We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed overnight last week with my wife and it is well situated minutes from the Central railway and Metro stations.We flew into Newcastle airport on a rainy evening and caught the Metro railway from airport into Central station which was very easy and stress free and walked to the hotel.
Rooms are very nice with quality, comfortable beds and superb bathrooms.Had a couple of drinks which are a bit pricey but there are plenty of good pubs within a 5 minute walk.
Arrived too late for Evening meal but restaurant looked busy and next time will try a meal there.
Breakfast was good but food and plates a little cold.
Service from staff was first class and they even lent us a brolly to walk to a nearby pub.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrogateJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Hi HarrogateJim,

Thank you very much for your great comments. We are sorry you missed the chance to experience dinner in our on-site Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, please let us know if your require a dining table next time you book your stay with us and we will be happy to help.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,094 - 2,100 of 2,266 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

My friends and I booked a Cocktail Masterclass and then lunch at the Hotel Indigo Newcastle. George Liddle is the restaurant Manager and he hosted our Masterclass. He is a very interesting chap having been a World Champion Cocktail Maker and having worked at various prestigous restaurants around the world including the Ritz in London. His stories were great and he kept us amused for the whole of our visit. The food was excellent in the restaurant and all the staff were so attentive. I would definitely recommend this to small groups of friends and I am looking forward to having the opportunity to stay at this hotel sometime in the future. From the booking process to the general friendliness of the staff, the experience was top notch!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Hi Debbie R,

We are very grateful for your comments, thank you so much! George will be proud to learn you made the most out of his famous cocktails master class. Did you hear what we are doing for xmas? Come and join us on Twitter to find out.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed a couple of nights last week on business. I was upgraded to a balcony room which was OK, it was a little dark with only one/window door but it was nice to have a little outside space and fresh air. The facilities are great, loved the 'fitness suite', the restaurant was very good although it doesn't have the best ambiance, room service and housekeeping are very efficient.

The housekeeping in the room wasn't brilliant - mirrors a little dirty, some fluff and hair balls in the corners, hairs in the bathroom.

A big thanks to the very welcoming Rachel at reception who got me checked in quickly after a long flight.

Overall the staff were excellent, very accomodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Balcony room 421 was nice but a little dark with only one window/door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Hi umbongo73,

Thanks for your comments, Rachel will be so happy to hear that you appreciated her service. Come back soon!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were delighted with this hotel which was only opened in June this year. The location is very quiet but only 5 minutes walk from the station. A rather brutal exterior but inside fresh and modern with good sized, cheerful rooms, spotless shower room and comfortable beds. I think we may have benefited from a lower opening room rate that made it extremely good value especially with a good hot buffet style breakfast and free wi-fi included.The front desk staff were particularly welcoming and efficient. We would be happy to return assuming the price does not rise to dramatically

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wimble52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Hi Wimble52,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic comment about our hotel, please come and follow us on Twitter or befriend us on Facebook.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Just spent a weekend at the Indigo and I have been very impressed with their attentive service. Unlike in many other city hotels, i felt very welcomed and looked after, all the staff went the extra mile in being super friendly and helpful.
The room was modern and nicely decorated and offered a free minibar with soft drinks, crisps and chocolate which was a nice touch. It was clean, had comfy beds and was totally quiet, despite being on the 1st floor opposit the lift and overlooking the road! Food in the restaurant was great!
Great hotel, good value for money, excellent service! Will use again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Hi Momo100,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about us. We appreciate all of our guests’ comments, the good, the bad, and even the ugly, but we love the nice ones! Come and see us again soon!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

What a hidden gem so centrally located. So quiet yet on the doorstep of everything. Took literally five minutes to walk from Central train station & that was going the less direct route!! Situated in a quiet side street beside the Assembly Rooms, you have all that Newcastle has to offer around you.

The restaurant becomes a Marco Piere White establishment for lunch & dinner which sadly i never got to experience. I did have the pleasure to take breakfast though & had they dish up probably the best sausages i have had in ages & proper flat mushrooms rather than the more usual button ones. The charming staff constantly top up your orange juice. On the (only slightly) down side, the queues do build at the self-service coffee & toast point at busy times. This is a tad of a poor side to an otherwise flawlwss service. The bar is not cheap but the stylish furniture, atmosphere & service made it all worthwhile

My spotless room was spacious with a decent size wet room inc robes. Beds very comfortable & outside noise miminal. Mini-bar had complimentary light snacks & soft drinks. If i had to find a fault then i would say that often the most modern trendy facilities are not always the most practical. By that i mean toilet roll seems at an odd angle behind you for use & against the wet room glass. Mirror also a bit high if you're not on the tall side. Also why use swanky names to describe what is basically shower gell?

I would definatley stay again when in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Hi Darky,

Thank you for your lovely comments! We can’t wait to see you next time you are in town. Are we friends on Facebook yet?

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was the first time I enjoyed my accommodation in Newcastle. I have travelled there for work several times, and I have stayed in hotels and B&B's which have ranged from very bad to average to 'OK good'. Indigo is a very good boutique hotel, that wins hands down when compared to some of the other big chain holels I have used in this city. The hotel is located centrally, near the train station, restaurants, and other amenities. The price is reasonable for the quality of accommodation (I paid £99 per night). The hotel also features a Marco Pierre White restaurant which I didn't try - but the atmosphere was warm, lively and sophisticated when I arrived to check in at 11:30pm on a rainy night. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful (and alarmed, as I slipped on my way to the reception! luckily more a comedy moment than an accident) The room is of a good size, modern and stylish. The bed was extremely comfortable (I could do with a bed like that at home, in fact). It was well made with crisp clean sheets, and very welcoming. There was a stylish black and green armchair and a stool, which were a little cramped (the bed is massive and quite high). The room was also fully kitted with good lighting, a flat screen TV, an ipod/iphone deck, and connections so you can plug in your camera etc. The bathroom is also great, with good quality towels and Aveda toiletries. Unfortunately one of the glasses I had was dirty, so that put me off a bit. That was the only slip though... I still had a very comfortable and cosy stay at Indigo, and I would definitely return there on my next trip to Newcastle.
The price of the breakfast is a bit of a downside -at £14, it might be good, but it is also overpriced (it doesn't even include an omelette for that price).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariax_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Hi Mariax_gr,

Thank you very much for writing a great comment about our hotel on the TripAdvisor website. Why not follow us on Twitter to see what we are up to for Christmas?

We can’t wait to have you back!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £77 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing