We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and visit after a dismal start'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and visit after a dismal start'”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Our party booked this weekend several months in advance after a lot of research on the best place to stay. We arrived in the evening to be met by the male receptionist who told us there were no rooms available despite the fact that the booking had been made and paid in full several months earlier. No apology was offered and we were bundled into a taxi to another hotel which we were told was of the same standard - it was not. We returned to the hotel the following morning where the male receptionist was nowhere to be seen. We explained what happened to Rachel who greeted us at Reception. Thanks to Rachel and her excellent customer service, the remainder of the weekend was excellent. Rachel did her utmost to rectify the appalling treatment we had received the evening before. It transpired that a guest who had booked in for the Saturday and Sunday night had turned up on the Friday night wanting to stay so the male receptionist had given our rooms to his party. Ultimately, it's thanks to Rachel for this good review. Every hotel needs a Rachel. If the male receptionist had worked for me, I would have dismissed him on the spot. Well worth a visit despite the initial treatment.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank melliemels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi melliemels,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable and essential feedback. Firstly, may i take this opportunity to apologise for the events that took place when you arrived at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.
I would like to apologise for the actions of the male receptionist you came into contact with upon your arrival at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, and rest assured i shall speak to him personally about the events that unfolded.
Your positive comments about Rachel are most pleasing and i am not only grateful that she could rectify the situation but could also assist you in having an enjoyable weekend in Newcastle.
I hope you choose to stay with Hotel Indigo again and i would look forward to welcoming you back to Newcastle.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    570
    142
    24
    9
See reviews for
179
985
83
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic stay, staff at hotel can't do enough for you. Fantastic price for the service you receive, perfect stay. A lovely surprise of champagne and chocolates from the hotel as it was our anniversary. We will certainly be visiting the hotel again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vicky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi vicky p,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute such a phenomenal review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle. I hope you both enjoyed the champagne and chocolates!
Come back and see us soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Best 'budget' hotel that I have stayed in. Positioned very near to shops, transport links and entertainment / dining areas of the city. Room beautifully decorated, free dry mini bar, huge and comfortable bed, great bathroom with Aveda toiletries, safe big enough for a laptop and free wifi - provision of HDMI, USB and AV ports built in was an unexpected bonus. Best of all are the staff - unfailingly attentive and pleasant - if only they could be cloned elsewhere !!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarkE101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi MarkE101,

Thank you for taking the time out to contribute such a wonderful review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle. I am extremely pleased to read that you loved all of the room facilities we have on offer. We can't wait to have you come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Beautiful and trendy hotel to stay. Perfect location for everything Football grounds, City center, restaurants and Newcastle Main train station. Staff all were very friendly and ready to help. Rooms were bit noisy ( not fully insulated) Nice bar and restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rioram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi rioram,

Many thanks for contributing such a splendid review. I am happy to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and i hope that you had a nice meal in the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I've stayed here a number of times while on business trips in the North East of England, and always been impressed by the place. Good price for a great hotel, and fantastically located in Newcastle. What's more, there are a number of sushi restaurants close-by. Win!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PervySage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi PervySage,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a superb review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Had a disappointing lunch in Newcastle at Café 21..., so decided to go the Hotel Indigo for drinks, near the railway station. Very very impressed with the service and atmosphere, will definitely eat there next time , absolutely nothing was a problem, service excellent, even though it was just a drink... they were more attentive for a drink than got for a meal .

Room Tip: Did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugnes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi anneg16,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed the vibrant atmosphere and outstanding service that we have to offer at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.
Why not stay the night next time? Book direct for the best deals.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here just for one night for my husbands birthday.
We checked in on a Saturday and there was a lively buzz about the place - quite a few people in the lobby and bar.
The check in staff were very friendly and helpful and we got to our room within a few minutes. I used to actually work in this building when it was an office and I requested a room where my desk used to be, this was duly noted and it was great albeit a little surreal to be sleeping pretty much in the same spot where I worked for a number of years.
We had drinks in the hotel bar before heading out (cocktails were very good, yes a little pricey but to be expected really), we didn't eat in MPW restaurant due to hearing a number of mixed reviews.
Rooms very modern and a few little touches to earn it's 4* rating however I did think there were a few minor issues - although clean, housekeeping could have been a little better, a few marks and scuffs here and there. The corridors were starting to show signs of wear and tear.
Overall a very nice 1 night stay, if I got a good deal I would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi hannahengland,

Thank you for the great review. I am pleased to read that we were able to accomodate you in your old desk position, and i hope that you both had a wonderful night out, and your husband had an enjoyable birthday.
Get in touch with us directly to book a great deal for your next stay at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing