We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really recommend to anyone! Amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Really clean and fresh feel to the whole atmosphere. Modern yet classic theme runs throughout the hotel with stylish colours and pictures. Staff are very welcoming and helpful, they would attend to your extra needs if you were ever wanting them. Also family friendly.The rooms have everything you should have to have a great stay. The location in the heart of Newcastle provides a brilliant chance to see the sights. I had a great time and would happily recommend it to anyone looking to stay around the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshDgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Hi JoshDgriffiths,

Thank you for writing so nice comments about our great hotel. We cannot wait to welcome you back again. Next time, why not have a chat with a member of staff at the front desk and see if they have any tips on exploring our local area? Whatever you need, I am sure they will be happy to share a secret or two about the historic Grainger town part of Newcastle that the hotel is situated in.

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,162 - 2,168 of 2,266 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Hotel Indigo was all I expected from a great hotel, with so much more. Excellent location to see Newcastle, attentive, knowledgeable staff, lovely smellies in the bathroom, wi fi and bed linen to ensure a good night's sleep! We ate in the on site Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Restaurant which was fantastic (be sure to try the cheesecake after your mains!). We are already fitting another trip into our schedule and my son tells me he wouldn't stay anywhere else...

Room Tip: Balconies are lovely on a sunny evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 712Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Hi 712Jules,

Thanks for taking the time to write about us! We are really looking forward to having you and your son back with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Excellent location for a weekend break in Newcastle!
We stayed one night and it was the best nights sleep i've had in ages! Bed was Huge! Very high up!
Rain shower and bathroom was spotless and robes and toiletries provided were an extra luxury!
Will be using hotel indigo again and again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissB695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Hi MissB695,

Thank you for your great comments! We can’t wait to have you back again, and again, and again!

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I wanted to bring my partner to my home town for a romantic weekend and I could not have chosen a better place to stay. We normally stay at the Hilton or Vermont which are more than adequate but we think the Indigo is by far the best hotel in Town.
Whoever recruited the staff for this Hotel did a great job. They were all very friendly and super efficient, Special thanks to Laura (Reservations Manager) and the girls on the front desk who were lovely. I stay in hotels regularly (mostly through work) and I have to say that the breakfasts at Indigo are the best I have had. Superb quality, beautifully cooked and excellent attentive service.
We had a balcony room which was very stylish and comfortable (complimentary mini bar is a nice touch), Bed was firm and very comfortable. Media ports on desk and nice wall mounted flat screen TV. Smart modern bathroom with robes and slippers. Great value.
All in all a fantastic weekend which we would hope to replicate ASAP. Many thanks to staff,
Jeff and Stacey

Room Tip: Balcony room well worth it .. especially if the weather is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Hi Jeff585,

Thank you very much for naming us Newcastle’s best hotel! Our mission here is to have a great hotel, our guests feel welcomed and at home in and although we enjoy reading all forms of feedback, we just love reading comments like this!

We do really hope to see you both again soon…

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

As the Eat Newcastle/Gateshead food festival was taking place we decided to stay in town to save us from driving and could not have been more pleased with our choice of hotel. The reception staff both on arrival and departure were incredibly friendly and efficient - nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was a King Balcony which was very nice indeed - comfortable bed, well designed work desk, comfortable chair and the terrace provided somewhere really nice to sit in the sun(yes we do get some). The complimentary mini bar was a bonus and thoroughly appreciated - a really nice touch.

I cannot comment on the restaurant as we were attending Eat events so did not use for dinner or breakfast.

Would I recommend this hotel to others - I most certainly would and already have as a friend is staying there on Sunday evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Hi Dorla,

Thanks a lot for your lovely comments; it’s great to come across someone that is just as proud of our local area as we are! We would love for you to come back soon and try out the North East’s newest steak house, the menu carefully crafted by Marco Pierre White himself!
Why not stop by the front desk too, to share your pride and local stories with our lovely reception team?

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had a great two night stay, room was fantastic, staff were very helpful and always smiling. The breakfast was really good and the cocktails in the bar were brilliant. The hotel is located perfectly for restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougalbperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Hi Dougalbperth,

Well, firstly, thank you for your great comments. I hope you made the most out of our central location while you were staying with us, we would love to see you again sometime soon…

Kind regards

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

As title says this hotel can't do enough for you, everything is catered for and nothing is ever a problem. Food in marco pierre white also amazing. Would I stay again, he'll yeah! Rooms were lovely and spotless, kindle was a great touch. Aveda products great.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigandlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Hi Craigandlynne,

Thank you for your great comments! We would love to do even more for you so hurry back! We just love to put a smile on our guests faces 

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £76 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing