We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Newcastle with my son October 2012. A 'boutique' hotel (not sure what that means), but impressive. Location is ideal as its in city centre. Twin room was spacious and spotlessly clean, bathroom fine, liked modern shower and room decor. Complimentary freebies nice touch. Beds comfortable, wardrobe had plenty of room. Not much of a view from the room but inevitable given city centre location. Staff very friendly and attentive. Can't comment on breafast as it wasn't included in the tariff, but plenty of cafes etc nearby. Bar was popular and good range of beers. Rate was about normal for city centre. Car parking at £12 a night seemed steep. Overall though, very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Hi PWF,

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,134 - 2,140 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

This is how hotels used to be. They welcome you with a great deal of warmth. They get you checked in with a minimum fuss. You get a room that's clean and spacious. The lobby bar is comfortable. The restaurant food is excellent. Concierge service is prompt. Breakfast is ample and fresh. Checkout is efficient. Good to be in a modern hotel with old fashioned, impeccable service. I will definitely be back. And I will tell everyone interested about it.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank Sonjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Hi Sonjee,

Thanks a million for your great comments! We would just simply love to have you back with us soon, come and join us on Facebook or Twitter to find out our best deals.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Picked this hotel after having read reviews on TA. Was not disappointed! Staff are friendly and at ease...which results in a welcome feel. Rooms verynice with all the things required for a stay away from home. Restuarant is very good both dinner and breakfast were first class...looking forward to my next stay away from home. Thanks to all

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KITKATOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Hi KITKAT007,

We love receiving feedback about our hotel, and we love it even more when the feedback is as great as this! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Just an overnight visit but a great introduction to the Indigo brand. The family were well looked after throughout with a natural warmth from the excellent staff (Bruno and Katie in particular). Dinner in the restaurant was outstanding with dishes to suit everyone. The steaks were first class.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Hi Clare L,

Thank you for your lovely, positive feedback. We loved having you here, come and follow us on Twitter to find out our best deals for the next time you come and visit us.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this great hotel on Friday 19th October when we were in Newcastle to see John Bishop. It was a great experience. The room was lovely although the air con was a bit ineffective. The bathroom was fab with the best towels and Aveda toiletries and the complimentary minibar a nice touch.
We ate in the Marco Pierre White restaurant and had the best steak I've ever had (and I am quite fussy!) and our only regret was having to rush off to the show rather than having a leisurely evening.
The staff throughout the hotel were excellent and hit the right balance of attentive and friendly without being intrusive. Overall we would go back tomorrow and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere funky and with a bit of class. Thanks everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowanHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Hi RowanHolly,

You are very welcome! Thank you for writing a great comment, we would love to have you back with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed here for the weekend in October 2012 with a friend as part of a wonderful prize from the Newcastle Gateshead Initiative. We had such a fabulous time from start to finish. The room was lovely, dinner in the restaurant was extremely good and there was everything we needed and more. We were particularly impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Elisha, thanks for sorting out our fridge emergency!
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and very much hope to return.

Louise and Susan

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Hi Louise J,

We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your prize! Thank you for writing such a lovely review about us, we would love to have you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Very stylish design with a great concept. We loved the mural on the wall in our bedroom and the pictures around the hotel. The Hotel Indigo is very central to shops and restaurants. There were a few housekeeping issues which Jenna, who works on reception, promptly rectified for us. She went out of her way to look after us during our stay and I really do think that the staff are an asset to this hotel.
I previously stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Toronto and was very impressed with the designwork and attention to detail and so pleased to see that it has carried through to the hotels in the UK.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 714Chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Hi 714Chica,

Thank you very much for giving us some great feedback. Come and follow us on Twitter to find out our newest deals.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,555 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2/8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £74 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing