We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, stylish hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night, it was very busy but we got parked fine and £12 for 24 hours is reasonable. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was immaculate, decorated to a high standard, free soft drinks and snacks in the mini bar. The location is excellent, I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sjtgdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi sjtgdav,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute such a great review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Indigo Newcastle. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,411 - 1,417 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

myself and my fiancee stayed here for 2 nights, thurs/frid..Firstly the Hotel is located just 2 minutes from central station..Just cross the road to your right as you come out the main entrance, go thru the narrow street then turn left..there is The Mile Castle wetherspoons on the corner in front of you...the reception staff were all fantastic, Rachel was very lovely and helpful. The staff even remembered my partners birthday and all gave a happy birthday to her the next day,, we did the champagne for £22 (includes service charge), but please note the hotel was mobbed and it took a while to get seat...overall the rooms are nice, good toiletries, free mini bar (crisps, kit kat, 2 waters and 2 cans of juice), location is amazing, just turn left at wetherspoons and all shops are within 5-10 mins max, including the grainger street market...we will definately stay here again..a big thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Hi Paul G

Thank you for this amazing review!

We hope to see you again at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Went to Newcastle to watch our football team lose, but as its so far away we decided to make a weekend of it. We really enjoyed it, very modern, we didn't eat but the food looked great. The bar was comfortable and staff attentive to your needs. Overall found this hotel excellent value and honestly could not really fault it...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkey301981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hi Monkey301981

Thank you for this amazing review!

We hope you stay with us again at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We staid for one night to see a show in Newcastle. Great location, within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. Parking was good, £12 for 24 hours in the middle of the city so no need to worry about the car. The standard double room was very nice and clean with a large bed and stylish furniture, the bathroom was also good quality and clean. Free Wireless, and free snacks in the mini bar were nice extras and the staff seemed friendly too. Only downside was the air-con was a little loud at night.

But overall, much much better than a typical travel lodge / premier inn for only a little more. Definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_ash2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hello Lord_Ash2000

Thank you for this brilliant review. It is most appreciated!

We hope to see you again at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband booked this hotel on the basis of previous reviews and the fact that it is marketed as a boutique hotel and was looking to spoil me. We stayed for one night on a Saturday.
I will list factors in the order in which we found them in order to justify my "Poor" rating.
Car Park - spaces are very tight and we were worried that we would struggle to get out the next day. The walk from the car to reception involved walking up quite a steep flight of stairs with our cases then through another car park and through the barriers to this car park. There was no pavement.
Reception and greeting - quite pleasant decor if a little cold, but the receptionist made up for this. Very friendly and welcoming and I felt confident that she would do everything she could to make it a pleasant stay.
Room - this was the main reason for the low score. We had booked a Deluxe King with Balcony. Including overnight parking the cost was just less than £200. I at least expected a King Size bed but it was a regular double. The room itself was quite small with limited storage. I did not like the decor at all (personal preference of course). The room was dirty in that I found several dust bunnies around the place. The rug was quite stained. The i-pod/phone dock did not have an adaptor for the i-phone 5 so I couldn't play music through it. However, reception did quickly send up a charger so at least I wouldn't have a dead battery. They did inform me that adaptors were on order but had not yet arrived. The mini-bar was stocked with 1 packet of crisps, a couple of bottles of beer, 2 bottles of wine and a kit-kat. Its a nice touch that this is complimentary but so it should be for the price we paid. The balcony would have been great if the view had been a bit better. Pretty much dirty roofs and roads. Not a view of Newcastles skyline as I had hoped. The bathroom was nicely decorated but the rainfall shower had no power behind it at all so it took ages to wash my hair. There were 2 lightbulbs not working; the desk lamp and one in the bathroom. This might not seem much but the room didn't have a great many lights to start with so this made it quite dark.
Sleep quality - this was also a major let down. Firstly my husband complained that he rolled into the middle of the bed all night. Secondly, the air conditioning was very loud and so kept us awake. Lastly (and most annoying of all), housekeeping were banging doors from about 8am. Not great when you were looking forward to the 12:00 check out to a bit of a lie in!!!
Overall, I would say that this hotel is no better than an average city chain hotel such as a Premier Inn. In fact, I have stayed in better Premier Inns. For the price paid it was a very disappointing experience and I definitely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderwoman837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear wonderwoman837,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on the room condition and parking facility. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Excellent location - a few minutes walk from station, from restaurants and about 15 minutes to the Quayside.

Rooms contemporary, clean and quiet. Bathroom had walk-in shower and no bath tub, again spotless and new.

Staff very professional friendly and helpful, especially Elisha on reception.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjtlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hi pjtlondon

Thank you for this awesome review!

We hope you will stay with us again at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here with my husband for a shirt break and from checking in to leaving the hotel our stay was just perfect. Upgraded to a balcony suite as we arrived. The staff couldn't do enough for you, the room was beautiful.
Service in the bar area and restaurant was fantastic. The food was amazing. If I had any faults to list is was that Fizz Friday a Great concept but we twice struggled to get a table as a guest of the hotel. This was soon sorted by the wonderful staff. Perhaps they need to rethink their policy on reserving tables in the bar for guests who didn't use them from when we checked in till after 8pm. A small thing as the rest of our stay was perfect Would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoeCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hi zoeCumbria

Thank you for this wonderful review.

I hope you do stay with us again at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2/8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £74 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing