We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Opera weekend”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Brilliantly central and quiet hotel helping us to enjoy a nice opera weekend in Newcastle. took the chance to see a wee bit of Newcastle - nice city apart form roadworks. Lovely late night room service staff. Comfortable modern room with air con. Couldn't ask more for the price and more different from a premier inn or travel lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary_edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
I think you summed up the hotel beautifully, thank you. Great to hear that you enjoyed your opera weekend. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    398
    136
    37
    27
See reviews for
94
369
71
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our 2nd visit to this hotel, beautiful clean room, but really wish they would put a chair in instead of a stool, my Husband has back problems and would love to sit on a chair to watch TV, not on a bed or a little stool with no back. We decided to have breakfast which was ok but not hot enough! staff very pleasant and helpful and would stay again as it is very handy for the train station.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Glad to hear that this was your second visit to the hotel. Just let us know the next time you stay that you would like a chair instead of a stool and we can arrange that for you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Recently stayed at the Sleeperz hotel in a group of 4 guys, The hotel is situated in a great location just a few hundred yards away from central station and a five minute walk away from all the nightlife, We were issued with maps on arrival which proved very helpful and breakfast, a bit expensive but was delicious. We were only there two nights but where provided with enought towels to last us the weekend, As a group of 4 staying in the 1 room it was pretty tight but it wasn't a problem as all we needed was a shower and bed, I would stay at the Sleeperz hotel again but possibly get a room that sleeps just 2 next time for extra space.

Stayed March 2014

Room Tip: Don't get a room that sleeps 4, Very tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You stayed in one of our family rooms, great for 2 adults and 2 children, a bit cosy for 4 adults (but as you say perfectly workable if you are out enjoying the city), with our great room rates it's certainly a good idea to book 2 rooms on you next visit. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely, clean rooms with stylish and modern interiors. Very friendly and helpful staff who sorted out all our queries. Had a bit of an issue with the light as it activates with a card, but it was soon sorted. Telephone in room which was useful to contact friends in the other rooms. Good location also, close to bars and food places.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Georgia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel was very nice location, near the bridges over the river by the railway station. The room was modern, even had tag in the wall to pull down to put suitcase on. The room although very compact, and had all you needed, and you could see alot of thought had gone into the design side the room, and toilet although small was also designed very well.
The price of the room was very reasonable, having booked through last minute.com, and the location was excellent.

Room Tip: Rome looking over towards the church was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank herknibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks for a lovely review, happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Errol
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have stayed here over the last couple of weeks and had a very mixed experience. Whilst the hotel itself is in a great location and the rooms are clean, crisp and comfortable the staff and food badly let this establishment down.

The first night I was here I ordered chicken wings and a burger. The wings came and as soon as the hit the table I could tell they had been microwaved to the point of cremation. Chewy, dried and and way over cooked. Tasted worse than they looked. They were promptly sent back to the kitchen,mother waitress did not enquire about the problem or apologise. The burger was better but very poor quality processed rubbish that you'd get out of a burger van and also tasted microwaved.

I avoided eating in the hotel but last night decided to give it another go, I ordered the fish and chips which arrived promptly. I ate a few chips and a couple of bits from the fish before realising it was raw. Not even slightly cooked apart from the edges. Order cancelled and returned to the kitchen. At this point I worked out the girl serving behind the reception desk was also the "chef" (I apologise to all chefs for putting you in the same category) if you can't fry a fish you shouldn't be let loose in a kitchen. A bit more of an apology form the actress but not much. A dominos order was promptly placed.

The price of the hotel is reasonable but the budget feel does shine through, I don't think it's particularly good value for money and is over priced. After my current stay here is done I won't be returning for obvious reasons. This place needs to gets its food sorted and it's staff trained in customer service. Also note it isn't room service if you have to come to reception to get the food yourself. Plus your breakfast as are poor also with little to no service and only 4 items of hot food.

Much potential here but is just not being fulfilled. Shame cause I am struggling to find a competitively priced hotel in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteryGuest85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review. Our menu offers a limited but good range of dishes, cooked and presented well. I’m sorry if you feel that we haven’t achieved this on your visit. I do believe that your complaint was dealt with professionally. We did apologise, offer another meal (which you declined) and removed the cost from your bill. It would have been great if you had spoken to us before you left the hotel to express your views to us directly. On a positive note I’m pleased you enjoyed the quality of the room, and as you can see from other reviewers we generally get the quality of our food and guest service just right. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here on the 27th March in advance of an early meeting the next morning. Is very easy walking from the main Newcastle railway station, probably no more than 200yds.

Clean, tidy, smart, simple, quiet, indeed just what I needed. Room clean and tidy.

Has a small bar and breakfast is available. A very short walk gets you to a range of restaurants.

Highly recommended.

Just wish hotels had trouser presses. They cost less than £70 and would have given this hotel 5 stars. Business users need a room with a trouser press!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road at the front of the hotel seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim-from-Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
It looks like you enjoyed your stay, we don't have trouser presses but we do have plenty of irons and ironing boards (simply call us and we'll bring them up to your room). Thanks for leaving a review. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle

Property: Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Address: 15 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing