We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value, eager staff, although no bathtub and safe didn't work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Vancouver
Level Contributor
108 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“excellent value, eager staff, although no bathtub and safe didn't work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Young, enthusiastic staff in a modern-style hotel, close to the station, centre, and quay. Room and bathroom were a bit small, no tub and the rigid shower barrier was not big enough to prevent splashing onto some of the bathroom floor. The safe didn't work although staff tried to fix it the first day; it remained unfixed during our 2-night stay. Breakfast was fine. For what we paid, this hotel was very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    383
    130
    36
    28
See reviews for
89
344
70
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a Saturday. Wonderful location, close to the train station, bars, clubs & shops - hotel must have great sound proofing as we didn't hear a sound all night!
The staff were very helpful & friendly.
The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable & had everything we needed.
Breakfast (optional @ £6.95) was great with plenty of fresh food on offer.
Will definitely stay again & recommend to anyone travelling to Newcastle!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Sleeperz is literally less than 5 minutes walk from the train station. There's a Metro and taxi rank at the station too and with the hotel being a short walk from the centre of town it's location is perfect.
This was my first time at a Sleeperz hotel and I almost went with what I knew and opted for one of Newcastle's Premier Inns. I'm glad I didn't. There are similarities; the hotel seems huge, the rooms are compact, the bed was decent and the prices relatively low but Sleeperz is slightly more stylish and up-to-date than the anonymous Premier Inn and on this occasion worked out 20% cheaper than the alternative.
Being there on a Friday night I expected to be kept awake by hen and stag do's, but we didn't hear a sound all night, which was an unexpected bonus.

All in all, a pleasant surprise, and if I need a reasonable room for the night again, I'll be choosing Sleeperz over Premier Inn every time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGrahamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Yes I am the birthday girl mentioned by Maureen Baird. What a great place to stay,clean, minimalistic and welcoming. Lovely helpful staff, especially Tesswho is very Informative and friendly..Thank you for making my week end with my extended family special. Love the card and chocolates- a great personmal touch

Room Tip: we stayed in the room overlooking the flats opposite.Heard early morning traffic but was not disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylou2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on 26-27 May 2012.

This is the 3rd time that I have stayed in Sleeperz Newcastle and it is still brilliant. The location is amazing, 5 mins from the station and 2 mins around the corner from The Revolution bar, Floritas, Madam Koo's etc etc. it is very quiet, clean and modern.

Don't get me wrong, the rooms are not the biggest but everything is functional and modern and no more than you really need for a couple of nights stay.

Again, without doubt, what makes this hotel stand out from the crowd is the customer service. They take the simple, non patronising approach of engaging in friendly chit chat when at reception and fall over themselves to go that extra mile to meet residents' needs, regardless of the day or night(morning)!!!

We have booked 2 more stays later this year already as the secret is out of the bag regarding just how good this hotel actually is when visiting Newcastle.

Keep up the great customer service!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher up on the road side of the hotel is prob better than the railway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeFlyingScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Although I use TripAdvisor regularly, this is the first ever review as I'm driven to write because the customer service excelled and the hotel itself isfirst class. We had 3 couples (ages 70+ 65+ and 50+) who were meeting up for 2 nights to celebrate a 70th birthday. Probably not the best choice of city at the weekend; incredibly busy with stag and hen do's, however, the hotel and staff were a life line. Very new hotel, great location, tasteful minimalist decor, comfy beds with everything you need in compact - the rooms are not big. Tess the Manageress and her team could not do enough for us. On being out on the Saturday evening, I called and asked Tess if someone could go to my room and take the bottle of champage and cake that we had brought for the birthday girl and perhaps have some sandwiches for us coming back. When we arrived, a table was set with candles, champagne on ice and a fab spread of food at a very reasonable price, there was even a birthday card and box of chocolates from the hotel in the birthday girls room!!. You dont get that often!! I would absolutely recommend this hotel if you visit Newcastle which is a lovely city (avoiding the stag and hen do's) and say hi to Tess and her excellent team.

Room Tip: Ask to be put on the opposite side of the train line. Although it's not too noisy, but the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAUREEN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed in the hotel at may 18th to 20th. The rooms were clean and very modern, most of the staff were very pleasant and friendly. However the manager was rude and was very unpleasant asking us to be quiet all the time, even though he knew we was on a hen weekend. There was no music on in the hotel bar it was boring and bland.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyD485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Property: Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing