We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“overpriced over rated”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for my birthday with the wife service and staff were really good ,although after arriving sat down and was told that where i was sitting was reserved for people having afternoon tea,i dont know where else they expected us to sit maybe up in our room,booked dinner in marco pierre whites restaurant had steak and a prawn cocktail,the prawns wete like rubber and i could not eat them,when asked if everything was ok by the waiter,isaid no the prawns taste and texture was awful and i cant eat them but got little response,was looking forward to the amazing steaks i had heard about only to recieve a very small tasteless fillet,very disappointed,bed in the room was rock hard,and breakfast was very poor ordered poached eggs with mine both eggs wernt cooked enough and raw inside,3. Michelen stars and they cant do a prawn cocktail or poach an egg ,room 160 pounds dinner 170 pounds 12pounds to park the car, never again much better restaurants and hotels to stay at in north east for half the price

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear tangers2013,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review and make necessary improvements accordingly.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,376
    572
    142
    24
    9
See reviews for
179
986
83
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stay here regularly through work. Don't like staying anywhere else. The staff are lovely and add that extra bit of customer service. Don't eat here often, expensive and not too happy with the service charge -it is described as optional but I personally don't feel comfortable asking for it to be removed.....but when you've only had coffee in the bar area!! I always leave a note for the cleaners asking for tea bags as I don't drink coffee, they sometimes leave them but don't think to leave milk to go with them. Another tiny gripe is that they put towels back as clean when I've left them on the floor cos they're dirty! Even so, like I said, I stay here out of choice, so nothing puts me off that much.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a proper window not a sky lite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Geraldine,

Thank you for the nice review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle. I am extremely pleased that you enjoy staying with us and find our customer service to be great.
I must apologise for the regrettable drop in standards you have experienced from our Housekeeping department. I shall speak to our Housekeeping Manager and ensure that in future your towels are taken care of properly and the dirty towels are replaced as they should be.
If you would like anymore tea or milk during future stays please do not hesitate to contact us. We have reception staff, who are more than willing to help, available 24/7.
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a lovely one night stay here at the weekend. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the complimentary snacks in the minibar are a nice touch. I'd happily come back again!

Room Tip: We were in room 127 which is right by the fitness studio for anyone who wants easy access to the gym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie84London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi ellie84London,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute such a lovely review of your recent stay at Hotel Indigo Newcastle. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel after reading reviews. It does as it says on the tin.
Great location in the city centre.
Bed was comfortable although I did wake up with a sore back, our allocated room was right beside the lifts and since we were staying on Saturday night and as it's a party city we asked if we could change rooms.....no problem at all, within 5 minutes, SAM from reception appeared at our door with a key for a new room (on the quieter side of the hotel)
Rooms were adequate and very clean with everything you will need.
As we just decided to visit Newcastle the day prior to going, we could not get a table in the restaurant, however SAM at reception once again spent time ensuring we got booked for dinner in a good restaurant.
Breakfast was good quality and variety.
The service we received from all of the staff was excellent, very friendly, helpful and nothing was any trouble.
Special thanks to SAM, who went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi Carolyn,

Many thanks for the excellent review. I shall thank Sam personally for being an outstanding member of staff during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed for just one night with some girlfriends in this lovely modern hotel. We had 3 twin rooms on a B&B basis. This is in an excellent location, just a few minutes' walk from the train station and only a little further into the main hub of the city. Can't praise the reception staff highly enough - friendly and efficient, offering first-class service and nothing was too much trouble; they immediately made us feel very welcome. Quirkily decorated rooms with everything you need (great towels!) but rather poor on sound-proofing as all the noise of a Saturday evening could be heard very easily. Great breakfast. Highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkcatsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi Pinkcatsmum,

Thank you very much for the excellent review. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in February 2014 and I can only say that it was first class and we couldn't fault it in any way. The staff were so friendly and helpful, everything was so spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent quality and the choice was superb. The hotel is centrally located and is genuinely 2 minutes from the railway station. We have stayed in a number of different hotels when visiting Newcastle but now, the Hotel Indigo will always be our first choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank check_check
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi check_check,

Thank you so much for taking the time to contribute such an outstanding review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle.
I am so glad that we are now your No.1 choice of hotel in Newcastle!

We can't wait to welcome you back to Hotel Indigo Newcastle!

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed while attending a wedding do nearby. Big thanks to the staff who were really helpful, especially Elisha for sorting us a table out at short notice, Bruno for expediting a quick bite to eat before our taxi arrived and Rachel for the cheery check-out. The food was great, the room really comfortable but two things puzzled me - why do they offer a choice of 4 lagers on draught, but no beer, and who ever heard of a liqueur coffee made with milk?

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hood40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi Hood40,

Thank you for taking the time to leave essential feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Hotel Indigo Newcastle. I am extremely pleased to read such nice comments about Elisha, Bruno and Rachel, and rest assured i will thank them personally and pass on your kind words. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the food we had to offer and found your room to be comfortable.
It is unfortunate that we couldn't satisfy your desire for beer on draught, however we do offer a wide variety of bottled beers. I am disappointed that your liqueur coffee was not up to scratch, and that it had to be remade. I have been informed that your wife was happy with the replacement liqueur coffee, and that the charge was subsequently taken off your bill at check out. I hope this offering was an adequate apology for the genuine mistake that was made.

We hope you choose Hotel Indigo Newcastle again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing