We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Vita

La Vita
Ranked #190 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
tyneandwear
Level Contributor
130 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very nice ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We visited tonight 6.30, the restaurant was busy with a good atmosphere, the staff were nice the waitress was lovely and chatty.
We had deep fried mozzarella and potato skins to start, Matriciana pasta and a vulcano calzone pizza for our mains and ice cream to finish all food was really nice and very fresh.
We will return very soon

Helpful?
1 Thank canaryclang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    79
    30
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bit of a rush job”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

1st. They don't take card payment.
2nd. If you go for lunch, they close at 3. They will tell you this while you are finishing your main, and will promptly bring your bill.
3rd. As it was close to 3 there was no offer of dessert. Given the choice I would have had something sweet as my meal was really over powered with black pepper.
4th. As a cheap and cheerful restaurant I don't expect fantastic presentation, but risotto slapped on a flat plate? Come on, I'm sure there is a bowl somewhere in that kitchen!

Pretty much a case of 'you get what you pay for'.

Helpful?
Thank rannardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another Italian experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This has been a wonderful month for eating out and thanks to Living Social deals we had a lovely meal at lunch time today at La Vita. On the offer we had a starter ,a pizza or pasta and finally an ice-cream or coffee.My sister and son chose two wonderful starters and I regretted my choice of salmon fishcakes as I had a taste of their starters and they were quite outstanding. I'd like to go back to choose either the bruschetta or the aubergine.My pizza was excellent and even though they had no goat's cheese it was still delicious and no problem to bring half of it home (my appetite is not what it used to be.)Three of us finished off with a delicious ice-cream and the two young girls who served us were so lovely and accomodating .Thank you for La Vita for a lovely Thursday treat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We used a groupon voucher. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the atmosphere good and best of all the food great. Even the house white wine was good and a reasonable price. All in all great value and we will return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ged2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't say "Monkey's Blood" anymore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Another night, another voucher, but why do Living Social make things so complicated? If it wasn't for the help and good humour of Ashley, I doubt if we would have enjoyed ourselves half as much!
Starting off with our own peculiarity of a couple of pizza garlic breads with chilli, above and beyond the normal restaurant order. Then into the starters, a couple of bruschetta's, mozzarella and garlic prawns.
Next the main course, two rib eye steaks and two pasta dishes. Rounded off with two coffees and two ice creams, one with "monkeys blood" - oops, sorry, can't say that any more as it's definitely non PC and discriminates against monkeys, or was it MPs, can't remember now.
The whole meal topped off with a bottle of wine and a couple of beers with the bill working out at a little more than £30.
Yes, we'll go back again!
At these prices you don't really need the complication of a voucher.
A quarter of what we paid earlier in the week and the food was just as good, although the view might not have been.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vita also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to La Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing