We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, lovely staff.”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
County Hotel
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel, lovely staff.”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Our room was very comfortable, quite spacious. We had two large beds. There was plenty of room in the en-suite to keep toiletries and cosmetics. The shower was good, unusual for an over the bath one. The mattress and pillows were very comfortable.
All the staff including the waitresses, the chefs, and the manager were unfailingly cheerful, pleasant and helpful as well as professional. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We stayed three nights and had breakfast and dinner every day and never had a bad meal. I was very happy with the food and the service. We were on a coach tour and they coped with serving all the party very efficiently each time. We used the hotel as a base for touring the area, so we did not spend time exploring the area around the hotel or the City, but I would like to come back to do so and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

It was a pleasure to read such great comments about the level of service received from our hard working team. As you will be able to see in many of our other reviews, we regularly receive great feedback about our fabulous team and their dedication to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay with us and would wish to return on their next visit to Newcastle.

I was pleased to note that you joined us for both dinner and breakfast during your stay and that you could not fault the quality of food and service in our restaurant. Please be assured that your kind comments will be passed on to the team.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    360
    231
    97
    56
See reviews for
91
308
98
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Food and room was excellent. The crowning glory was the friendliness and helpfulness of ALL the staff. In every part of the hotel the staff were happy, courteous and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The only reason I did not give this hotel a 5 was that the lounge area was very small.

Room Tip: We were at therefor of the hotel. Some guests said the front was a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

It is great to read such a positive review of our hotel and most importantly, the team here at The County. The staff in every department have a passion for delivering exceptional service and work hard to ensure each and every one of guests enjoys their stay with us in this wonderful city.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife an I stayed at this hotel during a recent trip to Newcastle. There is no doubting the location is fantastic and is a few minutes walk from a large variety of pubs, clubs & restaurants to suit all tastes.

The rooms are a little small but not so much as to cause a problem. The bathrooms are of a decent size and were very clean. My only issue was with the shower as it was not a fixed head shower, the head wobbled around a little, however the water pressure and heat were just fine.

The rooms are very warm, but this is down to the extra double glazing to reduce the street noise, which they do very well. We did not hear a lot of noise and once asleep were not disturbed.

To reduce the heat a little I would recommend that you leave the sash window opened and open the exterior window as far as it will go to let some air in and then close it again when you return, you should not have any problems.

The bed was comfy and too big either. Some hotels pride themselves on giving you a bed a family of six could sleep on. This was a decent sized double, and with a duvet which was just perfect for us.

The television was as you expect, about the right choice of channels, and as we were not spending that much time in the room this did not create an issue.

The bar in the hotel is opened Late Late which if you would like a night cap then this is the perfect last stop before heading off to bed. You can also get room service of alcohol up to 3am which is even better.

Overall my wife and I were very impressed and will definitely stay at this hotel again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would wish to return on your next visit to Newcastle. It was great to note that you found the room to be clean and of a good size for yourself and your partner.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, clean rooms but the windows are a bit of a problem - don't open wide enough or allow enough air in the room. Had to change rooms due to broken toilet, situation unfortunate but unavoidable - Staff very helpful. Would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

It is always a pleasure to read such great comments from our guests regarding our convenient location, high standards of cleanliness and helpful, friendly staff.

The County is a Grade 2 listed building and as such retains many of the original features. The sash windows being one of these. As I am sure you can understand, unfortunately we can not allow these windows to open fully as this would constitute a potential risk to the safety of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel august bank holiday weekend, the hotel is in a great location especially if you travel by train. I agree with some of the previous reviews " their can be some noise outside at night" but the hotel is great and the staff are fantastic. The breakfast is very good, the chef will cook you eggs to order anyway you like " poached are perfect". It has a small car park in the court yard, a little pricy at £10 per night but very handy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was pleased to note that you found the location to be good and the team to be fantastic. The staff here at The County have a passion for delivering exceptional customer service and it is excellent to receive such positive feedback about them.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when in Newcastle on business. I decided to stay here as it's dead opposite the train station which was convenient for my early morning train.

The hotel was cheap and I must admit it concerned me. However I shouldn't have been the staff are friendly, communal areas nice and the rooms, adequate for what I needed. Breakfast was of a high standard and excellent choice.

My only complaint would be I had to request toilet roll as they forgot to leave some in room (everyone makes mistakes) and the shower turned slightly when on.

I would stay again, when in the city.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

I was pleased to note that you found our hotel to be great value for money in such a central location and that you found the team to be helpful and friendly. As you will see from many of the other reviews, we regularly receive excellent feedback about the team here and it was great to read that you experienced this first hand.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

It is a functional hotel which is opposite the train station. Near to the city centre and Chinatown. Has a car park that you need to pay. Breakfast is box standard. Housekeeping could be more vigilant. We have to call reception to get toiletries and tea bags which should have been topped up.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerNCL, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to us at Thistle Newcastle, The County.

It was great to read that you found our location to be perfect for your visit to our wonderful city.

Please accept my apologies on behalf of our housekeeping team for their oversight whilst servicing your room and be assured that this is not our usual standard of service.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Emma Thompson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,825 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DF, England (Formerly Mercure Newcastle County Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — County Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Grand Central Station, the County Hotel is perfect for shopping, sporting and cultural events, and visiting the world-famous Hadrian's Wall. A magnificent Grade II Listed Victorian, the hotel is the ideal base for shopping, concerts and other cultural events, with attractions from Roman remains to the legendary St James' Park within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel, Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
County Hotel By Thistle Newcastle
County Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing