We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Friars Gate Luxury Apartments(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Spa
County Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chasley Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Motel One Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Reviews (2,396)
    Filter reviews
    2,396 results
    Traveller rating
    1,539
    647
    169
    27
    14
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,539
    647
    169
    27
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsthe marco pierre white restaurantcomplimentary mini barbalcony roomaveda toiletriesmpw restaurantassembly roomskit katrainfall showercity centrecar parkbottle of proseccolovely hoteltrain stationfront of housereception staffsaturday nightwalk in shower
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,216 - 2,221 of 2,396 reviews
    Reviewed 24 September 2012

    My wife & I had just one overnight stay in this hotel but wish we couid have stayed longer.
    Yes it is a new hotel, but the cleanliness of the rooms was excellent & the attention to detail first class. My wife appreciated the complimentary snacks in the fridge. She must have her snack fix before retiring.
    Dinner in the Marco P W Steak Bar was excellent. My wife's Spatch cock chicken was succulent & my calves liver was cooked pink to perfection. The green beans had crunch & the homemade chips were to die for. To follow my wife had a lovely bread & butter pudding & I had athe cheese board with four very tasty local cheeses. My only criticism was that there was not a choice of ports. I feel the introduction of one would benefit the hotel & perfectly compliment the end of a great dinner
    Finally a mention of the wonderfully attentive staff & the excellent service they gave us from start to finish of our all too brief stay. Special mention to the lads behind the bar who worked their socks off on a exceptionally busy Sat night

    Room Tip: We found the King double overlooking the car park ideal
    • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Alexander Y
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

    Hi Alexander Y,

    What a lovely comment! Thank you so much, we are really happy that you loved your stay with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back to our neighbourhood. Add us on Twitter and Facebook to find out our best upcoming deals. Thanks again.


    Kind regards,

    Mark Winter
    Front of house Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

    Recently stayed at Indigo for the 2012 Great North Run. Our booking was moved to Indigo by the Hilton who 'conveniently' overbooked and whom 'appeared' to prioritise their contract with celebrities and elites over our party who for last 7 years have been raising money for charity.

    However, this was an absolute blessing in disguise. We were met with great customer service, a central location, a clean and nicely laid out bar. We didn't get chance to eat at the adjoining Marco Pierre White restaurant but this looks to be a stand out addition.

    Our room was lovely. My wife and I were travelling up from London with our 4 month son and the room catered well for us all. Whilst there was no bath which was initially challenging, the hand shower proved more than adequate.

    Staff were excellent and seemed personable to our needs. Breakfast was good, nicely tailored for the Run and then for our second morning all the niceties you might expect.

    Despite doing the Run, I had chance to use the gym. Small but very well equipped with a couple of the latest treadmills and cycles and a few weights.

    Finally and perhaps what sets the Customer Service apart from any other hotel was the fact that Indigo offered to fix our rate and book our room for the 2013 Run. It was such a simple gesture but one that is appreciated. No more waiting to get bumped like other hotel chains.

    Thank you to all the staff at Indigo for adding to our experience of a fine weekend.

    • Stayed: September 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank London_LittleWilly
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

    Hi London _LittleWilly,

    Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write such an amazing comment about our lovely hotel. We have a vision to create a great hotel that our guests love and I really feel we have shared that vision with you! Come and be our friend on Facebook to find out our best upcoming deals.


    Kind regards,

    Mark Winter
    Front of house Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 September 2012

    We stayed there last night after walking out on the Holiday Inn.

    Location is perfect, very central and a few mins walk away from central station.

    The staff were excellent. Great customer service - couldn't do enough for you. Certainly don't be afraid to ask if something you want isn't obviously available.

    Room was spotless, lovely comfy bed and lots of space. Plenty of plug sockets and large fluffy towels. The shower is amazing. Nice large modern TV. Night light for the bathroom was a great bonus.

    Breakfast was wonderful. All hot stuff cooked to order and totally delicious. We ordered something not on the menu but again no problem.

    In all very impressed and we have decided that this is the hotel for us when we are in Newcastle

    • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank chezwylde
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

    Hi Chezwylde,

    WOW! “Best in Newcastle”! What a great title, it really makes us proud when we see comments like this, thank you so much for taking the time to give us your great feedback. We just can’t wait to have you back to stay with us again, come follow us on Twitter to find out our best deals.

    Kind regards,

    Mark Winter
    Front of house Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 September 2012

    Hotel Indigo is well-located in central Newcastle and is only a few minutes walk from either the bars and clubs in the town centre, or the attractions along the Tyne. The hotel is decorated in a modern style but I thought the lobby area was a bit ill-judged and sloppy! The rooms however are more tasteful and have a decent-sized walk-in shower with cool ambient lighting. Fast wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. Was a little bit disappointing to find the bathroom was not cleaned to the standard of the actual bedroom (coffee-splash stains on the back of bathroom door and hairs in the shower) but general cleanliness levels were good. Bed very comfortable. Although we were on the fourth floor we did hear some club and bar noises from the street below...Newcastle sounded pretty wild but we needed an early night in preparation for the Great North Run! We ate at the Marco Pierre restaurant and although the food was great, the service was a bit poor- we had to ask for another drink 3 times and the wait for dessert, once ordered, was almost 25 minutes. All in all though a good choice, and a reasonable price, for a stay in central Newcastle.

    • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Blackcherry
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

    Hi Blackcherry,

    Thanks a lot for your great feedback. We love receiving all forms of feedback from our guests and use this to help achieve our goal of becoming a great hotel, our guests love! Please come back and see us again soon.

    Kind regards,

    Mark Winter
    Front of house Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 September 2012

    Stayed overnight last week with my wife and it is well situated minutes from the Central railway and Metro stations.We flew into Newcastle airport on a rainy evening and caught the Metro railway from airport into Central station which was very easy and stress free and walked to the hotel.
    Rooms are very nice with quality, comfortable beds and superb bathrooms.Had a couple of drinks which are a bit pricey but there are plenty of good pubs within a 5 minute walk.
    Arrived too late for Evening meal but restaurant looked busy and next time will try a meal there.
    Breakfast was good but food and plates a little cold.
    Service from staff was first class and they even lent us a brolly to walk to a nearby pub.

    • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank HarrogateJim
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

    Hi HarrogateJim,

    Thank you very much for your great comments. We are sorry you missed the chance to experience dinner in our on-site Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, please let us know if your require a dining table next time you book your stay with us and we will be happy to help.

    Kind regards,

    Mark Winter
    Front of house Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews