key logs showed her going into the next room on the housekeeping check list. The porter collected linens from this room and the duty manager who changed your sheet said the hair was long blonde hair (yours being dark). The cleaner who turned your room over also has long blonde hair. Again, I know this may not change your mind, but I would love you consider the evidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Delightful room even though it was 'a budget room'. Very high standard of furnishings, decorating and linen and spotlessly clean. Breakfast well laid out and staff very pleasant and helpful. Ideal location for metro into Newcastle or a variety of bars and restaurants in Jesmond.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Many many thanks for leaving such a lovely review. The Jesmond area is fantastic and I'm happy you experienced it. As always, it's great to hear that you found the team so friendly and helpful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel situated in a perfect area of Newcastle, a short taxi ride to the city centre. Immaculate rooms, great facilities, decor to a high standard, the staff are helpful, friendly and welcoming.. Very reasonably priced, I expected less and I was pleasantly surprised. Recommended, will be returning in June for sure.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank liam1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Brilliant to hear than you enjoyed your stay with us. The Jesmond area gets even better in the summer so June is a great time to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Booked through booking.com and cancelled on Feb 26th as i found a better deal for a stay on May 10th. Checked my bank and they had taken the full room rate 3 days before on the 7th May! This is supposed to be free cancellation up until 2pm the day before so why are they taking the money 3 days before and on a cancelled room?! Had to find the funds to pay for the other hotel as they took 2 days to refund the money would not book here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sueedwards13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
I am so so sorry that the money was taken. You are correct we offer free cancellation. It is 3 days prior - not 2pm the day before.
We take money earlier in order to reduce no-shows and chargeable cancellations.The money was taken in error as the cancellation wasn't processed. I have looked into this and although internal processes where adhered to, clearly the error still occurred and I can only apologise for the money being debited from your card.
You spoke to my colleague who checked and confirmed the error, and refunded you as soon as you called. The 2 days for the money to reach your account, I am afraid, is what you will find with any refund, from a hotel or shop as the banks hold funds for a certain time.
I know this explanation does not change anything, but I hope it clarifies that this was not done intentionally. It was simply processed as an arrival and we refunded as soon as we were made aware of our error.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Well I do not have a bad word to say about this place! I arranged a hen party for 36 people and eveyone had a great time (at least I think they did). From the moment I made an equiry Donna and the rest of the staff were so helpful. The facilities were great for such a large group and the staff were so accomodating.

I would definatly reccomend this place, especially if you are traveling in a large group.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
I'm so happy you had a great time. I must stay you were one of the most organised groups that has ever stayed with us, so you made our job easy. Thank you for your lovely review (and the cupcakes - me and the team thought they were amazing! And the flowers are still going strong too!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This review will get worse before it gets much better.. strap yourself in.

Let's get the obvious stuff out the way first. Check in was quick and painless.. Our room was juuuuuuust right for one nights stay and the bathroom was good even for a wet room- which seems to get peoples goat but for the life of me i cant understand why lol. It was just lovely the hotel. Great room and ample free parking.

And here's the bad part...My nights stay was actually quite bad. We were in room 401....our neighbors were in rooms 402 and 403...and the girls downstairs in 301...
It's just been a Bank Holiday weekend, and it was party time all over Newcastle. I'm from there..but live in Blackpool so came to town for the weekend. I was hoping for a quiet hotel, but we always had reservations anyway as it was bank holiday and perhaps it was just wishful thinking we'd get peace and quiet lol. The noise started right from the word go. We checked in at 4.15pm.. And were placed opposite and above a huge group of guys and girls. SO loud. Banging doors..shouting, music. You really could hear every word they were saying. We let it slip as it was "getting ready" noise and knew it would pass.

We left ourselves for the night around 8pm...arrived back at 12.15am. They were still out but not for long. The noise started right back up again. Again we resisted calling reception. But other guests were obviously expressing their concerns as around 4.30am the night porter came up and banged on their door mentioning that police would be involved shortly if they didn't stay quiet. Quiet they stayed for all of 45mins. The sun was coming up...I'd not slept at all.. My boyfriend was very grumpy as he had to drive us home. They were still shouting and slamming doors at 6.30am when i myself finally snapped and dialed reception demanding to know why they hadn't been ejected from their room yet. I imagine the porter had his hands full so disn't call back after that.

They have a strict 3 times warning policy. They'd only been warned once i think. But personally i felt they should have been out much sooner as the noise had gone on for such a long length of time.

ANYWAY. It goes quiet again for about 2 n half hours (golden time let me tell you) Then SLAM! The doors started slamming again. I just sat up awake and switched my alarm off what did i need it for any rate? They finally left the hotel at 10.45pm....5 mins before we did. I'm thankful i didn't run into them as i think i would have caused a bit of a scene..That and i was uttering thoughts of murdering said boys.

Ok here's where it gets much much better i why i gave the hotel an near perfect score!

I left a note at reception (as it was empty) about my bad nights stay. I was nice about it and polite. Perhaps why i got a great response from them. But left it in view so they'd see it. The same day i got an email saying how very sorry they were about it. They explained why they hadn't ejected the guys yet- the 3 warning policy. And also stated that lessons will be learned on dealing with disruptive guests in future. Then also refunded %50 of our stay.

Then i replied saying how refreshing it was to get such a speedy response and thanked them for the kind gesture of refunding %50. Which by the way...MANY places just would never do. Then i got another email just today from them following up my concerns and going even further and offering me %25 off my next stay AND free breakfasts! Now i have to say...that's above and beyond service. You may think that it all would have been sorted in the first place if they'd just ejected the guys but no.. They made a mistake... Admitted their short falls and tried their very best in rectifying it. THAT to me is the very meaning of service. I work for a hotel myself and its difficult to get it right all the time.

So i just had to give the hotel the credit they deserve. The staff were spot on and its obvious the managers want you to know their working on your issues. I know next time they'll take care of us and do their utmost to make it right. I WILL be back as the hotel was lovely. Just maybe's not so much on a busy weekend =)

So stay here and rest assured that if the very worst happens (because it can at ANY HOTEL you stay at) They will rectify it. That is worth a stay itself. Thanks Newcastle Jesmond Hotel xxxx

Room Tip: Make sure there's no big groups around your room. Prepare for a long night! EARPLUGS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, General Manager at Newcastle Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Many thanks leaving such a detailed review. I am so happy that you recognised we do our best to resolve a problem. If this fails we will always look to compensate a guest; as long as we have been given the opportunity to try and rectify a problem. I can only apologise about the experience and I am happy that you feel more valued than perhaps you did at the time. Again, many thanks for taking the time to give such a fair account of the whole situation and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#50 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#51 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Jesmond Hotel

Property: Newcastle Jesmond Hotel
Address: 105 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newcastle Jesmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 6 minute ride from Newcastle’s city center (and 5 minute walk from West Jesmond metro station) the Newcastle Jesmond Hotel offers a great city location in a leafy vibrant suburb.Newly refurbished, our little hotel offers stylish rooms at great value and free wifi throughout. All rooms are fitted with a 32inch flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities and an en suite wet room. Our on-site parking is free (first come first served) and nearby street parking available.Breakfast is a traditional continental (Breads, cereals inc porridge, fruit, cheese, crumpets, croissant with unlimited teas, coffee & fruit juices). Recently introduced hot plates for eggs or beans on toast giving a greater variety to get your morning started.Our location means we are close to both universities, 3 major hospitals (inc the Freeman) all of Newcastle’s business parks, and for our weekend travelers Jesmond itself boasts many bars, coffee shops, restaurants, delis & boutique shops. Not to mention the offerings of the city center itself with art galleries, historical sites & architecture, St James’ football ground and more.Whatever you come to Newcastle for, our knowledgeable & helpful staff will be able to advise you before, during & even after your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newcastle Jesmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing