We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it here!”

Las Iguanas - Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: It's been packed from day one, the new hot spot for lunch, dinner and cocktails. It's just the place to drop in for supper before or after a night out at the Theatre Royal too.
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I love it here!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is one of my favourite places to eat in Newcastle. The food is always really good - lots of wonderful tastes going on. My partner and I don't have big appetites so we find the 3 tapas for £14 perfect for us. That and a couple of glasses of wine and we are very happy bunnies.

The only downside is the noise when it's busy - maybe they need to add some soft furnishings to soak up some of the echoing chatter.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,015
    580
    221
    51
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, pretty loud once full!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing food and good value, I always book before I go, once the restaurant is. Full it gets abit loud and I found myself shouting my conversation. Alcoholic drinks can be slightly overpriced for what you get but the food is great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disgusting burger”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

DONT ORDER THE BURGER! dry bun, dry burger that is the half size of the bun, lots of gristle and tough bits of fat, macdonald's makes a better burger and they make the worst burgers!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank don j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasIguanasHQ, Owner at Las Iguanas - Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We're sorry to hear you didn't like your burger Don! You don't mention whether you told us at the time so we could replace it with an alternative dish- we'd always encourage you to do that. Our burgers are 100% UK and Irish beef and I'm sorry that they weren't to your personal taste. Lucy- Las Iguanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Las Iguanas”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great choice of food, service good, attentive without being in your face and Happy Hour 2 4 1 cocktails good value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I'm sorry to say revisiting was a mistake, we found the starter chicken wings smothered in gloomy gravy, needed a good wash after,finger bowl not enough! Main course burger served on a white bun which was very soggy.
Didn't stay for desert, whole night spoilt,very busy so guess hey havnt time to prepare everything fresh

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tileman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasIguanasHQ, Owner at Las Iguanas - Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your food as much as usual. We prepare fresh food and sauces in the kitchen daily and would always encourage you to let us know if something isn't to your liking at the time so we can put it right there and then. I hope you will change your mind and give us another try in the future. Lucy- Las Iguanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Iguanas - Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Las Iguanas - Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing