We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good just a few minor points”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good just a few minor points”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Booked room for one night to attend a concert, room was very good, however a couple of minor faults.The mini bar in the double room only had one packet of crisps and one kit-kat biscuit, surely in a double room there should be two of everything?One of the bottles of water was opened (seal had been broken) and a slight amount was missing, therefore we were not prepared to drink it.All this said it did not detract from a good stay at a very good hotel, all staff were very helpful and we would not hesitate in using this hotel again when in Newcastle.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gripper1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Gripper1959,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such vauable and much needed feedback. I am disappointed to read that your room was not up to scratch. When you stay with us again please feel free to contact a member of staff and they shall endeavour to fix any problems with your room. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,427
    598
    150
    24
    12
See reviews for
191
1,034
87
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The headline says it all. This hotel is within easy reach of everything you might need and the staff are super friendly and efficient.
Eight of us (four couples) stayed for two nights and could hardly fault the hotel. Two misunderstandings were quickly and politely solved in our favour.
We also ate at the Marco Pierre White restaurant at the hotel and, while a little expensive, the food was top notch.
Despite other reviewers, though, I thought the rooms a little small and short on comfort. But who stays in their hotel room in a city like Newcastle?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Taffrob,

Many thanks for taking the time out to contribute such a fantastic review of Hotel Indigo Newcaslte.
We hope you all come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights to see Dame Edna farewell tour at Theatre Royal.

This hotel is a great renovation of an office block.

What really makes it is the friendliness of the staff. Each person we spoke with was polite and customer focused in an authentic way.

Thanks to everyone at the Hotel Indigo for a great stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pavarroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Pavarroti,

Many thanks for taking the time out to leave such a splendid review. I am extremely pleased to read your kind words about the staff at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, and we all can't wait to have you come back and stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

An impromptu stay on Friday night/Saturday morning after a lovely dinner at MPW and a night out on the town. Superb suite, outstanding rate, friendly staff.

As we were checking out early on Saturday morning my wife noticed that her ring had slipped off. It was dark and raining and we searched to no avail.

Early on Sunday morning I received an email from the night manager (Nathan - top man!) saying that he'd continued to search for the ring and had found it out on the road at the front of the hotel. Unfortunately, it had been run over and damaged, but the point is - a level of service above and beyond the call of duty.

Thanks ever so much - we'll be back!

Rob

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Rob H,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave such a fantastic review. I am pleased to hear that your wife was reunited with her ring and i am extremely pleased to read that we were able to offer such a high level of service. I shall thank Nathan personally and pass on your kind comments.
We can't wait to have you and your wife stay with us again. Hurry back!

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just got back from a weekend break stayed at Hotel Indigo Newcastle. Lovely modern hotel only 5 mins walk from rail station lovely warm clean & modern rooms. Breakfast very good also staff very helpfull. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickEngledow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi MickEngledow,

Thank you for the impressive review. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast and i shall pass on your kind comments to my staff.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here on several occasions when visiting Newcastle and must say it never fails to impress. Having stayed in many hotels in Newcastle this one guarantees a good nights rest mainly because it controls hen and stag parties.

The rooms are very comfortable, the beds are just wonderful and I certainly think it is worth paying a little more for this hotel.

My only negative comments would be a rather limited late night room service menu that like many similar hotels is just over priced. The quality of the food was rather disappointing too but when mentioned to reception they refunded the food we purchased as a gesture of good will.


I would also recommend an earlier visit to the breakfast room as it does get very busy at weekends. My partner and I ended up being given a table in the lounge where are steady stream of people continually walked past us which just made dining uncomfortable for me. We also found we got forgotten about being there, having to hunt a waiter for drinks, toast and preserves. I would just wait and ask for a table in the dining room next time.

Overall I thought it was a great stay and look forward to staying again.



Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi David E,

Thank you for taking the time to leave much needed and valuable feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just back from a weekend away here and couldn't fault it. Location is excellent as we arrived by train. Reception staff were very friendly and checked us in very swiftly. The room as before when we stayed was spacious, with a great big comfy bed. Bathroom has a brilliant rain shower and the free mini bar tops it's all off nicely. Will stay here again on our next visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnatdriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Johnatdriff,

Thank you for the terrific review. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Newcastle.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing