We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Boutique Hotel in City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed at the new Hotel Indigo in the centre of Newcastle-upon-Tyne recently, and was very impressed with the whole facility. Firstly the hotel seems to be a converted city centre office building, and I have to say, the transformation from 70s office block into a modern boutique hotel is absolutely stunning !! My room was very new with spacious bathroom, air conditioning, plasma tv, Kindle, complimentary mini-bar; everything needed for a comfortable and restful night. The bed was very comfy too.

The hotel had an 2 storey car park adjacent, very important if you are on a business trip and travelling by car.... the restaurant was a Pierre marco White, but as it was fully booked on a Monday night, we went out on the town. Well, Newcastle is that sort of place.

Like the Hotel Indigo very much, and makes a welcome addition to the hotel accommodation in the 'toon'....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptCamshaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Hi Captcamshaft,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great comment about our “stunning” hotel!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we would have like for you to have the whole experience by dining at our Marco Pierre White steakhouse, however I understand this was fully booked during your stay. May I suggest, next time you come back to the “Toon” to see us, just let us know when booking and we can see if we can fit you in for a booking in the restaurant, but shh, don’t tell anyone or it will become too popular!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,218 - 2,224 of 2,307 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed Friday 13 July for my birthday - booked under bargain opening offer rate. Staff welcoming and friendly, upgraded us to balcony room. Fab decor and stylish rooms. Aveda toiletries, fluffy soft white towels and Villeroy and Boch bathroom fittings - very posh ... Bedroom had wooden floor, rug, black furnishings, flat screen TV mounted/framed on wall, safe. Took full advantage of the complimentary minifridge. Great nights sleep, comfy bed. Had late night drinks in the Grainger Lounge which is swish and relaxing. Breakfast in the MPW restaurant was very good. Definitely staying again and having dinner in the MPW restaurant. City Centre location only few minutes walk from local bars/restaurants and shopping, Short walk to railway station and Metro.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Hi Susan T,

We just love reading comments like this!
At Hotel Indigo Newcastle, we love to hear any sort of feedback about our “posh” hotel! We can’t wait to have you back and the team in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse are certainly looking forward to seeing you.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel, see you soon…

Kind regards,
Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Having stayed one night a week in Newcastle since January, it is great to be able to stay in a Hotel where Customer Service is outstanding. The attention to detail that has gone into the hotel is fantastic, Free WIFI in the bedrooms, plenty of towels and toiletries, modern rooms with everything you need when you are away, a Kindle in the room adds another twist too. Onsite Carparking is a great advantage especially in the City Centre.

The staff make the difference in my opinion, from check in, room service, breakfast and check out. Nothing seems like it is forced or false just genuine First Class Customer Service which sadly seems to be lacking in lots of other Hotels.

Would highly recommend the hotel whether it is for business or pleasure.. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Hi Mark P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment about our hotel.

Its comments like this that makes us proud to do what we do! All of the team here are so happy to hear the comments you have wrote, we would love for you to tell all of your friends and family about the genuine first class customer service you received from us and can’t wait to have you back with us again.

Kind regards,
Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

very attentive reception staff who couldnt be more helpful. Arrived at the room which was orange and a large photo on one wall. Very stylish, up to date but small, I even queried was it actually a king size bed but apparently so. Unfortunatley the fridge wasnt working so we were moved room. Very central for shopping in Newcastle. Had a cocktail in the bar again the staff were excellent, the cocktail wouldnt suck up the straws which were quite thin, eded up using a spoon to get it out the bottom but was offered something different if I prefered. Shortage of seats as a large party had taken them all and had to sit at the bar on a high stool. When seats became available they were comfortable but next to double automatic doors which kept being open for smokers to come in and out, each time the smoke came into the bar and restaurant with them. Not very pleasant and cold. Ate the MPW restaurant, service was excellent and the manager Jamie could not have done more to make our experience a good one. Had ordered wine which they had run out of, the waitress came with two different types to taste to see if we liked any of them. The restaurant was by far one of the best we have tried and nothing was too much trouble, they have a well trained staff who know there job well. Couldnt have been looked after better. Breakfast was also really good, self service at the weekend, usual choice of hot food but would have liked more choice for cold food. Enjoyed our stay here and would use this hotel again. Only complaint was a group of guests had gathered in the room across from us and were very loud and we could hear most of their conversation in our room while trying to relax. Then in the middle of the night they woke us up when they came back having no regard for other guests sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseakers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Hi Sunseakers39!

Thank you very much for your comments here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you had a great experience here at hotel Indigo Newcastle. We take feedback very seriously here as we see it as a way we can learn our guests needs and grow to be the first choice destination for travellers to the great historic city of Newcastle upon Tyne.

I have implimented procedures to rectify the slight issues you brought to our attention and all of the team can not wait to see you back again!

Thank you again for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Booked for a two night weekend stay online so got a great preferential rate in a king size room. It's just a few minutes walk from the station though there is a car park onsite. The hotel is very new and everything is very shiny, clean and new; the carpet has that new smell.
The room was lovely, not overly large but well designed with an extremely comfortable bed, excellent pillows and lovely white bedlinen. The complimentary softdrinks and snacks in the fridge was a nice touch along with the tea/coffee facilities though fresh milk would have been nice especially as there was a fridge already there. The furniture was smart and funcitonal and only lacked a space to store suitcases. and the Ipod dock and Kindle were lovely touches.
The bathroom was beautifully designed with a huge rainfall shower plus a hand-held shower. The second shower head was great for getting the conditioner out of my hair as the rainfall shower is a lovely experience but is not powerful; it would have been great if there'd been an additional hook so you could stand under that shower head. The speakers to hear to tv/radio were nice and the towels, robes and Aveda toiletries were all delightfully luxurious.
The bar was relaxed yet buzzy with lovely comfortable armchairs and a wide range of drinks. We didn't eat in the hotel, preferring to explore the restaurants and cafes nearby but the menus looked lovely.
I would definitely recommend this to others especially if you can book in advance and get a great rate.

Room Tip: Book in advance, at least a week, to get preferential rates and don't assume that the big sites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sj p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Hi sj p!

Well, what can I say? Firstly I must thank you very much for taking the time to write such fantastic feedback about our lovely new hotel! We are just delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us as our vision here at hotel Indigo Newcastle is to create a great hotel, our guests love and I think we certainly let you in on our vision.

We would love to see you again sometime, all of our team, including our team in our in house Marco Pierre White steakhouse are definatley looking forward to welcoming you back and treating you again in the near future.

Thanks again for your comments,

Mark Winter

Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We booked the hotel for a weekend stay in Newcastle. We were looking for somewhere fairly central, comfortable and quiet where we could spend some time together, visit friends and explore the city. From the minute we came into reception the service was friendly, warm and helpful. The room was nice with good decor. I loved the wall behind the bed decorated in a big print of the columns and roof of a building (meant to ask where). The bed was a comfortable king size and the bathroom had a large shower plus music from the tv/radio in the bedroom could be piped into the bathroom. Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park so was quiet and had great black-out curtains so we slept very well. Thanks! The bar looked good with a mix of furniture. There was a good breakfast provided, standard really and the only minor thing would be that it was a bit cold. Once again staff were so attentive. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KU2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Hi KU2012

Thank you for your great comments about Hotel Indigo Newcastle!

I am very happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I have met with the executive chef to discuss your minor concern regarding breakfast and he has set extra corrective coaching to his breakfast team to rectify this. The print of columns behind your bed is the inside roof of our historic and very architecturally amazing Theatre Royal, which is located just a few minutes’ walk from our hotel. We are also very happy to learn that you really enjoyed your room, and that you had a great night’s sleep while staying with us. All of our staff where very excited to learn that you had such great things to say about them!

We would love to see you again in the near future
Kindest Regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just returned from a weekend at this hotel and overall it was a mediocre experience.

Customer service - Pretty Good, staff were interested in looking after us

Room - A bit small and lack of storage space. AC was noisey but at least the room was clean and new.

Restaurant - Breakfast was oversubscribed and therefore slow and the cooked to order idea was holding things back further. However setting was very nice and George really looked after us so overall was a good experience.

Location - Could not really call Fenkle street anything more than a back lane as it has no shops, bars or restaurants other than the hotel, in fact the hotel is the only thing that is not derelict on this street. Can be quite daunting at night.

Overall i had an enjoyable stay at this Hotel, the location although central was dingy and the area needs sprucing up. My only other issue with this Hotel is that it does not quite cut it as boutique it is more like a hybrid of boutique and budget and the results are rather strange not sure if i like it or not.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james4John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

James4John
Thank you so much for visiting Tripadvisor and providing us with some feedback.
At Hotel Indigo Newcastle, we take feedback very seriously and we fully appreciate every bit of feedback that you provided. We are very happy to hear that you felt the customer service was good, but we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the size of your room, I have spoken with our head housekeeper regarding your issue and procedures have been put in place to rectify this.
Your comments have also been passed on to our food and beverage manager, George who has since met with our executive chef to discuss your issue regarding the breakfast and new procedures have been put in place to ensure breakfast is served quickly, while keeping the high standard that has been set by Marco Pierre White and food&beverage the team since we opened.
Since your comments on Trip advisor, I can say that there are no derelict buildings on the historic Fenkle street. The Hotel Indigo brand is a brand which allows each property to be individual in its location, service factors and offering of food and beverage. Which is why you may have thought our quirky hotel design was not to your taste.

Thank you again for your feedback as we value all forms of feedback here at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager for Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#10 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £69 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing