We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here on new years eve in a king room the boutique style ones. Absolutely gorgeous. Bed was so comfy and the rainfall shower is really really nice. Nice little complimentary things in the bathroom.. moisturiser ect. Complimentary mini bar. The staff are soooo nice. A dark haired girl on reception was so helpful when we needed some tickets for the night time printing. Breakfast was really nice and again staff were lovely. Wish we hadnt gone out and just spent the whole night there it was just lovely!. Deffo be returning :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi Holly S,

Thank you for your kind comments and the lovely review. We can't wait to have you stay with us again at Hotel Indigo Newcastle!

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    551
    142
    23
    8
See reviews for
174
952
79
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I've stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Newcastle a couple of times now - and I plan to stay there again in the future. As a business traveller, I find that it fits my needs well, but I think that it would also work well for a leisure traveller - especially if you're using public transport.

The hotel has some stand-out qualities worth mentioning. First is the location. It's in Newcastle City Centre and only a 2-5 minute walk from the Central Railway Station. It's close to pretty much everything. I would estimate 3-5 minutes to Eldon Square and 10-15 minutes to the Quayside. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby ranging from fast-food joints to specialist dining. There are also a variety of major-chain convenience stores near if you're on a budget and looking to buy your own food.

The next thing worth mentioning, is the staff. I have yet to come across any staff member that is less than excellent. They're all friendly, efficient, well presented and helpful. It really makes a difference. I know that every time I arrive I'm greeted with a smile. Any question is answered immediately. Any problems/issues are fixed quickly.

Finally, the rooms. They're very modern and always clean and tidy. I supposed that they're designed to look a bit like a 'loft apartment' with wooden floors, lots of lamps and split levels. It works, and the visual appeal of walking into a room is high. But, more important than the visual appeal, the beds are comfortable, the temperature control in the room is easy to operate, the desk (and chair) can actually be used for work, there's a decent amount of wardrobe space, there is coffee-making facilities (together with some complementary sachets of coffee and tea) and a mini-fridge. All-in-all, I doubt that you'll have any complaints.

The hotel restaurant is a Marco Pierre White place, and I understand that it has a very good reputation. I haven't ate there myself (it's too expensive for me) so I can't comment.

Of course, it isn't perfect. For example the showers are those trendy 'rainfall' style showers which look good but aren't as effective as ordinary showers and similarly the sinks are more trendy than functional. But ... they work good enough. Also, there's no free parking, and not a lot of paid parking.

So, my overall opinion is that Hotel Indigo Newcastle is a very good hotel. Try it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kokosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi Kokosun,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute such a splendid review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Enjoyed my brief stay at this trendy city centre hotel. The food was top notch as you would expect plus excellent friendly helpful staff. The only down side was that my room was very cold with the heating below par. The only way I got warm last night was by standing next to a hot towel rack in the bathroom. I mentioned this morning and I was offered a discount by the receptionist, I should try that one again.

This hasn't put me off staying there again but this time in a warm room.

Room Tip: Make sure its warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timbers1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi timbers1234,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a nice review. I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, and understandably disappointed that you weren't warm enough in your room.
Next time you stay with us please do not hesitate to contact a member of staff if you experience a similar problem, we will endeavour to fix the problem prior to check-out, and ensure you have a great stay!
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I stay at this hotel frequently for business and all I can say is its one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The rooms are all clean and modern, each one is unique and stylish. The location is a 5 minute walk from the mainline station and also right next to the local metro line. From a leisure point of view there is a small gym that is open late. Finally I would say the best thing about this hotel is the attitude of the staff, they are all so friendly and welcoming.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Global_Traveller_a-z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi Global_Traveller_a-z,

Thank you for contributing such an outsanding review. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

A bit difficult to find, thanks to roadworks around, but worth it when we arrived. Stayed one night between Christmas and New Year. Room very comfortable and stylish. Restaurant on ground floor excellent. All staff first-class , the signs of good training very apparent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NialO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi NialO58,

Thank you for your great feedback. We take great pride in our customer service at Hotel Indigo Newcastle so i am immensely happy to receive such kind words about our staff. Thank you!

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Checked in quick, lobby is very nice. Got a king executive room with free mini bar and wifi, our room was lovely green themed and very spacious. The bed was extremely comfy so much that we slept in and nearly missed breKfast. The staff in the restaurant said the kitchen had closed but we cud use the continental cereals ect. Which was fair as we did go down at 10:15 but the chef said they would extend so we cud hav a full english breakfast which i thought was very good service!! The shower in the room was amazing so relaxing it was like a waterfall shower and you can listen to music as the tv is connected with a speaker in the bathroom. The staff had also left a happy birthday card and plate of chocolate for my boyfriend in our room. We really enjoyed the room and would love to return on another special occasion

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashaz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi Ashaz24,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review. I'm so glad that you and your boyfriend had an enjoyable stay with us in Newcastle, and I'm pleased to read that you managed to enjoy our delicious breakfast!
We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days over new year. Very good hotel, rooms are kept spotless,loved the massive bed, and rainfall shower(could have stayed under it for hours).
Room was very warm, but easily fixed by switching the heating off. Only downside was the price of drink, very expensive,although there is plenty pubs nearby!
Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allanf1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi Allanf1970,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed the rainfall shower and our king size beds. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing