We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is very different to anywhere I have stayed before. I found it nice inside and the rooms modern and the space was untilised well given this isnt a particularly large building. It's very ikea esq with the use of color and space. Location wise you will be hard pushed to get anything better for a better price. I will almost certainly stay here again. Slightly dissapointing that I had to "sign in" at nights it felt like being at boarding school or staying in halls. My friend was allowed into the room before we went out and not allowed after we returned. Brilliant that we were able to check out and leave our bags in the hotel for a considerable time before we had to catch our train. All in all it's a nice, modern hotel that i'll use again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamster11uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks for your review, and thank you for saying you would use us again. We do take the safety and security of our guests and staff very seriously hence the quick name check late at night, when you returned to the hotel. Regarding extra guests in rooms, our rooms have a specified number of occupants for insurance and fire regulation purposes, if you are at the maximum occupancy for your room type then I am sure you will understand that we have to abide by these restrictions. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    391
    133
    36
    27
See reviews for
93
356
71
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel was ok, quite clean. Reception staff were nice. The hotel is modern but it has some issues. First of all, the rooms are very small. I felt a bit claustrophobic. Also there isn't a wardrobe, u just have 2 shelves and 4 hangers, not room for more, I guess. Another thing I didn't like was the bathroom. Glass door, very close to the bed, and very tiny. U can see what the person inside is doing and honestly, I need more privacy. And something else, when you have a shower, the water runs all over the bathroom floor so afterwards you have to be careful even when you only want to get in to wash your hands. I stayed 2 nights and the relation quality-price wasn't good. If it had been cheaper it would have been ok but for that price, no way. And you can't open the windows at all to air the room, which is something I didn't like either so, I am not going to say it was terrible but I am not going back there. I am going to Newkie in 3 days but this time I chose another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks for your review. We constantly check and compare prices to make sure that we are always competitive. As with other hotels our prices change regularly to reflect the supply and demand in the city. We also do great offers & promotions on our website, so its always worth checking regularly or give us a call to get information on our best rates. Our wet rooms have under floor heating so they do dry fairly quickly, also as the hotel is fully air conditioned and close to the train station, it makes sense to have sealed windows for both heat (and cooling) and sound insulation. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Booked this hotel as was looking for both a base for exploring Northumberland, and. Newcastle city centre hotel for shopping. Firstly location was perfect. A few hundred yards from Newcastle station. Staff were friendly and very helpful, pointing out route shortcuts to the main tourist areas. Room was clean, but due to its irregular shape was considerably smaller than the budget competition hotels. Breakfast was not only extra, but fairly expensive, although we were offered a money off voucher when we checked in. We decided not to eat at the hotel, as there are numerous places nearby at a fraction of the cost. If you are looking for a good clean comfortable city centre hotel, then Sleeperz ticks many boxes, but it felt more like a cheap business hotel than a family leisure hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast which includes a full cooked (eggs, sausages, bacon, beans, tomatoes) and continental buffet (including fresh fruit salads, freshly baked breads & pastries and much more) offers great value at just £6.95 (when booked on arrival) including fresh bean to cup coffee, teas, and fruit juice, I am not sure that you can find better value elsewhere for a comparable breakfast. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed Saturday 14th dec. We were checked in by lovely receptionist who was most helpful. We were in room 209 and found it very pleasant, colourful and very modern. Hubby was on a works night out whilst I shopped then chilled in the comfy room. I thought the location was fab and would most defiantly stay here again. Maybe try Sleeperz Edingburgh next time? Thanks also for keeping our luggage the next day whilst we visited the quayside market. Defiantly a lovely place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thanks for your review, we’d love you to try out our Edinburgh Hotel (Cityroomz Edinburgh); the shopping is even better! Give us a call we’ll find a great deal for you. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hi everyone. Stayed here on Dec 9. Solo. The location is very good. 5 minutes walk from railway station. I got room 211. Unlucky me. I'll tell you why. The room was on second floor. One of the walls is a big double glazed window looking onto the main road. The hotel staff were courteous and check in was smooth. Now the cubicle..called bathroom cum toilet. Very very small. I am spongy but no fat. It is truly difficult to move inside the loo. I realised the glass panel that separated the shower from the toilet was detached from the wall and was held by a weak prong from the ceiling. The loo is open from the top. So if two people are staying in the room, one will smell the waft when the loo is used by the other. Anyway, I returned from a gig. Binned my left over food in the loo. I returned only to slip on floor and my head banged the glass ceiling. The whole thing fell on me. I went flat and crossed my hands to soften the impact and so I wasn't hurt. I reported this to the reception. I was offered another room, but I refused. In the morning, I requested for a refund and the manager did exactly that. Thank you, Mr Armstrong. Nothing great about breakfast. Slightly better that the hospital canteen.

Room Tip: Please check the big glass panel in the bathroom, before settling in. Please...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravikumar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
I’m very pleased that Mr Armstrong looked after you so well. I’d like to add a couple of points to clarify your comments. Firstly the bathroom is enclosed and equipped with an air extraction system; the floor even when wet, as this is a wet room, is completely non-slip. The shower screen is secured in place at the floor and all along the wall and to the bathroom ceiling with multiple fixings, how you were able to dislodge it, is still beyond us. You are the first and only guest to manage this! Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay, myself and friends stayed from Friday to Sunday and had a very chilled and pleasant weekend away. Staff were fantastic and so friendly which made the whole experience even more enjoyable. I had a standard room which was perfect, yes it was small but had enough space and funky features to make it comfortable, the bed was lovely and I didnt hear any noise from the railway lines and no noise from other guests or revellers! Breakfast was great had everything you could possibly want for £6.95. Will definitely be staying at this hotel again on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We can't wait to have you back at the hotel. Thank you for a lovely review.
Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for one night and we both were delighted by our room and service from staff .
We are planning to visit again early next year and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Prime location and an tasty breakfast for a reasonable price !!
Kevin hodge.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaketherake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for the 'excellent' review. We are always pleased to hear from happy guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Property: Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing