We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip bolt hole”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The hotel delivers a great 'package' in terms of location, parking, room quality and service.

The rooms in particular were well thought through; very modern, sharp design but comfortable as well. Complimentary mini bar was a particular treat.

We had breakfast which was fine; nothing special foodwise but perfectly well presented brekky in a nice, funky dining room. The cocktail bar in the evening is very busy - so this isn't a hotel that does cozy/relaxing - more like buzzing and happening so if that's not going to fit the mood of your visit this hotel might not be to your taste. If you're out on the razz on the other hand its perfect.

If you're looking for a clean and comfortable Newcastle stop over this place is more than adequate.

Location is good being close to the 'Bigg Market' - got to say that Newcastle on a Saturday night was a bit of zoo but then again I don't think its aim is to attract people my age!

Room Tip: The restaurant and cocktail bar at the hotel are busy in their own right so you might book tables at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Hi ITTS,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us, hope to see you again soon..

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,858 - 1,864 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for one night , stunning hotel , friendly staff , had the package that included a meal and breakfast in the restaurant , well Worth the money as food was outstanding ! Had a room with balcony although it was very cold and raining so didn't make the use of it , but would be fab in summer especially with the mini bar that's included in the price , very generous indeed !

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerri99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Hi gerri99,

We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we can’t wait to have you visit us again. Fingers crossed the sun will come out soon so we can all make great use of our balconies. Be sure to look us up on Facebook and Twitter to find our best deals.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Easy access to shopping, restaurants and the Quayside. Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. This was our first visit to Newcastle, so they provided us with a map and suggested things we might like to see and do. We had a room with a balcony. The room was very comfortable and stylish, and we loved the large shower. View from the balcony wasn't very exciting, but it would still be good to sit out in the summer. We hadn't thought however that the adjoining balconies would attract guests that like to smoke! We didn't eat in the hotel, but it was good to have a complimentary mini bar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Hi tiggithecat,

Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in Newcastle with us and found our location a great benefit. We look forward to seeing you again.

Next time why not give our Marco Pierre White restaurant a try?

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I havent stayed at this property, my review is for afternoon tea. Staff are first class, and the seating area is cosy and informal, although can be a bit noisy at times, but this is to be expected as its a busy city centre hotel.
the food was all really tasty, and there was plenty of it, infact we couldn't finish.......so they arent being mean with the portions. Plenty of choice on the tea menu. All in all a real pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Hi NGXX,

We’re very pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and found our staff to be first class! Next time you visit we’d love you to treat yourself and spend the night.

Simply call us, pop in or look for us on Facebook and/or Twitter.
We’d love to see you again!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

GREAT STAFF and the rooms are amazing, at the higher end of the price scale and classed as luxury I would say. It's not a place I would stay at all the time but enjoyed when I did, they need to make it a little cheaper or put some deals on once and a while. I would stay again though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Hi Stephas H,

Thank you very much for your great review! We would love to see you again soon…

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

First class welcome at reception, every member of staff said hello and smiled, basic really, but not common in the UK. We would visit again, but could you look at improving the cooked breakfasts, fried eggs, boiled eggs, bacon not dry, apart from that excellent hotel and staff.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Hi Raymond B,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our service to be excellent. We pride ourselves on friendly staff and excellent service! It is sad to read that breakfast wasn’t up to scratch and we have passed on your comments to our Executive Head Chef.

We will discuss your feedback in our next managerial meeting and will use such feedback to improve the services we offer and ensure that your next stay with us shall be perfect!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Can,t fault the hotel for decor and location. But as for the rooms located around lift areas you will be wakened most of the night with constant door banging of adjacent rooms and the actually lift beeping. I stayed 4 nights and after the second night having been wakened by some rowdy female screaming and shouting from 00:30 until almost 03:30 running back and fro from room to room leaving the doors to bang behind her I complained to reception. They said they would like at the cctv and I tld them the rooms that they appeared to have stayed heard nothing more. I also told reception that it appeared to be that people had came back to the hotel and partied in a room close to ours then left early next morning. The next night was the same and having heard nothing about the previous night just left it. But will not be returning. The Indigo in Glasgow is totally different and I discribed it to others as the quietest hotel I had stayed in even though it is located in central Glasgow. Part of the problem of the Indigo Newcastle is the design of the rooms located around the lift area. The area is to open and due to this noise from people returning late at night is easily heard in rooms around this area. In Glasgow there are doors between the lifts and room corridors which obviously work in keeping noise down. Whats the point of hanging a "do not disturb" on your door if you are constantly wakened through unnessessary noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest away from lift area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Hi Kevin F,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

At Hotel Indigo Newcastle, our vision is to provide a service that our guests love. Your feedback is crucial in our mission to constantly improve ourselves. We will discuss the issues you raised in our regular morning managerial meetings and hopefully will have improved our service should you decide to give us another chance. I would love to see you again, and if you would be so kind as to contact me directly I would be very happy to arrange a room of your choosing and it would be my pleasure to personally make sure your next stay with us is a memorable one for all the right reasons.

Kind regards,

Mark winter
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2 12 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £66 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing