We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticked a lot of boxes...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Ticked a lot of boxes...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here for a girls weekend away. The location is very handy if arriving by train, which we did, as its so close to Central station. I am sure the hotel gives advice for those travelling by car.

Welcome was warm by the staff. Check in was very straight forward, we were early and only one room was ready. We asked that when they allocated our second room could they please put it close to the one we already had. We went up to store our bags in the one room and noticed there was an interconnecting room next door.

When we returned later that day to get ready for the evening and get the key for our second room we asked if they could possibly give us the interconnecting room - they were very accommodating and did. There was only one interconnecting room on the first floor.

Not all rooms are twins, most are doubles so if you are non-couples you're best giving them plenty of notice if you would prefer twins. There is also some 3 bedded rooms.

Both rooms were at the back on the first floor. We couldn't hear traffic, street noise or trains.

The rooms were excellent, had everything you need. There is a safe in the bed base which we didn't see until we were leaving. The ensuites are wet rooms with grey slate floors and glass sliding doors. The shower was great and soap dispensers very easy to use as well as being stylish! Full size plug in hair dryers in a drawstring bag - not the rubbish type on a wall in the bathroom. Three metal coat hangers on a rack (no wardrobe), shelf space, telephone and stool. Beds were very comfortable.

Breakfast was good; hot and cold, juice, cereals and toast. Tea and coffee is all help yourself - £6.95 if you pre-book the day before or £8.95 if you tip up in the morning.

Check out very easy and they even kept our bags for us until mid afternoon when we went back on route to the train station. No charge for storage.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CantSingforToffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    380
    129
    35
    28
See reviews for
88
341
70
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north east england
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and without booking.com, I wouldn't have even known about this hotel. The hotel is in a great location, right next to central station and close to all city centre attractions. Check-in was fine and the rooms are very clean, even though quite minimalistic but have everything you would need for a short stay. There was no wardrobe though an a couple of extra pillows wouldn't have gone amiss. The bathroom was very small but the shower was great even though the whole bathroom was soaked afterwards as there was no shower tray just drains in the bathroom floor. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel but it did serve food all day and the menu was reasonably priced. I would stay here again but would look for somewhere closer to park as we parked in Dean street ncp but should have parked in the station long stay car park.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Other reviews have said it all really. The staff are outstandingly helpful and nice, the hotel is sparkling clean, beds comfy, railway not noisy on our weekend, breakfast fine. Had a snack and an evening meal and they were not great tho OK.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sueandallan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I only stayed the one night but that was enough to want to stay again! It is all very modern and clean,.. The rooms were really nice for what we paid, we couldn't have found better. Very close to all bars and amentities. Staff extremely helpful, booked our taxis, even ordered us food at 1am! The only thing I would advise is that is has no parking of its own. However we found parking relatively easy in the end, and we will no doubt return later this year!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed here for a recent conference in Gateshead . . .easy walking of car parks, train station, restaurant and Gateshead Conference centre

Staff were simply brilliant - friendly, attentive, professional and clearly enjoy their work

Room design is somewhat unusual but works great and love the breakfasts

Room Tip: Just ask the staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retsehcniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed here for around 5 weeks on a business trip. I took a punt at Sleeperz as it was close to my work place and near the city centre. I really didn’t know what to expect as i didn’t look around at other hotels too much. I thought id spend a week at Sleeperz whilst explore abit more and then make a decision. I didn’t have to change my mind.

The Good:
Service is great and staff are very helpful and friendly
The room is very clean (as its brand new!)
The breakfast quality is good, though choice is limited but sufficient
The location is great, close to city centre, next to station etc
Price is very reasonable and unlimited wifi is included in the price
The staff really make you feel welcome and look after your very well


The Bad:
The hotel is located right by the railway tracks which causes some disturbance overnight. I had my room changed to facing the front which was much better.
There is no cupboard space to hide away your clothes. A hanging rail is provided and its fine for a weekend stay but for me it was not ideal. The exec suite though has more space, the hanging rail is the same.
There is no hotel parking but since its town centre, plenty of car parks around the corner.

I’ve really had a splendid stay at this hotel and next time I do come up – there isnt anywhere else I’ll stay. A special thanks to all the staff for looking after me, you all are amazing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Property: Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing