We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value for money and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst on a night out in Newcastle. Room was clean, excellent location right across the road from some bars and restaurants. It's also close to the train station and not too far from the main shopping area of Newcastle. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    380
    129
    35
    28
See reviews for
88
341
70
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Got a good deal in this hotel 2 nights only £104. Location 5 minute walk from station and it's based right in the city centre!

Room had a few scratches and burn marks from the kettle that was in the room but the manager did apologise for this in advance however no form of compensation was offered.

Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nstorm94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the review. We are in the process of fixing the kettle marks and scratches on the beside cabinets (most rooms are already fixed and looking very smart indeed). Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Location is the hotels best attribute, literally walking distance to the best bars and restaurants.

Room very modern, huge tv, nice comfortable bed and plenty of space to get ready. The "wet room" very convenient, the brightness of the light slightly annoying if it's in the middle of the night as it lights up the whole room waking anyone else sleeping.

We were placed on the third floor, view terrible, back of a building and a few pigeons, not to mention an outside party going on all night. quite frustrating as booked months in advance and travelling to The city for the first time would of been nicer to have a view. Room was also next door to the lift which was also slightly annoying as anyone could imagine during the night.

Didn't have breakfast unfortunately as would rather explore.

Newcastle itself if it's your first time is enjoyable and alive, will definitely be back but would probably book somewhere else, would have scored more if little hitches were addressed such as a little information about check in and out times, maps, locations upon check in etc, this is standard from any hotel. I had also emailed a few weeks prior about any drinks packages or extra offerings I could add on to surprise my other half but again unfortunately heard nothing back.....

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Genna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Firstly apologies regarding your email, we have checked and unfortunately we could not find any email that matches a request for drinks packages and extra offerings, our usual policy is to respond to requests within 24hrs. Unfortunately, we also could not find a record of any concerns raised regarding your room during your stay as we would have happily changed your room (subject to availability). I am also surprised to hear that you were not offered maps and information as we always have a supply of local maps and a very knowledgeable team that are always more than willing to offer advice and suggestions. It is always best to let us know during your stay if you are not completely satisfied so that we have the opportunity to rectify any issues immediately. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Good location for Central town and near station. Basic and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Asked for a room at the front based on a review of another and was not disturbed by any noise from trains. If you're looking for somewhere unfussy to stay for one or two nights, it's ideal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TBS1198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks for a succinct yet lovely review. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is very different to anywhere I have stayed before. I found it nice inside and the rooms modern and the space was untilised well given this isnt a particularly large building. It's very ikea esq with the use of color and space. Location wise you will be hard pushed to get anything better for a better price. I will almost certainly stay here again. Slightly dissapointing that I had to "sign in" at nights it felt like being at boarding school or staying in halls. My friend was allowed into the room before we went out and not allowed after we returned. Brilliant that we were able to check out and leave our bags in the hotel for a considerable time before we had to catch our train. All in all it's a nice, modern hotel that i'll use again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamster11uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks for your review, and thank you for saying you would use us again. We do take the safety and security of our guests and staff very seriously hence the quick name check late at night, when you returned to the hotel. Regarding extra guests in rooms, our rooms have a specified number of occupants for insurance and fire regulation purposes, if you are at the maximum occupancy for your room type then I am sure you will understand that we have to abide by these restrictions. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel was ok, quite clean. Reception staff were nice. The hotel is modern but it has some issues. First of all, the rooms are very small. I felt a bit claustrophobic. Also there isn't a wardrobe, u just have 2 shelves and 4 hangers, not room for more, I guess. Another thing I didn't like was the bathroom. Glass door, very close to the bed, and very tiny. U can see what the person inside is doing and honestly, I need more privacy. And something else, when you have a shower, the water runs all over the bathroom floor so afterwards you have to be careful even when you only want to get in to wash your hands. I stayed 2 nights and the relation quality-price wasn't good. If it had been cheaper it would have been ok but for that price, no way. And you can't open the windows at all to air the room, which is something I didn't like either so, I am not going to say it was terrible but I am not going back there. I am going to Newkie in 3 days but this time I chose another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks for your review. We constantly check and compare prices to make sure that we are always competitive. As with other hotels our prices change regularly to reflect the supply and demand in the city. We also do great offers & promotions on our website, so its always worth checking regularly or give us a call to get information on our best rates. Our wet rooms have under floor heating so they do dry fairly quickly, also as the hotel is fully air conditioned and close to the train station, it makes sense to have sealed windows for both heat (and cooling) and sound insulation. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Booked this hotel as was looking for both a base for exploring Northumberland, and. Newcastle city centre hotel for shopping. Firstly location was perfect. A few hundred yards from Newcastle station. Staff were friendly and very helpful, pointing out route shortcuts to the main tourist areas. Room was clean, but due to its irregular shape was considerably smaller than the budget competition hotels. Breakfast was not only extra, but fairly expensive, although we were offered a money off voucher when we checked in. We decided not to eat at the hotel, as there are numerous places nearby at a fraction of the cost. If you are looking for a good clean comfortable city centre hotel, then Sleeperz ticks many boxes, but it felt more like a cheap business hotel than a family leisure hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast which includes a full cooked (eggs, sausages, bacon, beans, tomatoes) and continental buffet (including fresh fruit salads, freshly baked breads & pastries and much more) offers great value at just £6.95 (when booked on arrival) including fresh bean to cup coffee, teas, and fruit juice, I am not sure that you can find better value elsewhere for a comparable breakfast. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Property: Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing