We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very stylish and comfortable with very attentive staff.

Well worth visiting as very central.

The food was very good and the ambiance in the bar was fantastic and was still swinging at 2.45am.

Both myself and many other guests returned the Kindle to reception having thought it had been left by a previous guest and the housekeeper had left it on the bed after cleaning only to be told it was complementary as it had the bible on. Wow even the Gideons are going high tech!!

Room Tip: High floor for greater view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Hi Paul P,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to review us. We hope you enjoyed reading the bible on the Kindle we left in your room for you!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,166 - 2,172 of 2,293 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

on arriving at the hotel we were made very welcome had booked the induldgance break it was alot more than we expectied room very clean food was great slept like a log found it great value for money and will go back again so a big thankyou to all the staff they were great and it was nice to be treated so well .

Room Tip: had a balcony room was lovely and bright and not noisey at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Hi Val K,

Thanks for your nice comments. Please come back and see us again soon

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Oh dear, we were so looking forward to staying at Indigo Newcastle but am afraid to say we were left disappointed.

I booked this hotel as a change from our usual (based on some rather enthusiastic reviews on here) for my husbands Birthday weekend - mistake - no attention to detail here. On arrival we were the only ones checking in but all the staff were on the phones so we waited, and when one became available served the couple who had just walked in. We then waited for 5 mins in reception for our room to become available. We were allocated a very small room on the top floor with one high loft style window, so you could not see out of it, it felt claustrophobic. Walking in the first thing I saw was a large dirty mark on the wall underneath the window (room 430) and that the purple throw on the bed had dirty marks on it - not what I was expecting from a new hotel! Also there are no baths here, which was not stated on booking. Location felt a little ropey, parking was £12.

I booked a 'Try Us' package well in advance which was not cheap, including breakfast, free WIFI (which was free anyway!) and a late checkout - which did not appear on our booking, but we didn't use it anyway. A week or so before I checked the website again and prices had reduced dramatically, leaving me feeling a little ripped off. I also emailed for info via the Indigo Newcastle website 3 times prior to arrival with no reply. I also mentioned when booking online that this reservation was for my husbands birthday, but obviously nobody bothered to read my notes, as he never so much as got a 'happy birthday' (on arrival at a different hotel last year he received an upgrade, reception greeting, birthday card and mini champagne bottle in our room - that's the way to do it!).

Kindle in room is a nice touch, as is free mini bar, which contained 2 soft drinks, 2 waters, 1 KitKat & 1 bag of crisps. No DVD player. There was a pad in the room but weirdly no pen/pencil? Aveda products were nice, but one of each to share? Hmm. Staff were a little intrusive, in fact we had trouble losing one lady on the evening :-)

Meal was okay, be warned if you order the lamb it is super rare (and I don't mind rare) - not sure about the plastic tablecloths, noticed one had a rip in it. We were seated next to four lads swearing loudly, it didn't exactly add to a romantic meal. Had a v. expensive cocktail - standard. Breakfast okay too (buffet), but seat and table had not been cleaned properly. We went for lunch around the corner at the Thistle hotel (more menu choice, slightly better value and had ESPN).

At the moment I feel that this is a budget hotel trying to be boutique - with more attention to detail this could be changed - maybe a case of all style, no content? We won't be back as we didn't feel valued (just a number), other places go the extra mile at this price.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor! Don't book if you want a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuperJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Hi SuperJo
Firstly, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to give us valuable feedback on the TripAdvisor website.

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay here at Hotel Indigo Newcastle. Since your comments, I have spoken with our Reservations manager to identify the source of the issue and have since put procedures in place to ensure all of our guests feel welcomed and valued when staying at our hotel.

We have also given corrective coaching to our front of house team to ensure a quick, friendly and welcoming check in experience. The Hotel Indigo brand is a brand which allows each property to be individual in its location, style, service factors and offering of food and beverage.
I am sorry to hear that our quirky loft style rooms were not to your liking, however, in order to deliver the great guest experience our guests have come to expect from the Hotel Indigo brand, we can accommodate our guests room preferences upon request at the time of booking.

I have also met with our housekeeping manager to implement procedures to make sure the experience you had regarding the room you stayed in doesn’t happen again. I have spoken with our Food and Beverage manager to ensure all of our guests who dine at our increasingly popular Marco Pierre White steakhouse continue to receive consistently exceptional service to match the exquisite menu being cooked by our world class chefs.

At Hotel Indigo Newcastle, we strive to create a great hotel that guests love, so I am very happy to learn you liked the quirky additional items in your room such as the Kindle, complimentary mini bar and media centre where you can link your electronic accessories to your in room T.V via the media port.

We would just love for you to give Hotel Indigo Newcastle another try and certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thank you again for your feedback, as a new Hotel it is vital we receive feedback from our guests to achieve our goal of being everyone’s first choice brand.
Kindest Regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

It's just really good to be able to stay in a quality hotel that has flair and imagination, my bedroom was lovely with great touches like the ipod dock to play 'your' tunes while working, the power socket next to the bed for phone charging at night.
A couple of curiosities, lovely soap but nowhere to put it when you have used it, a hot drinks tray that needs carrying out of it's neat storage to find a power supply somewhere else in the room to be able to boil the kettle, a mini fridge inside a cupboard that gets so hot it has trouble cooling it's self!
But all very minor when the style is great, the bed comfy the food great and really nice to be served on fine china from UK manufacturer Dudson of Stoke-on-Trent (cups with saucers and not mugs at breakfast - heaven!).
Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0GCH0PPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Hi Logchopper,

Thank you for your great comments, we would just love to have you stay with us again soon.
We will certainly make sure there are plenty cups and saucers at the ready for your morning tea!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

on holiday's from Australia in June.
great modern decor , great food and fantastic staff.
Thankyou to all the people at Indigo Newcastle who really made our stay a very special one for all of my family.... !!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Hi Rob B,

You are very welcome! Please come back and see us soon.
Thank you for your great comments.

Kind regards

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The property is stunning, we were lucky enough to get a room on the top floor and so enjoy a balcony room which was lovely. The attention to the smallest detail really made the difference.

We dined in Marco Pierre White Steakhouse where it is stated in the promotional material that is has: "The best steak in Newcastle - hands down."
100% agree, quite simply the best steak I have ever had! My only negative comment was that the prawn cocktail was nothing out of the ordinary. Just a bog standard cocktail, at a very hefty price at £10 we had expected to see something special.

We asked for a late check out and the reception team could not have been more helpful in organising this for us. Each and every team member we met was so helpful and friendly especially the welcome host on the Saturday evening who had a huge smile for everyone as they arrived!

All in all a fantastic stay at a fantastic hotel that we hope to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Fabulous rooms on the top floor with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Hi PaulaHayes,

Thanks for your great comments! We also love Marco’s steaks, hurry back!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2012.

On arrival, the receptionist was helpful and friendly, as were all the staff. The location is very close to the centre of Newcastle, the only drawback being the lack of a loading/unloading space for cars at the hotel door. Given the sometimes rowdy nature of Newcastle nightlife, the soundproofing seemed very good!

Our room was "superior king bed balcony" which pretty much described it. The mattress was good by hotel standards, and the bed a proper king size. The room is divided by a free-standing cabinet on which the TV sits, making the desk area into a semi-enclosed office space. The balcony was large, with a 2-person lounger (but no cushions), a table and two chairs. The bathroom was a good size, with two sinks and a large shower but no bath.

We ate at the Marco Pierre White restaurant within the hotel on the first night and while it didn't blow us away it was certainly good food and expertly presented. Breakfast was in the restaurant and while good, it was perhaps a little too highbrow for the time of day. I found the spicing in the scrambled eggs and Cumberland sausages to be a little overpowering. My wife tried an award-winning cocktail at the bar, and found it to be excellent.

Our criticisms are very minor. Housekeeping neglected to place more toilet paper in the room when the only roll was almost finished, and also didn't empty the ashtray on the balcony. The balcony itself was exposed to the elements and might have benefitted from a screen to offer some wind protection.

Staff were attentive and swift to react to requests. My wife had some Epoisse cheese (hugely smelly and banned from French public transport; not bought at the hotel) for which she needed a plate and knife. These were cheerfully delivered. Due our need for an early checkout, we were brought a baggage trolley the evening before.

Hotel Indigo wasn't cheap, but we would certainly stay there again. That there is an ashtray on every balcony table shows that they take a common sense approach to the needs of smokers while still keeping the hotel smelling fresh (though our room fridge may take a while to recover from the cheese). The contents of the room fridge were complimentary, which is a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotsCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Hi Scotcanuck

You “Loved it!” and we loved that titled! We are thrilled to find out you “loved” your stay with us, please come see us again and if you want to bring some smelly cheese, then that is just fine! We love cheese!

We would love to see you again, how about Christmas? Have you heard what we are doing?...You would "love it!"

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £72 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing