We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reza Persian Restaurant Westgate St Newcastle u Tyne” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reza Restaurant

Reza Restaurant
Ranked #131 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reza Persian Restaurant Westgate St Newcastle u Tyne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Visited on Saturday evening. A very positive experience. Friendly and welcoming. Delicious starters (combi of 3 for £10). Main courses principally lamb and chicken, but with vegetarian options. I had the traditional Iranian Lamb Stew and my wife chicken in spices with saffron rice- all washed down with a decent pinot noir. Very good ambience and reasonable enough prices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    24
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasty Persian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Visited for the first time with friends on a Saturday night 8pm - appeared to be no need to book, although restaurant was reasonably busy. My overall impression was favourable. Tasty food, well priced and pleasant service if a little slow. I found the menu quite vegetarian focused for the starters and mainly lamb choices for the main, which I assume is typically Persian. I had a Spinach and yoghurt dish to start which was tasty and would have been the perfect accompaniment to my main meal. My husband had lamb koftas which he enjoyed and our friends had aubergine dishes which were also good. We ordered two nans to accompany the starters - one would have sufficed but definitely complimented the dishes. Mains were served with either nan, rice or chips and salad, good portion sizes and between £7.50 - £13 so great value for a restaurant. I had a chicken and lamb kebab which was very tasty and I am not a massive lamb fan so that's definitely a compliment. The others had a mix of lamb/chicken kebabs or stew which they all enjoyed. Mains were a little dry but still delicious. £44 per couple including 2 bottles of house red and tip. Would definitely return at some point in the future. Do watch out for the wine glasses very distinctive!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank fiesta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Enjoyed a lovely meal before going to a concert, very fresh ingredients, well presented, tasty and a good price. Service and cleanliness of restaurant excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snapeshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Persian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Nicely presented restaurant with great food. They also serve wine which is a bonus. The one comment I would make is that the menu descriptions don't always accurately reflect the nature of the dish. The Persian casserole was almost a soup with meat but it was delicious anyway.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stuffed Peppers to die for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Thursday night, and Reza was pretty empty. The welcome was warm and friendly, with a good choice of dishes (all with explanations as to what they were for those unfamiliar with Persian cuisine).

We opted for the shared starter of 3 dishes for £10 - stuffed peppers, potato supreme and aubergine dip with a nan bread. All delicious - the stuffed pepper was amazing! For my main course I went for the chicken on the bone marinaded in lemon and saffron, with rice. Sadly, the chicken was slightly pink on the larger bits but when I mentioned this to the lady serving she didn't charge us for this dish and was very apologetic. My partner chose a traditional Persian lamb stew with chick peas and aubergines and he was not disappointed - excellent portion size and very tasty.

The bill came to £39 (of which £14 was beer!) - excellent value. We would definitely go back again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chez_SocialMediaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reza Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Reza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing