We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost great”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in December 13 for a Christmas shopping weekend with the wife. Service at the hotel is fantastic, the best I've had for a while. The MPW restaurant is awesome and in terms of location, really well spotted.

My only gripe was that I booked a king size bed room, which only had a double in it. When I mentioned this I was told that they were indeed a King Size and that I need to book a Super King if I wanted a really big bed?

Also, the bar adds a service charge on, even though I went I the bar each time to order a drink!

Overall, great service but little touches (like no milk in the room) spoilt it for me

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hi Gavin D,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear about the issues you had while staying with us. Just to let you know that our complimentary in room mini fridges do contain milk. Please let me know personally when you would like to book with us again and I will ensure you are able to take full advantage of our superior king rooms.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Mark.winter@hotelindigonewcastle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    598
    150
    24
    12
See reviews for
191
1,038
88
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My first time at an Hotel Indigo brand and this was a superb experience. There is plenty of competition in Newcastle and the Indigo certainly came up trumps for me. Upon arrival ther is a decent secure car park. The check in experience was excellent, with my room key card ready and welcome envelope - so little time wasted. Desk staff very knowledgeable and helpful about local area. Superb room - very contemporary - and decently appointed with modern furnishings, good desk space and an excellent bed with good quality linen. Ensuite was very modern, everything very clean to a high standard. My only gripe was that despite a superb walk in shower, there was no bath!
I ate at the hotel restaurant which is run under the Marco Pierre Whote brand - see seperate review - but very good!
Breakfast was excellent, met by the waiter and given a glass of fresh juice (not sure if freshly queezed though - would make it even better!)
Buffet selection not as extensive as I would have liked, but everything fresh. Cooked breakfast is to order and all ingredients were top quality, including the black pudding (could have done with larger portion of that).
Overall, an excellent stay - staff were at the top of their tree and nothing phased them!
Always unsure about giving an excellent rating, not because they desered it, but I want to ensure I get a booking

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hi Mark R,

Thank you for your lovely review, please come and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

If I could give the staff six stars I would. From the girls on reception to the chef, nothing was too much trouble and all with a smile. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I would have preferred a carpet on the floor rather than a rug and drain pipes gurgling with the disposal of water from other rooms (above? adjoining?) was a little annoying. The smiling reception girl said she would report it. Also, when I arrived, the hotel bar was full of Newcastle lasses wearing very little, with towering stilettos and drinking wonderful cocktail concoctions. I, as an older woman travelling alone in a big woolly jumper and boots, was put off going there. Not the fault of the hotel, its bar is obviously popular, but just a note to other woman like me. However, for couples enjoying Newcastle's nightlife, I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi Chrissie J,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review. I look forward to passing on your very kind comments to the staff!

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Indigo for 1 night. .. as a hotel it couldn't be faulted at all, reception staff were very welcoming and checked us in with a flourish.
The bedroom was first class, bed very comfy and lovely pillows so had a great nights sleep.
A great location with easy access to shops and bars, hotel bar staff were great and happy to serve even late at night.
Breakfast was beautiful. .. very busy but everyone appeared to get seats quickly and service was first class.
Will be back for a return visit and looking forward to this in the near future. .. keep up the good work and thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi Angela A,

Thank you the amazing review. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Why not keep in touch via Facebook and Twitter?

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend to go to a football match. Loved this hotel. Staff are so friendly. Rooms are gorgeous and location is amazing. Very central. Close to shops, bars and St James Park. Good food in the restaurant and Santa visited too. Will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi GPBelfast,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our hotel and our staff. I hope you had a great weekend, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

one night overnight stay for Christmas shopping, Great friendly staff , great location, lovely clean hotel and rooms with a great shower,
(ive subbmitted a seperate review for the Marco Pierre White Restaurant)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffl2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Hi jeffl2503,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Fab hotel, perfect reception friendly & helpful gave us a map of the town. Let us check in early. Fab rooms although colour of ours (green) not our taste but can't fault. Afternoon tea lovely. Cocktails & service in bar brilliant. Bit of queing in morning for breakfast due to serving fresh cooked individual baked beans & eggs spoilt it.as our party of 5 ended up not eating at same time. But deffo going again worth the money

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi John K,

Thank you for your great feedback, come back soon!

Kind regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing