We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact. Clean. Cheap. Better than Travelodge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Rooms Re quite compact and the couple I stayed in had office overlooking them (right into the bedroom) but they are generally modern and clean with a decent TV and wet room style shower room.

For the money, way better than Travelodge although some signs of hen/stag do wear and tear (both rooms instated in had a couple of stains on the curtains).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

905 - 911 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

My wife and I were attending a gig at the metro radio arena and were travelling by train so wanted a hotel close to the railway station. This hotel is ideally located about 5 minutes walk away. The hotel is quite new and looks really modern inside. The rooms also were modern with a comfy bed.
We paid for extra for breakfast but was only £7 per person and was fresh and tasty. Overall we had a pleasant stay and although it was only one night I would certainly stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay right in the heart of the city centre

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Ideal spot for a night oot on the toon. Really central, a few minutes walk from the train station and nightlife at a great price. Hotel was modern and spotless and the staff were friendly and helpful. Strict night security on the door made it a safe option for females with names being checked off against rooms on our return. Will stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarabelle1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This very modern hotel is a couple of hundred paces from Newcastle's central station and about the same distance from the river Tyne and its attractions. Our street-facing room gave us a great view of St Nicholas' cathedral and the castle keep; both a mere stroll away.

Our room, up on the fifth floor, had just enough space for a double bed and a tiny en suite loo, wash basin and shower. You get a TV, free wi-fi, half a dozen shelves and four coat hangers for your clothes. There's a kettle and the usual tea and coffee stuff.

The decor is jazzy, the staff are friendly and the location served our purposes perfectly. What's not to like? Not much, really. I suspect that (like many modern hotels) the walls are thin and that if you're cursed with noisy neighbours you'd hear everything. Cooked breakfasts (£6.95) are on the pricy side and there's better quality and value in town. The room's compactness might be an issue for some. One person, stopping one night isn't likely to have too many complaints, but two people, over several nights might find that compact morphs into cramped.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velopraeceptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Fully agree with a positive comments this little gem has received from fellow travellers. Great - really great location, and clean comfortable room at budget price. We'll be back - definitely, Newcastle is a great place for a City Break.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GordonfromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Sleeperz is very reasonably priced: £65 late booking for one Saturday night double. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful; food and drink available 24 hours; room and public areas attractive and spotlessly clean. The room was quiet, with comfortable bed and views of the cathedral, castle and Tyne Bridge. Second time we have stayed there and will certainly go again.

Room Tip: Third floor from 313 up seem to be best for quiet and beautiful views; higher floors probably even b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanpym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Chose Sleeperz as good price - £60 midweek advanced purchase, as just a short walk from Newcastle Central Station, supported by good reviews.

It is indeed just a short walk and overlooks the northbound end / car park of the station if you get a rear room.

Check in was delightful - bubbly, personable lass keen to make sure welcome added value and felt genuine. She was mortified a few minutes later when I reappeared as my key did not work.

Once in room (top floor overlooking station) you see how cleverly designed it is. The room is small / compact with limited storage - everything flat (TV, hangers etc against wall), safe under bed and small bathroom - rather wetroom.

Some of the lights did not work, aircon not great, and bathroom shower flooded bathroom. That aside shower was great and room ideal for one - I think for two it might have felt a bit tight - especially the bathroom if you were new aquaintences - frosted glass door, close to bed, weak ventilation ....

Had great night sleep, quiet and comfy, check out easy and quick - did not try breakfast.

Would certainly recomend for sole travellers, could do with better maintenance checks / TLC.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
easyHotel Newcastle
easyHotel Newcastle
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £39 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing