We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't fault it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't fault it!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from Newcastle after staying at Hotel Indigo for our anniversary. Customer service appears to be top priority for hotel staff with us even receiving a hand written happy anniversary card on our bed in the hotel room! What a lovely touch.
Our room was a good size, spotless and even included an excellent selection of drinks and nibbles. The location of this hotel is great being so close to the train station and also to the city centre.
Overall we will definitely recommend Hotel Indigo and hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Hello fmroe,

I'm so pleased to hear you had such a fantastic Anniversary, and thank you for chosing us to share it with. We hope to have you back again very soon!

Follow us on Twitter for great fun and wonderful deals.

Kind Regards
Adam Munday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,352
    560
    142
    24
    8
See reviews for
178
965
80
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

I visit Newcastle frequently for business and usually stay at the Jury's Inn as it's close to my office. I'll not be staying anywhere else from Indigo in the future. Great value, great location and great service.

I found the staff friendly and professional and the hotel standard was high. Popped into the MPW restaurant too, which provided more evidence of thr hotel's excellence.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughMcJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hello HughMcJames!

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so proud to hear that we've managed to claim your loyalty, and we shall ensure that we keep it :) take care and do please return soon!

Kind Regards,
Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This hotel sets the benchmark for other 4* hotels. The decor was bold and bright, the rooms spacious and airy (and spotless), the bathrooms well appointed and the beds very comfortable.

Am interesting design touch was a large feature wall at the head of the bed which depicted the interior glass roof of a Victorian train station. This lent to an optical illusion of incredible space.

The general look of the place was almost immaculate. It is obvious that maintenance is a high priority here and it was hard to find a scuffed corner, or a chipped wall within the building; even in high traffic areas.

The comfortable temperature of the interior of the rooms and the public areas was enhanced by the air-conditioning which usually either doesn't work or the grilles and vents are filthy.

Breakfast was pretty faultless and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was delicious.

On-site parking at a reasonable price.

I almost always try and book a hotel with a pool and a sauna when I have to travel away, so that was the only thing I missed. In summary, this is maybe one of the best hotels I have stayed in at this price point.

Room Tip: Corner suites with lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameron4135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hello cameron4235,

We really are proud to have such a lovely review, and can't thank you enough for your time!
We're so happy you found the value at the heart of our luxury. Also on a side note, there is a fabulous Olympic swimming pool incredibly local to us under the Newcastle City Council that is an absolute must for avid swimmers :)

Kind Regards,
Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Had the lovely pleasure of dining in Marco Pierre White Resturant at the hotel midweek. I have to say it was an amazing experience from the beautiful presentation of food to the attentive service from very friendly staff. Nothing was to much trouble which made the whole experience very relaxed but yet making you fell like you were the only person there. I would highly recommend Hotel Indigo as a 'must' to visit and dine within what can only be described as a hidden gem of first class food and service. I particular thought the pictures of the man himself (Marco Pierre White) that were so beautifully hung within the restaurant were a lovely touch.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendynmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hello wendynmoon,

What an absolutely fabulous review!! Thank you so much for your time and kind words :)
Do'nt forget to follow us on Twitter and on Facebook for all the great deals and loads of fun!

Kind Regards,
Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed overnight even though we're locals for a points break stay after a birthday night out. Made to feel very welcome on arrival and greeted by name and Priority Club Status with a spiffingly nice room with a corner view.

Well appointed rooms, very chic and smart with a couple of glasses of fizz brought to the room on arrival. We were invited for drinks at the bar with the loyalty card and enjoyed a few more drinks and then went for dinner at MPW Steakhouse - separate review....

Fabulous breakfast and overall a brilliant experience, highly recommended ! Special shout out to Rachel on front desk for her excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you can. 322 has a great view over city !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_M_Charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hi Andrew_M_Charlton!

Thank you so much for choosing us for your Priority Club rewards stay, we're so proud we gave you such a fantastic Hotel Indigo experience :)

We also can't thank you enough for the lovely review, and our Staff really appreciate your kind words too, please come back soon!

Kind Regards,
Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Ideal location for city centre close to Eldon Square, St James' Park and the railway station. Warm welcome on arrival and staff were friendly throughout our stay. Spacious room good size TV in room with Sky Sports so did not miss the football. Better to shout on Sunderland in the safety of the hotel room. The gym is a bit on the small side.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hello Ben M!

Though proud Newcastle supporters ourselves, its great to have a fellow eager football fan visting! We hope you had a great time and thank you so much for the lovely review :)

Kind Regards
Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed two nights and had a great night sleep on both, the room was excellent and the staff could do no more for us, the food was great and a good selection. Will stay again if in the area, 10/10 for all the staff who looked after us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestboy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hiya De-BohunFamily!

So lovely to see you had such a fantastic visit! Thank you for the review and our staff really appreci\ate your comments too :)

Can't wait to have you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Mark Winter
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
916 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing