We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half term Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
County Hotel
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Half term Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent value for money, great location and very friendly helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast with amazing choice to suit all tastes. The hotel had parking which was great and the hotel is in a great location close to all amenities - visitors must visit the quayside especially Gusto!

Room Tip: Book early and contact staff for help selecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nige50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was pleased to note that you dined with us for breakfast and that you found our central location to be convenient for seeing all that Newcastle has to offer. Not only are we directly opposite Newcastle Central Station, we are also within walking distance of many of Newcastle’s attractions including Theatre Royal, Metro Radio Arena, St James’ Park and the main shopping centre, Eldon Square.

Thank you for your kind comments about the friendliness of the team. Please be assured that your comments will be passed on to all of the team who will be delighted to know that they have had a helping hand in making sure your stay was an enjoyable one.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    344
    219
    92
    53
See reviews for
85
292
93
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a really enjoyable valentines day/night stay at this hotel. It is literally opposite the train station which made it ideal for us travelling from London. Though the room was small and a little dated, it was clean and comfortable and we did not find we needed the ear plugs provided.

The deal we booked was for dinner, bed and breakfast and it proved to be fantastic value for money, with us being given £25 each to spend on food from the a la carte menu. The meal was fantastic, my expectations had not been very high as the deal was just over £100 for the two of us but I have to say it was excellent and for £25 each we managed to order an excellent 3 courses each (the sticky chicken and chocolate mouse cake were wonderful) the staff were all fantastic and Kerrie in particular was lovely and very knowledgable about the menu.

Equally we had breakfast the following morning arriving just before it ended and that too was to a high standard. It was a little haphazard at that time of the morning but no more so than anywhere else towards the end of service.

We will definitely look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and found our central location to be an advantage and our rooms to be clean and comfortable.

I was pleased to note that you dined with us both for your evening meal and for breakfast in the morning. We regularly receive excellent feedback about our extensive breakfast offering. Having a wide range of both hot and cold items, you can choose from a hearty full English or a lighter option of cereals, pancakes, fish, breads, pastries, fruit, cold meats and cheese, porridge or granola. There really is something to suit every taste and being a buffet, there is no restriction to what you can eat and drink!

Booking direct with us on a rate that includes dinner, bed and breakfast is excellent value for money. Being able to spend up to £25.00 per person on your evening meal goes a long way. Our menu has an excellent selection of both English and International cuisine and I am confident there is something for everyone.

Thank you for your kind comments about the team and in particular, Kerry. I will personally ensure your feedback is communicated and I am sure they will be delighted to read such positive comments.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

a lovely room with a fantastic view of the city (despite the on going road works) it was a executive double room nice and clean on arrival and so were the staff, pubs and restaurants were close by and not far from bus station and train station over the road.

may consider staying in near future

Room Tip: sign up to their signature club for great offers and rewards
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our executive double rooms and that you found the cleanliness of the room to be of a high standard.

I was pleased to learn that you found our location to be convenient for your visit. The County is located in the heart of the city with excellent transport links. We are directly opposite Newcastle Central Station and Metro station making our hotel easily accessible whether you are travelling by rail or from Newcastle International Airport by Metro. Should you be visiting Newcastle on a city break, The County is conveniently located just a short walk from the main shopping area and Newcastle’s extensive array of bars and restaurants.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hexham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Our stay in a twin standard room started well when we walked into the large well furnished reception when we got to our room we noticed that our bathroom door did not lock and there were no plugs by the beds, the draft from our window was terrible so the curtains were closed all day and we couldn't see our view of road works, after a lovely night at a gig we came back for a drink then went up to our room and ordered room service, the menu clearly shows a list of food available for 24 hours we picked what we wanted (prawn cocktail) and were abruptly told that couldn't possibly be done due to there being no chef.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenMorris95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was disappointed to note that you were not entirely satisfied during your stay with us. I would like to offer my apologies for the problem you had with the bathroom door. Please be assured, we have a duty manager available 24 hours a day who I am sure, had they been made aware of your problem, would have done their best to rectify the issue.

I was surprised to read that there was a draft coming through the window as all of our outward facing rooms are fitted with secondary glazing. I have forwarded you a private message so that I can investigate all issues raised thoroughly and ensure they have been rectified appropriately.

I was sorry to learn that you were told you could not order a specific item from our room service menu. Again, this is something I would like to investigate further and have therefore forwarded you a private message.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

although the room was small it was clean and I had everything I needed, it also had amazing views from 2 aspects and the double glazing kept the sound of the busy street and the station from disturbing me. Both dinner and breakfast were good, no complaints and service was both friendly and quick, everyone I spoke to was lovely-would definitely recommend-only downside was there was no onsite swimming pool/gym although they have a deal with somewhere local

Room Tip: apparently some rooms face the inner courtyard if you are worried about being disturbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoDBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room to be of a high standard of cleanliness and equipped with everything you should need for your stay.

I was pleased to note that you found the secondary glazing on our outward facing rooms great for ensuring you were not disturbed by the hustle and bustle of the busy city centre.

Thank you for your kind comments about the friendly, efficient service you received during your stay. The team here at The County have a passion for delivering exceptional customer service and I am pleased you experienced this first hand.

Unfortunately we do not have leisure facilities on site however, our guests can have complimentary use of leisure facilities in the city centre. Please do not hesitate to contact reception about this during your next visit and they will provide you with all of the information you need to take advantage of this.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I decided to go away for the weekend and wanted to book a fancy hotel. Having stayed in Thistle hotels (Aberdeen and Glasgow) before we therefore booked the Thistle in Newcastle.

Arriving the reception area was lush however in regards to the bedroom, well we were rather disappointed. Not the Thistle room we have experienced before. The room was small, with out of date furniture. The bathroom wasn't cleaned very well and was cramped.

We had also no heating. We spoke to reception who offered to get us a small heater who unfortunately made the room smell of burning.

We looked at getting room service and to our surprise there is a £5 charge!

All in all very disappointed with the hotel. It is in a great location and would benefit from the wow factor from its other siblings...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovybab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was sorry to read that you were not entirely satisfied during your stay with us. I was very surprised to note that you found the cleanliness of your bathroom to be lacking somewhat. The housekeeping team here at The County work tirelessly to ensure the cleanliness of our rooms are of a consistently high standard and as you will see from previous reviews, we regularly receive excellent feedback about this.

The rooms at The County do vary in size from compact and cosy small double rooms to large and lofty executive rooms. Our small double rooms provide the perfect base whilst exploring the city or staying on business. However, we do have a selection of larger room types available. Our executive rooms are the largest and add a touch of luxury to any stay without compromising on value. Please do not hesitate to contact our reception team direct on your next visit to Newcastle who I am confident would be more than happy to help find the perfect room for you.

I was surprised to learn that you had no heating. Thank you for making our reception team aware of your problem and I am pleased they were able to help in the circumstances by offering alternatives. I have forwarded you a private message so that I can investigate the issues you have raised thoroughly and ensure they have been rectified.

On a more positive note, I have to agree with you about our excellent location. Thistle Newcastle, The County is in the heart of the city and is just a stones throw from all that Newcastle has to offer. Whether you are visiting on business or on a city break, we are in the perfect location for all occasions.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We visited here on Friday for a celebratory meal as part of restaurant week. Whilst the restaurant décor was lacking in atmosphere the food was fantastic. All 7 of us had the 3 courses and none of us were disappointed. It wasn't somewhere I would have thought about going for a meal, but would certainly go back. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaL1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was delighted to read that you dined with us as part of restaurant week. Our RendezVous restaurant welcomes both hotel residents and non residents and offers an informal dining experience in a contemporary setting. Our guests can watch chefs prepare a range of British and European cuisine in a theatre style kitchen using the freshest of ingredients.

It was great to read that your dining experience was memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Newcastle, The County in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DF, England (Formerly Mercure Newcastle County Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — County Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Grand Central Station, the County Hotel is perfect for shopping, sporting and cultural events, and visiting the world-famous Hadrian's Wall. A magnificent Grade II Listed Victorian, the hotel is the ideal base for shopping, concerts and other cultural events, with attractions from Roman remains to the legendary St James' Park within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel, Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
County Hotel By Thistle Newcastle
County Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing