We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a great budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

What a lovely surprise ! Seriously whenever I find a little location like this I just have to tell the world about it! This is one of ‘those’ hotels which will be at the forefront of revenue income in the years to come purely because its good ! First the context – we went to Sleeperz as we were heading to the Bruce Springsteen gig at the Stadium of Light (which was legendary btw!). We needed a cheapish but nice place near to the train station so that we could get our head down or after the show for an early start back on the train to work the next day. The hotel is 4 mins walk away form the train station just head out of the mian entrance and turn right down to Westgate Rd and it is slightly tucked away so you have to keep walking a bit before you stumble on to it from the station. It was cold and wet and we needed to be heated and cheered before we headed off to see The Boss. Straight away we were greated with the Newcastle friendly charm that really, genuinely, honestly made us feel welcome. Even though there were tonnes of people in front of us we only had to wait a couple of mins and were checked in within 30 secs (nice). All information that you need to know about the hotel is given to you in the cover for the key card and the staff are very informative and welcoming. The place was rammed with Springsteen fans (seriously busy) who were making use of the bar facilities and at no time did we feel that the hotel staff gave us any thing except a warm and professional welcome. I have read the other reviews here where the Stag/hen night brigade may have gotten a rough ride by the staff. To be honest I don’t belive it – I don’t think that the staff are that kind of people – however this is NOT the hotel for the Stag/Hen night brigade. The reason for this is that the rooms are tightly packed together that any party in the rooms (loud noise in the corriders etc) would simply destroy it for the rest of the customers. That said the rooms are superb – yes this is a budget hotel but th double bed was so comfortable that I had a great nights sleep in it and the shower unit was not a pod (yes it was small) but it was a small shower etc. My only issue was that the frosted glass on the toilet door was not frosted enough so I had to suffer the indignity of watching my partner taking a dump as I tried to relax on the bed before the gig (jeez!) – but other than that I would heartily recommended this hotel. The only negative point about the entire trip was that we had to travel back to Birmingham on a Virgin train (which was hell - so will write a review about that in due course !)

Room Tip: Take advantage of the breakfast - its worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carl427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

976 - 982 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

The hotel is a lovely modern hotel with compact rooms. The bathrooms very modern incorporating a wet room. The only negative is I had a terrible nights sleep due to such hard beds.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrsgrebe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Great budget hotel. Lovely staff, warm room. Blows travel lodge and others out of the water. Would use again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed here last night in a family room with my Mum and Sister as we were going to the Arena on the evening to see Westlife, decided to make a day/night of it and stay over. Hotel is situated within close walking distance to Train station which was great. Very modern and clean and staff were all really lovely and friendly. Rooms not huge but all you do is sleep in them and get ready the next day and it was a nice room. Slight criticism would be badly designed bathroom, frosted glass door with toilet directly behind it so those in the room can see clearly someone sitting on the loo!!! All it would have take would be to have moved the loo or the door. Still, a lovely stay and would definitely re book, loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jelly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Sleeperz is a very decent place for a short stay on business, close to the train station and a few minutes walking distance from the Sage conference centre. It is crisp clean, new, kind of cool, modern design. The room was small and with minimalistic decor but comfortable and well-equipped. The glass planel separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom is too narrow, resulting in water splashing all over the floor. Breakfast is very good with English and continenta selection (£6.95) but make sure you book before, otherwise there is an extra charge. Overall, recommended for a budget business trip to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Fantastic hotel, great location for all the Newcastle shopping, restaurant and nightlife. Spotlessly clean, discrete sized rooms, but perfectly laid out with open plan hanging and shelving. Who needs doors for a short stay? Wet room with a fabulous shower, decent hairdryer and we had great views of the trains going over the bridge. Bright and airy. Some reviews had mentioned noise, but the only thing we heard was the shower in the wet room above that did sound a little like the water was about to come through, but it was quite watertight. Frosted glass sliding door to the wet room and toilet may have made some people a little self conscious, but it was decently frosted. Tea and coffee in rooms and good mirrors. Friendly staff at reception and nice little eating/drinking area, modern, basic, but functional and bright. Quite a lot of hen parties staying, but probably the same all over on a Saturday night and it really wasn't a problem. All in all a perfect stay. Couldn't fault it

Room Tip: Ask for one a few floors up level with the bridge, fab views and not noisy at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We had an excellent overnight stay here. The hotel is conveniently situated for the station, and not too far from the quayside. The rooms we had, on the second floor, were very quiet.

When we arrived, I discovered I'd booked a double room, instead of a twin. My mistake. The reception staff were happy to transfer our booking to a twin. When we saw the twin room, there was no power socket next to the bed. Unfortunately, I need a power socket for medical equipment at night. Back at Reception I asked if they could lend me an extension cable. They didn't have one, but offered us two interconnecting double rooms, for the price of the double room we'd originally booked. They also offered us coffee whilst they made up the rooms. I was delighted by their helpful, generous, and cheerful response.

One of the double rooms was a typical inner city "compact" room, with all mod cons but little room to swing a cat. The second room was a disabled-accessible room, and was very generously proportioned. My only criticism would be that the room safes (big enough for a laptop computer) are at floor level.

On checking in, we were offered a breakfast option at a discounted rate. The breakfast was plentiful, and good value.

During the evening, we walked past the Premier Inn Quayside, and were very pleased to have chosen Sleeperz instead, as the quayside area was quite boisterous.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, facing away from the street, and had a very peaceful time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan-from-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,529 reviews
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Newcastle
easyHotel Newcastle
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £41 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing