We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed for three nights, 15th to 18th March 2013 (and we’re glad it wasn't longer). Cost £395 B&B and just under £600 with food and drinks (and 10% service charge).

I’ll start by having a rant about added service charges in a British hotel. We don’t have a tipping culture in the UK and with mandatory minimum salaries the staff should already be getting paid properly. It is therefore quite simply arrogant and presumptuous of management to automatically add a service charge! I’ll decide what the gratuity should be NOT management. It would also be interesting to find out when the staff actually get this money? To be quite frank this is definitely costing the staff because for excellent service we normally round up and would have done so here because both the food and service in both the bar and restaurant were excellent!!! (e.g. a £79 meal in the restaurant we would normally rounded to £90 – which is about 14%). I should note that for poor service and food we would round down.

Now the bedroom. When we booked we upgraded to an executive room with a king-size bed... Well if that was king-size, I would hate to be in an ordinary room! Also the beds are way too soft, promoting a bad back and roll together which really doesn't make for a great night’s sleep. Finally, who puts down laminate flooring in a hotel room? It looks pretty, but most defiantly doesn't help with the lack of sound proofing. You will definitely know they are wearing stiletto heels in the room above! In all, I'm afraid to say I've had far better night’s sleep in a £50 Premier Inn!!!

On the whole the staff were friendly, efficient and pretty good although I believe some attention needs to be paid to housekeeping because for a new(ish) hotel, there were areas within the room already in need of a good clean (tops of pictures, door frames, under the bed, windows, etc.) Also our room was not serviced till after 4pm on one occasion and then only after we complained - they most definitely need to sort that out - Not acceptable in a one star hotel let alone a four!

The other main issue with the hotel is the facilities. As a new build boutique hotel I have to ask where is the swimming pool and spa? How about a hotel lounge anyone? You have the Marco Pierre White restaurant (excellent although it appears to be taking far too many external bookings so as a hotel guest you can struggle to get a table), the Granger bar (way too small especially as it is used as a waiting area for the MPW) and finally the fitness room which is about the size of one bedroom (i.e. tiny). A plus point for the Wi-Fi which is a genuinely open fast connection with no messing about with web page logins and passwords (all hotel Wi-Fi should be like this).

The location is spot on. It is next door to the O2 Academy (we were in Newcastle to see a gig there on the Sunday night), also just a short walk to Central Station (train & metro), the city centre and the quayside.

Overall Hotel Indigo was okay, but as people who stay in hotels of all ratings, all over the world, for both business and pleasure, we came away feeling we had paid over the odds for the room and facilities we got.

Next time we're in Newcastle we'll stay elsewhere (somewhere with better facilities and better value for money) but we will book into to visit the MPW restaurant which we would highly recommend if they just sort out that service charge nonsense!!!

Room Tip: Maybe you want a 4th floor room which has a balcony and maybe a bit more space as a result?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Scott T,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,352
    560
    142
    24
    8
See reviews for
178
965
80
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed for one night as a birthday treat - when we arrived they had upgraded our room to a balcony with a free mini bar including wine, beer, snacks. The girl on reception was so friendly and just after we arrived in our room, she knocked on our door with a birthday card and champagne - such a nice touch! Breakfast was excellent quality and I noticed the Manager walking around checking the food, tables and speaking to the guest's. We often stay in Newcastle and have stayed in the Malmaison, Hilton, Sandman...and this beats them all.
On checking out the same girl made a point of asking if we had enjoyed our evening and was so friendly again - I didn't take her name but she is a real asset to the hotel - Young girl with long dark hair (hope that helps the manager when he gives her this feedback) - this was our second visit and we are already looking forward to our third.

Room Tip: Our room was 424 and the view was lovely with a balcony and free mini bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiereeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hi Debbiereeve,

Thanks a million for your great review, hope to see you soon…

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

What's not too like? Stylish, great value, great location, friendly staff, comfy beds, free open WiFi network with no annoying password and registration process (I consider this a HUGE perk) and a Marco Pierre White restaurant in the lobby.

I will stay here every time I go to Newcastle. Period.

Room Tip: Request one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorLogistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hi DoctorLogistics,

Thank you for your great review! We love having you with us and it’s great to hear how much you enjoy your time with us.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed at this classy hotel 18th - 19th March 2013. It is a classy, boutique hotel, fresh and bright with a welcome to match!
All staff are efficient and friendly but have a genuine smile and show interest in their customers.The hotel manager is visible and personally welcomes and chats with customers throughout their stay.
Rooms are stunning, beautifully decorated and extremely clean and well stocked. The bed was very comfortable and the complimentary mini bar a welcome addition, as were the dressing gowns, ironing board, wi fi, a powerful shower and gorgeous spa toiletries.
The breakfast was delicious and good value.
This hotel is in walking distance of the railway station, and perfectly located for metro links, ideal for exploring the city and surrounding areas.
We shall certainly stay here again when visiting Newcastle and will recommend to our friends and colleagues. We look forward to trying out the spa next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35ecnerwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hi 35ecnerwal,

Thanks for your ‘classy’ review! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel is everything you need for a city break. The staff were efficient and polite. The room smart and was well kitted out as well as being spotlessly clean. There is a really contemporary atmosphere with sensible policies on check out times (12:00 on Sundays), and car parking (£12 for 24 hours but they were happy for us to leave it there for as long as we needed). The complimentary snacks and drinks were a bonus! We didn't try the restaurant but that is our only regret about staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wondergar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hi Wondergar7,

Thanks for your great comments, hope to see you soon…

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

After buying a King size room I was surprised to find it was not that - especially after the kerfuffle about my room being ready in the first place (apparently some were ready and given to ther people; so I suspect I may have just been given the next available room)

Service was great from the front desk staff - apologised for the wait and were on hand for any questions or queries.

We were staying as part of a wedding party that was held at the Assembly Rooms next door, so didn't really spend much time in the hotel itself.

I thought it odd that there was only a tiny selection of breakfast included in the price and that for a 'proper' breakfast I'd have to fork out even more at the table. Not great.

Also the car park is so tight! Barely any room to get in/out of the car even when parked perfectly.

Overall was a good stay, but a bit pricey for what you get

Room Tip: Not sure; appears to be somewhat of a lottery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeus86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear zeus86,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding customer service.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding breakfast selection which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights for the second time in 6 months. Often return visits disappoint but not at this hotel. The staff are efficient and friendly. We had a small house keeping issue on arrival at our room which was sorted out immediately. I think it's a mark of a good hotel when a genuine issue is recognised and rectified. This time we had the chance to have dinner at the Marco Pierre White restaurant. The food and atmosphere were both good. Breakfasts are great as every hot dish is cooked to order. Other reviewers have commented on the parking charges which, at £12 a night, adds a substantial amount to a 4 night stay but this is city centre parking and it is secure. We have always lived in Newcastle only moving away a short time ago and on our next visit we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Hi chrisandden,

Thanks a lot for your review! I am very pleased we were able to be consistent in providing you with the great service we give to all of our guests. When are you coming back? Follow us on Twitter to find out our best deals.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
916 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing