We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but sweet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Short but sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, rooms very clean and pleasing to the eye. Room facilities were great, complementary mini bar inc crisps, water, pop, chocolate. Bathroom very stylish and clean. staff were really pleasant, and helpful at reception. We dined in the marco Pierre white restaurant, very nice bit highly priced, but you get what you pay for! Breakfast was lovely £15ish per person for Buffet style! Overall very nice stay! Thanks

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bashley-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi Bashley – 1

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about us. We would love to see you again.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    551
    142
    23
    8
See reviews for
174
949
79
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Weekend away to celebrate my hubby's birthday with a trip to watch Newcastle v Tottenham. Arrived at hotel at 9.30pm and booked in with no issues. Got to our room which was lovely, only trouble was we were supposed to have been upgraded to a room with balcony. However this was rectified immediately by reception staff with no problem at all. Next room with balcony was lovely too. Great big bed, complimentary mini bar, clean and welcoming. On first night quite a lot of noise from nightclub? nearby into early hours and slight noise from air conditioning, second night was fine. This wouldn't put me off staying there again though. Didnt have breakfast or dinner at hotel so cant comment on food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi Linsey M,

Thank you for your wonderful comments, I am so happy you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade. Please come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Newcastle for one night (Saturday). I had booked it because the (fabulous) hotel I had stayed in for the previous four nights was booked out for the Saturday, and also because it is very close to the station.

All the staff are charming and welcoming. My room was quiet, clean and comfortable, although there was no bath, only a shower. The mini-bar is complimentary and the hotel makes much of this. However, mine contained just a solitary diet coke, a small bottle of water and a congealed kit-kat. I've had better freebies in a B&B!

On the plus side, there was a big TV screen and the bed was huge. The bar stayed open late and had a great atmosphere. The main disappointment was breakfast the next morning. There were no croissants or muffins (even though I was down in good time), the pain au chocolats were as hard as bullets, and there was little choice in the hot buffet. The staff seemed very disorganised and compared with, eg. a Premier Inn breakfast at half the price, it was a great disappointment. I was also seated at a very dirty table which they said they would clean, but didn't. The hotel did redeem itself - when I mentioned the situation to a waitress she fetched the manager, and to his credit he apologised profusely and had the cost of breakfast removed from my bill.

Overall, I think this is a great hotel which is new and having a few teething troubles. I'm sure they will soon get it right, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi Jules2929,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear about your slight disappointment at breakfast time, however we have put new procedures in place to ensure this doesn’t happen again, we would love for you to come back and see us again.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very stylish and comfortable with very attentive staff.

Well worth visiting as very central.

The food was very good and the ambiance in the bar was fantastic and was still swinging at 2.45am.

Both myself and many other guests returned the Kindle to reception having thought it had been left by a previous guest and the housekeeper had left it on the bed after cleaning only to be told it was complementary as it had the bible on. Wow even the Gideons are going high tech!!

Room Tip: High floor for greater view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi Paul P,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to review us. We hope you enjoyed reading the bible on the Kindle we left in your room for you!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

on arriving at the hotel we were made very welcome had booked the induldgance break it was alot more than we expectied room very clean food was great slept like a log found it great value for money and will go back again so a big thankyou to all the staff they were great and it was nice to be treated so well .

Room Tip: had a balcony room was lovely and bright and not noisey at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank val k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi Val K,

Thanks for your nice comments. Please come back and see us again soon

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleby Barwick
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Oh dear, we were so looking forward to staying at Indigo Newcastle but am afraid to say we were left disappointed.

I booked this hotel as a change from our usual (based on some rather enthusiastic reviews on here) for my husbands Birthday weekend - mistake - no attention to detail here. On arrival we were the only ones checking in but all the staff were on the phones so we waited, and when one became available served the couple who had just walked in. We then waited for 5 mins in reception for our room to become available. We were allocated a very small room on the top floor with one high loft style window, so you could not see out of it, it felt claustrophobic. Walking in the first thing I saw was a large dirty mark on the wall underneath the window (room 430) and that the purple throw on the bed had dirty marks on it - not what I was expecting from a new hotel! Also there are no baths here, which was not stated on booking. Location felt a little ropey, parking was £12.

I booked a 'Try Us' package well in advance which was not cheap, including breakfast, free WIFI (which was free anyway!) and a late checkout - which did not appear on our booking, but we didn't use it anyway. A week or so before I checked the website again and prices had reduced dramatically, leaving me feeling a little ripped off. I also emailed for info via the Indigo Newcastle website 3 times prior to arrival with no reply. I also mentioned when booking online that this reservation was for my husbands birthday, but obviously nobody bothered to read my notes, as he never so much as got a 'happy birthday' (on arrival at a different hotel last year he received an upgrade, reception greeting, birthday card and mini champagne bottle in our room - that's the way to do it!).

Kindle in room is a nice touch, as is free mini bar, which contained 2 soft drinks, 2 waters, 1 KitKat & 1 bag of crisps. No DVD player. There was a pad in the room but weirdly no pen/pencil? Aveda products were nice, but one of each to share? Hmm. Staff were a little intrusive, in fact we had trouble losing one lady on the evening :-)

Meal was okay, be warned if you order the lamb it is super rare (and I don't mind rare) - not sure about the plastic tablecloths, noticed one had a rip in it. We were seated next to four lads swearing loudly, it didn't exactly add to a romantic meal. Had a v. expensive cocktail - standard. Breakfast okay too (buffet), but seat and table had not been cleaned properly. We went for lunch around the corner at the Thistle hotel (more menu choice, slightly better value and had ESPN).

At the moment I feel that this is a budget hotel trying to be boutique - with more attention to detail this could be changed - maybe a case of all style, no content? We won't be back as we didn't feel valued (just a number), other places go the extra mile at this price.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor! Don't book if you want a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Hi SuperJo
Firstly, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to give us valuable feedback on the TripAdvisor website.

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay here at Hotel Indigo Newcastle. Since your comments, I have spoken with our Reservations manager to identify the source of the issue and have since put procedures in place to ensure all of our guests feel welcomed and valued when staying at our hotel.

We have also given corrective coaching to our front of house team to ensure a quick, friendly and welcoming check in experience. The Hotel Indigo brand is a brand which allows each property to be individual in its location, style, service factors and offering of food and beverage.
I am sorry to hear that our quirky loft style rooms were not to your liking, however, in order to deliver the great guest experience our guests have come to expect from the Hotel Indigo brand, we can accommodate our guests room preferences upon request at the time of booking.

I have also met with our housekeeping manager to implement procedures to make sure the experience you had regarding the room you stayed in doesn’t happen again. I have spoken with our Food and Beverage manager to ensure all of our guests who dine at our increasingly popular Marco Pierre White steakhouse continue to receive consistently exceptional service to match the exquisite menu being cooked by our world class chefs.

At Hotel Indigo Newcastle, we strive to create a great hotel that guests love, so I am very happy to learn you liked the quirky additional items in your room such as the Kindle, complimentary mini bar and media centre where you can link your electronic accessories to your in room T.V via the media port.

We would just love for you to give Hotel Indigo Newcastle another try and certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thank you again for your feedback, as a new Hotel it is vital we receive feedback from our guests to achieve our goal of being everyone’s first choice brand.
Kindest Regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

It's just really good to be able to stay in a quality hotel that has flair and imagination, my bedroom was lovely with great touches like the ipod dock to play 'your' tunes while working, the power socket next to the bed for phone charging at night.
A couple of curiosities, lovely soap but nowhere to put it when you have used it, a hot drinks tray that needs carrying out of it's neat storage to find a power supply somewhere else in the room to be able to boil the kettle, a mini fridge inside a cupboard that gets so hot it has trouble cooling it's self!
But all very minor when the style is great, the bed comfy the food great and really nice to be served on fine china from UK manufacturer Dudson of Stoke-on-Trent (cups with saucers and not mugs at breakfast - heaven!).
Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0GCH0PPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi Logchopper,

Thank you for your great comments, we would just love to have you stay with us again soon.
We will certainly make sure there are plenty cups and saucers at the ready for your morning tea!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing