We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse”
Review of Jesmond Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jesmond Park Hotel
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Weekend here with fellow male friends, but we wanted somewhere that was not one of the many run down stag and hen hell holes in the city centre so we found this place online and this was a good find.

Great value and better then we expected it to be. Upon arrival there was a little confusion/misunderstanding over the bed requirements between ourselves and the hotel (generally us grown men do not want to share a double bed!) but the staff came up with a solution and were helpful.

Rooms are nicer than they appear to be on the photographs and I felt that the hotel was underpricing them! All clean and comfortable. Free parking outside.

Breakfast did not have the best quality ingredients but it was edible and for the price we paid you cant expect much.

Jesmond is a really nice area with a few decent bars on the main road. Its a little out of the city but only a short cab ride into the city. Before heading out in the evening we enjoyed a few drinks in the small bar area at the hotel served by the friendly night porter who we chatted to both evenings.

Overall a nice guesthouse that is not going to stretch anyone's budget. Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kevnffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Staff were really friendly and helpful, room was clean and smelt fresh also came with a nice flat screen TV with free view which was good also has wifi for guests which is handy. All in had a nice stay and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank connord933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel on the night of 6th December 2013 when visiting daughter at University. Overall the place had the feel of a family run hotel. Okay so if you are looking for the amenities of one of the larger chains this is not for you.

If on the other hand you want to stay in a hotel where the staff cannot help enough, are friendly, welcoming and all in all it was an enjoyable stay.

I would definitely stay here again as would many others as evinced by the many letters of thanks from former guests on the noticeboard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here with my 3 yr old this weekend, Fri night saw girls screaming and shouting until late, with one then throwing up outside our room, screaming into her phone that she was going to kill herself because she couldn't get in her room. Management the next morning said they'd deal with it, but Sat night still saw them running up and down stairs screaming again. When asked for some refund was told I should have expected noise on a weekend and also told I should have come down during the night to complain, so they wanted me to bring my little girl down three flights off stairs in the middle of the night to find someone. Also made to feel like I was in the wrong being told the 'girls' had been so polite when spoken to the previous day. I booked this based on the good reviews thinking it was a family friendly hotel, clearly not though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

booked here for a few days earlier in the year as we up for daughters graduation (1st class if yr wondering). yes its basic but its near enough to the nightlife but quiet. good value, breakfast was yummy, the staff are very friendly and helpful. nice comfy room. cant fault it really. have a drink at the bar with Bill or Bob of an evening, two genuine friendly fellows. will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

stopped here Saturday to Monday and at first didn't expect much, with it being cheap but it was excellent, staff did there best to please and made sure we had everything. The room was nice and big with a TV which we didn't expect, large bathroom was great and it was in a good location not too far away from shops and didn't cost too much to get to the Centre of Newcastle, the breakfast was fantastic the man that served us couldn't have done any more he was very kind and attentive. If you are looking for a cheap and pleasant place to stay not too far from the main night life then this is the place to stay would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you want to go out drinking order your taxi early because they do get booked up quickly because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 other boys at the weekend and have to say it was an excellent find. We weren't the quietest I'm sure yet were always greeted with a big smile by the owner. We just got taxis in and out I city centre though might be walkable

Friendly staff and a good breakfast would stay again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Stantheman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#72 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#44 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#54 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Park Hotel

Address: 74-76 Queens Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £32 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Jesmond Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jesmond Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing