We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

If I could give the staff six stars I would. From the girls on reception to the chef, nothing was too much trouble and all with a smile. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I would have preferred a carpet on the floor rather than a rug and drain pipes gurgling with the disposal of water from other rooms (above? adjoining?) was a little annoying. The smiling reception girl said she would report it. Also, when I arrived, the hotel bar was full of Newcastle lasses wearing very little, with towering stilettos and drinking wonderful cocktail concoctions. I, as an older woman travelling alone in a big woolly jumper and boots, was put off going there. Not the fault of the hotel, its bar is obviously popular, but just a note to other woman like me. However, for couples enjoying Newcastle's nightlife, I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi Chrissie J,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review. I look forward to passing on your very kind comments to the staff!

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,455 - 1,461 of 2,266 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Indigo for 1 night. .. as a hotel it couldn't be faulted at all, reception staff were very welcoming and checked us in with a flourish.
The bedroom was first class, bed very comfy and lovely pillows so had a great nights sleep.
A great location with easy access to shops and bars, hotel bar staff were great and happy to serve even late at night.
Breakfast was beautiful. .. very busy but everyone appeared to get seats quickly and service was first class.
Will be back for a return visit and looking forward to this in the near future. .. keep up the good work and thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi Angela A,

Thank you the amazing review. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Why not keep in touch via Facebook and Twitter?

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend to go to a football match. Loved this hotel. Staff are so friendly. Rooms are gorgeous and location is amazing. Very central. Close to shops, bars and St James Park. Good food in the restaurant and Santa visited too. Will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi GPBelfast,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our hotel and our staff. I hope you had a great weekend, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

one night overnight stay for Christmas shopping, Great friendly staff , great location, lovely clean hotel and rooms with a great shower,
(ive subbmitted a seperate review for the Marco Pierre White Restaurant)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffl2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Hi jeffl2503,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Fab hotel, perfect reception friendly & helpful gave us a map of the town. Let us check in early. Fab rooms although colour of ours (green) not our taste but can't fault. Afternoon tea lovely. Cocktails & service in bar brilliant. Bit of queing in morning for breakfast due to serving fresh cooked individual baked beans & eggs spoilt it.as our party of 5 ended up not eating at same time. But deffo going again worth the money

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Hi John K,

Thank you for your great feedback, come back soon!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A very stylish hotel with modern decor throughout, the staff are so friendly and can not do enough for you. Has a Marco Pierre White restaurant that is well worth a visit. Brilliant location right in the centre of town and right behind the theatre.
Only downside no swimming pool.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigbruv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Hi Bigbruv4,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review about your recent stay with us, we would love to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in November after going for a meal in town. Room was very spacious and very clean and modern looking. The complementary aveda toiletries and mini bar were an added bonus. Including a small bottle of red wine and white, lager, pop, water, crisps, chocolate! Heaven!
Reception member of staff was lovely and had I of known her name I would of wrote to manager to tell them how lovely she was!
Slept really well, shower could of been more powerful though
Mmm breakfast when we eventually got it it was lovely. But lady never gave us a menu when we sat down and we sat with tea n toast for quite a while not really sure of what we were meant to do. They were really busy and us and another couple got forgotten about. We had to ask for a menu when we managed to get someone's attention then we could tell that she knew she had gone wrong although she never said anything
I would definitely recommend the hotel and i would stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Hi suzi81,

Thank you for your great feedback. Please come and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £76 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing