We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel.”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
County Hotel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, clean rooms but the windows are a bit of a problem - don't open wide enough or allow enough air in the room. Had to change rooms due to broken toilet, situation unfortunate but unavoidable - Staff very helpful. Would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

It is always a pleasure to read such great comments from our guests regarding our convenient location, high standards of cleanliness and helpful, friendly staff.

The County is a Grade 2 listed building and as such retains many of the original features. The sash windows being one of these. As I am sure you can understand, unfortunately we can not allow these windows to open fully as this would constitute a potential risk to the safety of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    366
    231
    97
    58
See reviews for
93
314
100
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel august bank holiday weekend, the hotel is in a great location especially if you travel by train. I agree with some of the previous reviews " their can be some noise outside at night" but the hotel is great and the staff are fantastic. The breakfast is very good, the chef will cook you eggs to order anyway you like " poached are perfect". It has a small car park in the court yard, a little pricy at £10 per night but very handy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was pleased to note that you found the location to be good and the team to be fantastic. The staff here at The County have a passion for delivering exceptional customer service and it is excellent to receive such positive feedback about them.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when in Newcastle on business. I decided to stay here as it's dead opposite the train station which was convenient for my early morning train.

The hotel was cheap and I must admit it concerned me. However I shouldn't have been the staff are friendly, communal areas nice and the rooms, adequate for what I needed. Breakfast was of a high standard and excellent choice.

My only complaint would be I had to request toilet roll as they forgot to leave some in room (everyone makes mistakes) and the shower turned slightly when on.

I would stay again, when in the city.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was pleased to note that you found our hotel to be great value for money in such a central location and that you found the team to be helpful and friendly. As you will see from many of the other reviews, we regularly receive excellent feedback about the team here and it was great to read that you experienced this first hand.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

It is a functional hotel which is opposite the train station. Near to the city centre and Chinatown. Has a car park that you need to pay. Breakfast is box standard. Housekeeping could be more vigilant. We have to call reception to get toiletries and tea bags which should have been topped up.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

It was great to read that you found our location to be perfect for your visit to our wonderful city.

Please accept my apologies on behalf of our housekeeping team for their oversight whilst servicing your room and be assured that this is not our usual standard of service.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The thistle hosted my best friends wedding last Saturday 9th August. It was a brilliant day. The staff were always smiling very friendly. Food was first class. I would most certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverlyBell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was delighted to note that you joined us on your best friend’s special day and that you found the staff and food to be first class. It was a pleasure to read these great comments about such an important day!

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed one night for a business trip. Staff very helpful and room was very good - Executive Rm 436. Electric shaving point is in the main room, not the bathroom but did not cause to much of a problem. The only issue was that there was a bar on the street opposite and that was noisy for most of the night and into the small hours. There was then the dustcart collection at 6am, or around that time. I did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment. I stay in Newcastle about twice a year and this was my first time at this hotel. Despite the noise from outside I would use it again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms where there are bars/clubs opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us.

It was great to read that you stayed in one of our Executive rooms and that you found the room to be great and the level of service received from the team to be of a high standard.

I was sorry to note that you were disturbed by external street noise. Unfortunately despite the many advantages of our excellent location, this can be a problem if you are a light sleeper. All of our outward facing rooms are fitted with secondary glazing to help filter an external noise however, on your next visit, should you prefer a room at the rear of the building, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival and we will try our best to arrange this for you.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

just returned fom overnight stay at the thisitle central for city and station i had a bedroom near front of hotel went to bed with windows opened big mistake newcastle as a city works all night most of it into bedrooms rooms good wi fi free all around hotel rooms said iron and ironing boards no board rang reeption arrived within 15 mins hotel has bar and rest but did not use too expensive loads of pubs rest all cheaper around the local area breakfast next day excellant choice both hot and cold food avaliable chef on duty on the front replacinging food very quickly waiter and waitress service excellant running short of any thing ask and there it is great

Room Tip: choose one aroud the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank iankaye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to note that you were disturbed during your stay. Although a city centre location has many advantages for our guests, external noise can prove to be a nuisance if you are not accustomed to it. For this reason, all of our outward facing rooms are fitted with secondary glazing. For our guests who may be lighter sleepers, we do have a selection of rooms which over look our courtyard car park at the rear of the building. As these rooms are not directly facing the main road they do tend to be quieter and may be available upon request.

I was great to note that you were able to join us for breakfast and that you found the service and the selection of food on offer to be of a very high standard.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,852 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DF, England (Formerly Mercure Newcastle County Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — County Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Grand Central Station, the County Hotel is perfect for shopping, sporting and cultural events, and visiting the world-famous Hadrian's Wall. A magnificent Grade II Listed Victorian, the hotel is the ideal base for shopping, concerts and other cultural events, with attractions from Roman remains to the legendary St James' Park within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel, Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
County Hotel By Thistle Newcastle
County Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing