We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Lovely comfortable hotel with great bar area. Staff professional and friendly. Location is perfect - within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and bars and yet quiet enough to have a peaceful weekend

Room Tip: Quiet rooms overlooking the car park
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Hi janetbrox,

We are really happy you enjoyed your peaceful weekend. Thank you for your comments, please come back soon.

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of house manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,251)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,027 - 2,033 of 2,251 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for two nights, whilst visiting my son who's at University there. The staff were brilliant - so attentive and interested in what we were doing, where we were going, offering tips and advice if needed. Lovely relaxed atmosphere, great restaurant, great location. They couldn't upgrade me on check-in as I'm a platimum rewards member, however, free drinks sent to room - can't complain!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Hi phil190748,

Thank you for your great comments! Please come and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of house manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A quirky hotel, very central and easy to get from the train station. a short walk. It had only been open 8 weeks or so and there were obviously still teething problems, but nothing horrendous. We got a drink in the bar before our business appointment and sat in some big comfy purple chairs by the window, only to be quickly turfed out of them because we weren't eating in the restaurant. There was no sign on them, no obvious giveaway that there were any different to the rest of the seats in the bar or reserved in someway! Of course, some TV star then arrived shortly after and was immediately allowed to sit there with his party even though HE wasn't eating! Perhaps my money isn't as good as his?

The restaurant was good, but not great though we had a nice waiter who was helpful. I'd head back again because it is a good location but there was nothing amazing about the place. Hopefully when I go back it'll wow me!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonWeir76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Hi JonWeir76,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We really do appreciate it as we believe feedback from our guests is the best way to help us achieve our vision of being a great hotel, guests love. Your comments will certainly be brought to the attention of our General Manager in our morning meetings and we will discuss action points on how to improve your experience on your next stay.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Golden wedding anniversary trip-complimentary bubbly on arrival. Service above the call of duty. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly from the manager down. Will definitely come again.
Very convenient location, very close to station and metro.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann_heppell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Hi Ann_Heppell,

Thank you very much for your “wonderful” comments. Please come and stay with us again soon and a massive congratulations from the whole team on your golden wedding anniversary!

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed at the Indigo for one night whilst in Newcastle on business and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The city centre location is excellent, with good secure parking at a reasonable cost of £12 per 24 hours. The staff were very friendly and efficient from the moment I checked in to the restaurant staff at breakfast the next morning, which is clearly the result of a good recruitment and training regime. The manager also took the trouble to introduce himself and to seek feedback on my stay, which was a nice touch. The bedroom was spacious, comfortable and well-equipped with everything needed whether staying at the hotel for business or leisure, whilst the breakfast in the restaurant was superbly cooked and presented. If in town again this would definitely be my first choice hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Hi AlanandSally,

Thank you very much indeed for your great feedback. We are really happy to hear that you would recommend our hotel. Please visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

Booked the corner suite with balcony, room was spacious, clean and had everything you need. Free mini bar was also a nice touch.
Check in and checkout was efficient and all staff were very helpful.
Also used the bar and tried a couple of the cocktails on offer, not cheap but well worth the money.
1st time I've stayed at hotel indigo and look forward staying again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrye81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Hi Garrye81,

Thank you for recommending us and for taking the time to write a great comment about our hotel. Come and join us on Facebook to find out our best deals for your next stay.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

No complaints at all apart from one little niggle - trying to park in the underground carpark was a nightmare, not sure who designed it but think they must own a Mini!!!

Apart from that everything was perfect, - the reception staff, the room, the food, the bar and drinks were all top class. The hotel was busy and had a great atmosphere, we enjoyed a few cocktails before and after dinner, which incidentally was lovely.

We didn't book breakfast so cannot comment on it.

The hotel is well situated in the City Centre, not far to walk to shops, restaurants and bars. My partner and I would definitely return it was very special.

Room Tip: We had a "corner" room with large floor to ceiling windows overlooking lovely trees which...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunandmoon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Hi SunandMoon10,

Thank you for your feedback, everything will certainly be discussed in our regular meetings and we hope to have you back with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of house Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £74 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing